We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lyon on the walls”
Review of Le Mur Des Canuts

Le Mur Des Canuts
Ranked #7 of 216 things to do in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lyon on the walls”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

These paintings depict the lives of people of Lyon. This beautiful town will teach you that time is life's most precious luxury.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mansi3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    564
    296
    46
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great idea, very entertaining”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Took a dozen photos of this very clever display of art. Recognized many of the people and loved the key once we found it. Exciting game of naming whos who and great execution by the artists.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank flosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Le Mur,then the traboules of Croix-Rousse”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I started from metro Henon and made my way down. The signs pointing to Mur peint at the junction of Blvd des Canuts and Denfert Rochereau are quite cleareally. Remember to take picture with the adorable girl sitting on the steps.

Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Words cannot describe this. It is a little out of the way but worth taking the time to find it.
Just go and see it. You will not be disappointed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mitsilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Amazing optical illusion”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Most people that want to explore the new city, get off the funicular at Croix Rousse . Actually that was the starting point of the self audio guided tour that I picked from the Tourist Information kiosk. Well, my advise is to get off the next station, Henon, if you want to experience this realistic 3D wall graffiti and then go to the Croix Rousse on foot. I was not sure if I followed the right direction when exited the train station and although I was standing in front of it I hadn’t realized it. Amazing feeling when this optical illusion is “demystified”. As always, I try to enrich my reviews with descriptive but also practical info. In this case, I am sharing an incident. A couple that was standing close to me, got a warning from a local person NOT to leave their bags unattended in the ground (most people do, in order to take better photos). As explained by this local woman, there are thieves on bicycles who grab your unattended stuff and take advantage of the downhill for a quick getaway.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Enoikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Mur Des Canuts also viewed

 

Been to Le Mur Des Canuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing