We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect central B&B”
Review of La Chambre d'Hugo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Chambre d'Hugo
Ranked #6 of 57 Lyon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We visited la Chambre d'Hugo in early November and loved it! Location was very central but yet the room was very quiet. Beautifully furnished with its own bathroom and free wi fi, it was lovely to return to after a great (but wet) day exploring Lyon. Christine was a fountain of local knowledge and happy to give restaurant recommendations and even made the bookings for us. The breakfasts were out of this world and showed great care, thought and attention to detail in their preparation. Excellent value for money (260 euro for two nights including secure garage).

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
There are newer reviews for La Chambre d'Hugo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

My husband and I recently stayed in this beautiful apartment in September. The location was ideal for shopping and sightseeing. Christine is the perfect hostess, she made us feel very welcome and special! Such a lovely lady and very helpful , she recommended many lovely restaurants and cafes and places to visit. Our room was beautiful with a very comfy big bed, the bathroom was modern and Christine had thought of all the little things you may have needed.
Christine and Christoph were perfect hosts. They respected our privacy but were very helpful and kind.
Every morning Christine served breakfast for us in her beautiful dining room. We felt like royalty, the room always looked so pretty with fresh flowers on the table, candles and soft music playing. Her breakfasts were outstanding and always something different each day and each day different linen and crockery and pretty little dishes and pots. Cereal, fresh fruit, stewed fruit yoghurt, pastries, bread, little rice puddings, cold meat, cheese, crepes and beautiful home made preserves. You can see that Christine gets a lot of pleasure from preparing your breakfast it always looked so beautiful!
We enjoyed our visit to Lyon but staying with Christine and Christophe was the high light of our trip!

Room Tip: There is only one room, you are the only guests. Christine can recommend many places to eat.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2gnomesinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This is an elegant apartment decorated with style, Christine is a gracious lady and is very helpful always on hand to offer her advice to us during our stay, even obtaining rail tickets for us. Each morning breakfast and the table decor was different making me feel she receives as much pleasure running her B&B as we had in staying in it. Two nights was NOT enough. Walk out the door and Lyon's attractions await you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 343Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

My husband and I spent 5 wonderful nights in this lovely apartment during Sept/Oct. The location was perfect for those shop-a-holics who like to browse or buy antiques, clothes and jewellry. Great location for visiting museums and eating at the countless cafes and restaurants.
Christine and Christoph were the most perfect of hosts. We felt like esteemed guests, treated with utmost respect and care. Attention to detail was faultless, from the exquisite breakfasts to the small touches in the bathroom... We enjoyed our stay so much that we plan to stay in Christoph and Christine other accomodation in Burgundy in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in late September 2012.
Christine was away so we we're looked after by Christophe who was a gracious and generous host.
The 'b&b' is in a very good location with Bellecour the closest metro station.
The room is spacious and the window looks out on to the largely pedestrian Rue Victor Hugo. With the window open you get to hear the passing street life but when closed the room is nice and quiet.
As mentioned elsewhere the breakfasts are generous, presented beautifully and delicious. Christine's jams are a highlight with the cassis being my favorite.
Our daily discussions with Christophe were a highlight of our visit; his insights into things 'Lyonaisse' helped us to appreciate Lyon. Christophe was also very helpful with suggestions for restaurants and in arranging reservations.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My husband and I stayed in this wonderful b&b for 3 nights in September. Christine and Christophe have a magnificent apartment in the heart of Lyon. Both hosts were so charming and helpful. Christine's breakfasts were amazing- such much variety. She even took notice of what we ate and didn't eat and then adjusted accordingly for the following day. We had an early start on our last morning so Christine made us a great take away bag with croissants and bottled water to take with us! Christine had great suggestions for restaurants and sight-seeing. The apartment was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom and bedroom are quite spacious.
2 days in Lyon was not enough and we hope we can return another time and stay with Christine and Christophe again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PerthLoz02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We found our accommodation with everything we required. The location was perfect for all our sightseeing and close to the metro. Our host Christine was very helpful on arrival and made us feel very welcome. Full credit to Christine for the most exquisite breakfast, the detail of her preparation was delightful. We could not fault a thing. I would thoroughly recommend this accommodation.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotelo
Hotelo
#5 of 196 in Lyon
306 reviews
Hotel La Residence
#45 of 196 in Lyon
539 reviews
Cour des Loges
#9 of 196 in Lyon
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Chambre d'Hugo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chambre d'Hugo

Address: 21 rue Victor Hugo, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Lyon
Price Range: £96 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A simple guest room very quiet in a classy appartment decorated in fine colors.Parquet flooring and antique wooden cupboards and chests.A modern and comfortable large bed (180 x 200).Private dressing, shower and toilets. A nice and natural breakfast served in the dining room. On the 3rd floor with elevator.Optionnal private garage.T.V.,WIFI, No smoking.No pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Chambre d'Hugo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing