We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ice Coffee”
Review of La Boite a Cafe

La Boite a Cafe
Ranked #4 of 18 Coffee & Tea in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Coffeeshop located in a nice arty part of town, off the tourist tracks but still in the center of town, you ll be able to visit loads of traboules in this area. Beautiful patisseries and real coffee, hot pressed sandwiches for lunch, open 7 days.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Ice Coffee”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

As a huge coffee lover I have to say they serve some good coffee at this place. The staff was very nice and the atmosphere - very good ( quite indie ). The area was quite noisy and cars were passing by, but apart from that it was nice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    35
    10
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Slow service”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We experienced a terribly disorganised service. The lady that served us was slow and absolutely not with it. We had brunch which was ok (yoghurt, some ham, nice chocolate, cheese, good bread). The coffee was tasty but on the cold side. Dishes on neighbouring tables were not cleaned away for ages.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Aztlan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Lyon”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I am a coffee drinker, and while I was living in Lyon it was nearly impossible to have a good one. When I finally discovered Cafe Mokxa, the amazingly friendly staff, adorable seating area, comfy blankets to use outside, and delicious treats I started to spend hours and hours, day after day in this cafe. There's nothing bad about this place, and it quickly becomes a second home with an international atmosphere.
I miss you all at Mokxa! Someone have a flat white for me.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hgil08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The only place in Lyon you can drink proper coffee”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I love speciality coffee and I can't stand the coffee made in 99,99% of French Restaurants.
French coffee gives me a terrible mood.

But here, in Mokha is my coffee heaven.
The coffee beans are always fresh, baristas are professionals.
They have such a friendly atmosphere, that I'm coming back there almost every day.
Plus they have a great American style cakes - don't miss it

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank elentarin_kiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“mochaccino!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

It's not quite 100% French, but I kind of love the fusion of French and American styles of coffee. The chocolate frappe was great, as was the mochaccino! I always meet someone interesting when I come here. I go here to study usually, but if I'm in a big group I try to find somewhere else because it's a little small. Very cute.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Boite a Cafe also viewed

 

Been to La Boite a Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing