We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It has the right look about it, but..”
Review of Dock Ouest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dock Ouest
Ranked #7 of 58 Lyon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It has the right look about it, but..”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The design of the hotel is mostly delightful. It has a modern Eco friendly feel, sleek with clean lines. It is located on a small quaint street in a business enclave with a lovely small park across the street. For all the hot water, and small deck and large sink and lights that come on as you step off the elevator it is missing something real. There is no grounded and real hospitality. There is no one willing to step forth and say, I care about your experience in my hotel, yes, MY hotel. Oddly engineered lights on the bedside tables are nearly too dim to read by and the lamps cannot be moved. There are no washcloths available. No paper towels or cloths specifically for the stove/sink area. The utensils were set in such a way, as were the dishes, that they virtually tumbled out of the overhead closet, nearly toppling onto our heads. The lovely design erred when it put a towel heater inches from the toilet. Imagine sitting down sideways so that your legs don't press against it. How weird. We came in today from a long day about town, to find the floor unswept, the bathroom sink dirty, a wet towel we left in the shower for the staff to collect (per instructions), a tiny amount of towel paper left, and the kitchen area dishes untouched. I don't know what to make of this. For a place that advertises great service and long stay options, I am surprised. The bed is comfortable and I like the location. When I went to the front desk in the evening, the woman staffer was ashamed that the basic services were lacking in HER hotel. Perhaps she should be the manager! Oh and did I say the vents were dusty and the wall above it blackened. A sad state of affairs. Perhaps Bocuse should learn to manage the paces he owns instead of continuing to expand.

Room Tip: top floor is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigbubba123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    97
    29
    9
    1
See reviews for
21
125
7
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Clean, fuss-free hotel. Comfortable beds, good shower etc. quiet location but easy by bus to City. Close to Bocuse Brasserie and Ouest Express Brasserie. Close to street market in Vaise with easy walks along the river. As ever do avoid the dog mess in the streets.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelashworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed in the hotel for a couple of days for a weekend. It is little bit out of the city, but the metro station is only 10 mins walk. Some restaurants around. Rooms are clean and quiet big. Reception staff was very helpful.The location is a kind of business area, but we got the national holiday, so can not write about working days.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
329 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

As the previous reviewer mentions, this hotel is located on the outskirts of Lyon in an area which was heavily bombed in WW2 and so has few old buildings. We were there on a weekend, so the area was quite deserted, but it was obvious from all the small cafes and shops that it must come alive during the week. It was however a pleasant area and we had a glimpse of the Saone River from our room. Lyon proper is a short trip on the frequent and efficient train. The station is a few blocks away and an easy walk.
It is a very modern hotel, part of the Paul Bocuse group. Our room was huge, and decorated in black and lime green - looked great and was very comfortable. Lots of space for suitcases and a smart sofa to relax on. We were fortunate enough to have a corner room with a wide deck on two sides.
The staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is fine - nothing to write home about - but the real highlight is the Paul Bocuse bistro which is located on the river, about two minutes walk away. It was so good that we ate there twice . The hotel and the adjacent bistro were a huge surprise in what at first glance seems an unpromising area. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor (the corner one is best) so you have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlene3501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Plaine-Saint-Denis, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I stayed only for a night there but it was a real pleasure.
Staff was nice and efficent. The room was nicely decorated and very confortable.
The breakfast offer you a wide selection of food and was really delicious.
One small negative point : the location. You're in a modern area in the outer part of Lyon. There are works here and there. My room was on the rear side. Side of the rail road. A bit frightening at first but finally very calm.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spaceman_7811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel because we didn't want to drive through Lyon.. Close proximity to the A6 autoroute... A new hotel.. Has a bus stop nearby.. Ever 7 minutes there is a connection to the train station.. Lyon is a fantastic place to get around .. For such a big city they make it so easy to get from place to place. We booked with a special offer of room upgrade..free car parking in the hotel garage..breakfast included(€15 per person per night) and city passes included(€32per person for 2 days) great value.. The breakfast was fab..Buffet style.. Everything freshly prepared and laid out.. The city passes are a must.. At least for one day.. You just want to walk every where so you don't miss anything.. Every corner you turn there is something new.. Great hotel .. Fantastic staff.. Comfy room.. Four star service for a three star hotel.. Look out for the special offer packages great great value

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrigittesTeaRooms44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Hotel Lyon-ouest
#15 of 194 in Lyon
455 reviews
Mama Shelter Lyon
#6 of 194 in Lyon
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotelo
Hotelo
#3 of 194 in Lyon
273 reviews
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 194 in Lyon
361 reviews
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dock Ouest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dock Ouest

Property: Dock Ouest
Address: 39 rue des Docks, 69009, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dock Ouest 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between les Monts d'or and Lyon's centre, the Dock Ouest Hotel is a perfect place to stay. Whether you're travelling for business or pleasure, you can relax in this refined and modern hotel. With quality rooms and suites, personal service and all the comforts of a modern establishment, Dock Ouest provides a sense of well-being right on Lyon's doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Dock Ouest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing