We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely small hotel in a fab location”
Review of Hotel de la Marne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de la Marne
Ranked #121 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A lovely small hotel in a fab location”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Faultless.
Very cheap.
Great location - 10 minute walk to Old Lyon
Immaculately clean
Very friendly staff who spoke good English
4of us on trip, and we requested 2 rooms, 1 double and 1 twin. The twin had a leak so they gave us 2 singles instead of the twin: that was actually better than the original booking and we were charged the same price as the twin.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    54
    46
    13
    8
See reviews for
30
48
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Normally we stay in another hotel, but unfortunately it was fully booked. So we tried the Hotel de la Marne. Whilst it is quite well placed and near the metro which took us to the right places, the hotel itself was quite a horrible experience. The carpets in the room, but also the landing and stairs, was dirty and in desperate need of a vacuum cleaner. The bathrooms were of questionable hygiene. The furniture run down and broken at parts. The matresse unconfortable and the noise level high. But the worst was that the bed was infested with bed bugs. I only caught and killed one, but the bites on my skin showed quite an activity! And to add to this, when we checked out, the lady was argumentative and rude. I will never return and do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Sibylle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lyon hotels

Lyon, France
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Really a sweat place, fell like at home for reasonable price. Rooms are well decorated, bathroom was really clean and the location is great.
A/C was really appriciated !!
Staff is quite attentive and speaks good english.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedPil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The best thing about this hotel is that is was an amazing value. My wife and I were backpacking through western Europe and this was one of the least expensive places on the trip. Despite the price, the hotel was perfectly decent. The room was basic but clean. We had A/C, a nice ensuite bathroom, and an automatic screen for the window to keep the sun out. The breakfast was a good, typical continental but costs extra. It is also convenient to the light rail for a quick trip to and from the Part-Dieu train station. For backpackers, there is an inexpensive laundromat just a block away. The only drawback is that the major sights and restaurants are not nearby. It is a good 20 minute walk to the 5th arrondissement where you will find the historic centre of the city and its famous bouchons (including the "non-authentic" bouchons, which are still delicious). Our desk clerk was extremely pleasant and helpful. You need to leave your key when you leave, but this actually made us feel safer as the small lobby is always tended and locked in the evening. If you are not looking for luxury accomodations, this is a perfectly respectable choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We were in room number 5. The room itself was well decorated with a rustic sort of feel to it. As it was a room for three people, there were two bathrooms which was a plus! There were both really clean and the showers were great, contrary to that of many hostels and hotels we have stayed at recently! 
Staff at reception were really helpful too. 
The major downside of this hotel though, was the lack of air-conditioning or fans of any sort. It meant that the room got extremely hot at night unless we fully opened the window, which then meant letting in the super loud noise from the road directly outside. Basically it was a choice of lack of sleep due to the heat, or lack of sleep due to the noise.. I guess we couldn't expect too much when we were each paying less than 27USD/night though! 

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KellyT589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Hotels are expansive in Lyon and there isn't much choice if you are on a low budget. This hotel is ok. It is clean. Rooms are not particulary nice, but not ugly either. The street of the hotel is really nice, there are some great restaurants there as well. It is not in the center of the old town though.

I do have one advice: do not book the breakfast - that is much too expansive and does not make sense at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Percy_Gothein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2012

If you are traveling on a budget, and if you want a French atmosphere Hotel de la Marne is a good choice. It is convenient to Vieux Lyon, the train station, and a long but pleasant walk to Place Bellecour. The breakfast included cereal which was a unique thing on our trip through France. The people were very pleasant and we were able to get by with our Americanized French. They even managed to find us some tiny ice cubes! We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmw2002Portsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotel du Simplon
Hotel du Simplon
#54 of 194 in Lyon
357 reviews
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotel des Savoies Lyon
Hotel des Savoies Lyon
#61 of 194 in Lyon
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotel du Dauphine
Hotel du Dauphine
#178 of 194 in Lyon
85 reviews
Hotel d'Azur
#135 of 194 in Lyon
89 reviews
Perrache - Charlemagne
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#92 of 194 in Lyon
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Marne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Marne

Property: Hotel de la Marne
Address: 78 rue de la Charite, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Carnot - Gailleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la Marne 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entirely renovated,Hotel de la Marne is located in the heart of downtown,in a area listed in the UNESCO world heritage,restaurant and stores nearby.You will be welcome in a warm setting by a dynamic team 24/24 and 7/7,and,to make you feel comfortable,a night clerk is at your disposal all night long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de la Marne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing