We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bayard Bellecour
Ranked #80 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This hotel has an excellent location right on Place Bellecour in the centre of Lyon. You can walk to nearly everywhere from here. It's a two star hotel so facilities are going to be limited (eg. there's no elevator/lift). We stayed in room 9 (small, cosy, on inside of the building) and only paid EUR59 per night. We had breakfast outside and from what I could see walking past the breakfast room, it's probably not worth your EUR10 (you're in the city center, so there's plenty of choice within 5 minutes walk). Wifi worked OK for us. Receptionists (both of them) were very friendly to both french and foreign visitors.
If you're visiting Lyon for 1 or 2 nights and plan to be out most of the time, this hotel is a great value option. If you're staying longer, suggest you look for something a bit further from the center, but with more facilities and space in the rooms. We parked at Q-Park just the other side of Perrache station - EUR15.50 per 24 hour period and it's very secure.
I would stay there again, but be careful not to overpay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank we_love_two_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    166
    48
    11
    14
See reviews for
34
172
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights based on the reviews we read online. The location of the hotel is fantastic - it is literally across the street from the main shopping areas and Place Bellecour and it is very easy to walk everywhere in Lyon from the hotel. Overall, the hotel is decent but here are a few things to keep in mind if you are thinking about booking this hotel:

1. Rooms are outdated and very small. The bed we had was about 10+ years old and it sunk in the middle so we did not have a good sleep. The shower is extremely small even for European standards.

2. No elevator in the hotel. You have to walk up two flights of stairs to get to the main reception without any assistance from the hotel staff or elevator.

3. Parking for the hotel is at a sister hotel and costs 20 euros per day. The sister hotel is about 1 km from Hotel Bayard Bellecour and, although the walk itself is not too bad if you browse the shops along Rue Victor Hugo, it isn't really convenient. The parking fee is also a bit high - the normal going rate seems to be between 12 - 15 euros. But the parking at the sister hotel is a very secure parking lot albeit very small (only 8 spaces so you have to book in advance to secure a spot).

4. Internet connection was really slow. We had difficulty connecting online and could not use Skype to call home because the connection was so weak.

If you are looking to stay at a cheaper place, the sister hotel "Hotel Alexander" seemed to be very clean but rated one-star. But the location of Hotel Bayard Bellecour cannot be beat.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreenApple07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

This hotel has in incredible central location. However, being in an old part of Lyon, it is far from a conventional building and parking is difficult. We parked in the nearby underground Place Bellecour car park (around 15euros a night), but this was not ideal as we were travelling with a baby and had a lot of stuff with us that had to be carried. It took a couple of trips.

The staff were friendly. The hotel is bizarre to say the least. I understand some of it has been refurbished and we opted for a 'charming' room, which had been renovated. We had to follow a veritable maze to get there, up and down stairs, again not ideal with a lot of stuff to carry. The room was nice enough, but had no proper window! It had a window opening onto a corridor which itself had a window opening onto a rather dank courtyard. Given it was 30 degrees, and there was no air con this was not ideal. Fortunately the room had an enormous fan, which did help a lot and we managed.

Breakfast was ok, nothing special at all, but they didnt mind us stealing baguette ham and cheese for our lunch, so I cant complain :-)

All in all, a great location, good for couples, but try to stay in a renovated room, and avoid altogether if you are travelling with a family.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

This hotel is on a huge central square a 30 second walk from shopping. 2 minutes walk across the bridge to Old Town.

The rooms was really nice! Great decor, super comfy bed, lots of space
The hotel is on the 2nd floor with no elevator and the rooms are on the 3rd floor so dont bring heavy luggage but i had 2 big bags and it was no problem.
The lobby seems dingy but the rooms are beautiful and modern.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Hotel Bayard
Is in a great location in the Place Bellecour, if you arrive in Lyon buy Train its a short trip buy meter.The Hotel is in the very centre of Lyon next to a shopping precinct, which was great to go and get breakfaster. Within an easy walk to the old city of Lyon and the historic St Jean neighborhood. The hotel can do with a lick of paint but thats about it.
The room(14) that we where in was clean bright and conformable.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkaboutboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

The Hotel Bayard is in a great location in the Place Bellecour in the very centre of Lyon next to a shopping precinct and within an easy 10 minute walk from the historic St Jean neighbourhood in the Old Town. The hotel itself is falling apart at the seams just a little bit, but for my wife and I this added to its charm - we loved it. It is in an old building and the rooms are spacious with a decent sized bathroom. It is very quiet and we slept relly well during the 3 nights we were there. I felt the breakfasts were a little overpriced for what was on offer when compared with some of the other French hotels we have stayed in. The staff were really warm and welcoming and certainly added a great deal to the whole experience. If I return to Lyon I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulD49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2010

Hotel Bayard is a gem of a hotel. Location could not be better, the rooms are very, very nice with brand new, modern bathrooms, and the hotel staff are very friendly. It felt almost like a family-run hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iglockley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Residence
Hotel La Residence
#36 of 193 in Lyon
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Celestins
Hotel des Celestins
#14 of 193 in Lyon
949 reviews
0.1 mi away
HOTEL DU DAUPHIN
HOTEL DU DAUPHIN
#124 of 193 in Lyon
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Globe et Cecil
Globe et Cecil
#41 of 193 in Lyon
426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elysee Hotel
Elysee Hotel
#65 of 193 in Lyon
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#32 of 193 in Lyon
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bayard Bellecour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bayard Bellecour

Property: Hotel Bayard Bellecour
Address: 23 Place Bellecour, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bayard Bellecour 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You want Lyon at your feet ? Let yourself be seduced by our hotel ideally located in the heart of the city on Europe's most beautiful square a few steps from the shopping streets. Just cross the Saône river and dive into the Old Lyon, ranked as UNESCO historic heritage, stroll along the pedestrian streets. Take time to enjoy the Lyonese famous gastronomy in one of the many "bouchons". Hotel Bayard will welcome you in its renovated "familiale", "AUTHENTIC DELUXE BELLECOUR" and "DE CHARME or DELUXE PATIO" rooms or our unic room the PRESTIGE DELUXE BELLECOUR room with free internet wifi access. Our staff will assist you to make your stay an unforgettable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bayard Bellecour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayard Bellecour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing