We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bayard Bellecour
Ranked #81 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Mexico
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Bayard on Plaza Bellecour. We didn't notice it was a two-star hotel and paid for it. We walked into the Royal Hotel next door first, thinking that was our hotel and loved it (and will stay there next time), but they sent us a couple doors down. The hotel isn't even on the ground floor, it starts on the first floor and there's no elevator. And there's no AC. No restaurant or bar. The first room we were given smelled horribly so they changed us to another, which was dark, poorly decorated and depressing. We finally got a room in another section which was better; good beds, sheets and pillows, and a nice bathroom, and I guess that is all good if you are expecting a two-star room. But we were expecting more, especially for the price we paid. I'll pay the rate of the Royal next time.

Room Tip: If you are traveling during the summer months to Lyon, you'll want AC. This hotel doesn't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flojohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    170
    48
    11
    16
See reviews for
36
175
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in this 2 star hotel and was not disapointed. Perfect location on the place de Bellecourt. Metro right in front of the hotel, Vieux Lyon, shops and restaurants all in walking distance. Friendly staff, free wifi and the breakfast for french standards and 2 stars is very good. Room was a decent size and clean. All in all good value for money. No elevator in the building if I am not mistaken. Reception on the first floor, rooms can be on the first floor or up.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauve_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed for one night on route to switzerland. This is a solid good value hotel. Comfortable bed, good wifi, bbc and CNN on the tv. The breakfast at 12 euros per person was very steep, so we skipped it. It looked like a very basic continental breakfast. Shower had good hot water, tiny bathroom and bedroom.

Is about 17-22 euros for a cab from the Lyon part due train station, so if I was doing a single night and arriving or leaving by train again I might stay closer to the station, as Lyon is a very large city ( second biggest after Paris)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulypockets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

stayed here for a night after reading tripadvisor. was not disappointed.

plus points:
1) good flat screen tv with CNN and BBC
2) springy pillows with thick blanket, comfy bed
3) my room was very spacious
4) very friendly and helpful hotel manager, speaks v good English. must really commend the man, but didn't get his name.
5) free Wifi
6) tourism office, bellecour metro, various attractions right at its doorstep
7) the area and hotel feel safe (there are security cameras and you get electronic keys to enter the hotel after 10.30pm)
8) clean and each room is designed differently.
9) towels are thick and absorbent, get good hot water, there's body wash dispenser and handsoap

minus points:
1) shower area looks abit tired (but see point 9 above)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vvc_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverdale, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This is a great place to stay within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and the old town. In addition, it has a charming 'old France' ambiance. Of course, that means the rooms and bathrooms are tiny, but it is clean and cozily comfortable. Nice linens. Parking is several blocks away at a sister hotel, unless you choose a public parking facility. Excellent service and friendly welcome from the reception staff. There is wifi, though it doesn't have a super strong signal.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoodCanalDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Lyon is best entered from the motorway and minutes after leaving the motorway you are in Place Bellecour, the immense square at this impressive city's heart with an easily-accessed car park beneath. Near one corner of the square, the hotel has a couple of drop-off car spaces but the traffic was surprisingly light in our time there at the end of March. No hassle. First impressions of the hotel were not great in that you first have to enter a shared stair and climb to Reception on the first floor. Thereafter, it was everything we could hope for. Very helpful and charming hosts who can speak good English if necessary. The room (up more stairs) was very comfortable and well presented, with a ringside view of the square. Really hard to fault the facilities and we will definitely stay there when we return to explore city further. Comfortable, secure and friendly.

Room Tip: Get a view of the Place Bellecour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay. We had a large room that faced the square. The room was sound proof so there was no noise from the street. You can open the windows and get a great view. The room was large for european standards and the bathroom was very modern. The breakfast was adaquate and the staff was very friendly. They were very helpful about dinner recommendations and reservations. This is a boutique hotel and each room is different. We stayed in the main section of the building. You do walk up a few sets of stairs but it was easy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schieleclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Hotel La Residence
#36 of 194 in Lyon
525 reviews
Hotel des Celestins
#14 of 194 in Lyon
977 reviews
HOTEL DU DAUPHIN
#139 of 194 in Lyon
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel des Artistes
#33 of 194 in Lyon
404 reviews
Globe et Cecil
#45 of 194 in Lyon
450 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bayard Bellecour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bayard Bellecour

Property: Hotel Bayard Bellecour
Address: 23 Place Bellecour, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bayard Bellecour 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You want Lyon at your feet ? Let yourself be seduced by our hotel ideally located in the heart of the city on Europe's most beautiful square a few steps from the shopping streets. Just cross the Saône river and dive into the Old Lyon, ranked as UNESCO historic heritage, stroll along the pedestrian streets. Take time to enjoy the Lyonese famous gastronomy in one of the many "bouchons". Hotel Bayard will welcome you in its renovated "familiale", "AUTHENTIC DELUXE BELLECOUR" and "DE CHARME or DELUXE PATIO" rooms or our unic room the PRESTIGE DELUXE BELLECOUR room with free internet wifi access. Our staff will assist you to make your stay an unforgettable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Bayard Bellecour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayard Bellecour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing