We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vale for Money!”

Le Comptoir du Boeuf
Reserve with
Le Comptoir du Boeuf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #202 of 3,268 Restaurants in Lyon
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great vale for Money!”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Excellent food and service! The staff there are always smiling although they do run up an down all the time! :)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sophia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    295
    93
    39
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
france
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good tasty Lyonaise food”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This was our first visit to a 'Bouchon'. Whilst I am happy with most offal my wife is a little more conservative. We opted for the Lyonaisse menu at a very reasonable €16. I had a salad which included veal feet and Museau a type of brawn. It was tasty and filling but I found the texture of the calf unpleasant. My wife had a sheeps cheese salad with a herb dressing which she says was delicious. We both opted for a Lyonaise speciality main course; Pike dumplings in a lobster sauce with crunchy Lyonaisse potatoes. Absolutely delicious. We both had a cold bread and butter pudding with warm caramel as a desert which was good and filling.. Just under half a litre of Cotes du Rhone came in at €11 which I thought was a bit steep for what was a very ordinary red. This Bouchon is in a part of the old city with wall to wall competitors offering very similar menus at very similar prices, 'Cartel'? The staff were super efficient and charming. I would eat here again even if it was just for the Pike dumplings!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joddwallgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Good food at great prices”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The reviews on Tripadvisor were very accurate. This is good food from a choice of set menus and at remarkable prices given the 16euro cost at lunchtime. I enjoyed a fine fresh salad, very good Beef and a delicious chocolate mousse, with cover and service charge included. This is in a very touristy area, but not a tourist rip off. I would strongly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sbarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Definitely recommended”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Honest, tasty, traditional Lyonnaise cuisine served by friendly and attentive staff. Not fine dining but very good value for money. I enjoyed my first meal there so much that I returned the following day for lunch. The staff recognized me and tried to seat me ASAP even though they were very busy catering to a full house. Would have returned to try more dishes if I had stayed longer in Lyons.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank EJBuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food, service, position & price all excellent!”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Situated in the St Jean district of Vieux Lyon, Le comptoir is surrounded by eateries all looking for you business. This restaurant has all the traditional "Bouchon Lyonnaise" plus the more usual French Cuisine. We ate outdoors on the terrace(street!) and watched the world go by until a brief heavy rain shower shifted the passers-by! We were treating ourselves so didn't stint on our choices of food or wine. Everything was excellent including our waiter who spoke English very well. Total bill was 95€ which included a 20€ bottle of wine. Highly recommended if you go to Lyon

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank morristwelve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Comptoir du Boeuf also viewed

 

Been to Le Comptoir du Boeuf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing