We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux
Ranked #78 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Delft
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

Very nice rooms and good breakfast. It slso has free Wifi, but only for the first 4 hours that they can do much better. The hotel is in a quit and nice area, 20 minutes walk to the old centre which was oke for me.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmvangelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    140
    71
    17
    6
See reviews for
26
108
37
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in August, 2012. It is a very nice hotel, very clean. I was lucky to get one of the executive suites and it was awesome. Nice big bathtub and a separate shower. Mini fridge with complimentary drinks and a coffee/tea maker in the room. I also loved that the windows opened out onto the street so I could people watch. Bed was very comfy also. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They all speak English pretty well and went above and beyond to help me with everything I needed. It is in a very nice location too, very close to the metro and buses. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guinevere B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tombast, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Dear Customer,

We deeply thank you for your comment and are delighted that you had an excellent stay in our establishment.

I shall not miss to transmit your message to my Team !
In the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel!

Cordially.

Paule DANIEL - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

The hotel is walking distance from Part Dieu - the major train station in Lyon where most of the out of town trains come in. It also has a Velo bicycle rental location right outside. The rooms are small as expected in Europe. The bathroom was clean and functional. There is free wifi which times out after 3 hours of use but you can reset it by logging in again.
There is decent breakfast (express and full) at reasonable price. The staff members are very polite, helpful and speak good English.
The negative is that it is a bit far from the old Lyon where all the sights and restaurants are but the bike rental or public transport are excellent so not really much of a problem.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the back have windows that look right into neighbors' apartments. So try front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tombast, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Dear Customer,

We thank you for having taken time to send us your message.

It is always with the real pleasure that my Team, and I, let us discover very positive comments. They encourage us to maintain our efforts to satisfy always better our customers.
Still one thank you, and in the pleasure to welcome you again in our establishment.

Cordially.

Paule DANIEL - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
213 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Good news: hotel nicely refurbished, staff helpful and about 500m from Part-Dieu station, some historic features. Also air-conditioned, more or less.
Bad news: the room I had, on the 7th, was tiny. It was only me staying, with a couple it would have required some intricate planing to move around it since the bed was almost as big as the room and the logistics involved for a simple move from side of the room to the other would be considerable. Breakfast pricey, so had a croissant at the station instead. Nevertheless, I thought it was pretty expensive at c.120 Euro, for what it was.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ICE-Zugfahrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

The hotel was very well located, near the Metro, good restaurants around it and in a quiet neighborhood. The breakfast was adequate, the staff were very helpful. The rooms were smaller than expected but were always clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chantal55_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed four nights in August. Great location, close to the Metro and buses. Clean, modern rooms in an restored building. Nice amenities and great buffet breakfast included. Staff were fantastic. Certainly would use again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

The hotel is located in a convenient area of Lyon-20min walk to the centre/old town fairly quiet with plenty of Bars/Restaurants and very near to Part Dieu Station for the SNCF & TGV
.Dont make the mistake of driving into Lyon like we did - The OneWay system is an absolute nightmare,parking is expensive as the hotel does not have its own.The Parc -Tete D'Or is a short strole away and makes for a pleasant afternoon.Fully recommend eating in the Old Town there is so many too choose from along with some very good Bars/Restaurants surrounding the Hotel
The friendlyness & helpfulness of the staff was exemplary and the cleanliness of the Hotel was excellent cannot fault our choice of Hotel and everything you expect from an International chain.Make the most of the flights from Manchester - Lyon is not a bad Weekend break destination.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andorah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your positive comments !
I shall not miss to transmit them to my Team, which will be delighted to know that you have spent an excellent stay in our company.
Do not hesitate to return towards us if you wish to take advantage completely of numerous visits in the Cité desGônes, we shall be happy to welcome you again.
We wish you an excellent day!
Cordially.
Paule DANIEL
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Lyon Charpennes
Mercure Lyon Charpennes
#3 of 6 in Villeurbanne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Timhotel Lyon La Part Dieu
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tete d'or
Hotel Tete d'or
#40 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Roosevelt
Hotel Le Roosevelt
#54 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#136 of 193 in Lyon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux

Property: Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux
Address: 112 boulevard des Belges, 69006, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Jules Ferry - Récamier
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1911 in a typically art nouveau style, the hotel stands opposite the former les brotteaux railway station which is a listed historic monument. It is next to the part-dieu tgv train station and the cite internationale, and just 5 minutes from the parc de la tete d'or. Its central location makes it an ideal base for a holiday or a business trip to lyon, the capital of the gauls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lyon
Lyon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing