We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's super 3 star hotel but not 4..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux
Ranked #83 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Reviewed 17 February 2013

It's very well located, no worries for that. It's clean hotel but small room. Somehow, for a 4 star there should be a concierge and a proper lobby...there is noo bath robe or room slipper and lift is super small. but in same, you get what you paid for. therefore, I can't complain for the price I paid, 110 $ per nyt. So , I would say it's a super 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: get a 4th floor if u wanna avoid the vehicule noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chakdole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2012

We stopped at the Mercure Lyon Brotteaux as a family on our way back from Christmas in the Alps. The hotel was easy to find, with simple access from the motorway around Lyon. The welcome from the charming receptionist, Emilie I think, was particularly friendly and warm. The rooms were perfect - a good size for a French hotel, with a well-designed bathroom and a comfortable sitting/working area. For families, the Accor chain is currently doing an offer with a second room at half price, a big plus for a family of five like us.
The hotel is just a short walk from a metro stop that takes you straight to the centre of Lyon. We took the line to Place Bellecour which was ideal for a visit to le Vieux Lyon.
The beds were VERY comfortable and even though our room overlooked the boulevard the traffic wasn't a problem thanks to the excellent double windows.
Breakfast was good with a fine selection although, as coffee lovers, we were a little disappointed by the weak hotel coffee - but that's nothing new.
There's also an excellent restaurant, La Brasserie des Brotteaux, just opposite the hotel, along with a wide range of restaurants in the surrounding neighbourhood.
This hotel is one that we shall definitely return to on our next trip to Lyon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ianburley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Fine hotel for what we needed: a place to stay mid-transit to Paris. Parking just across the street, free in the evening so very convenient.
Staff friendly - one spoke English fluently and the other didn't at all. The one who could speak English gave us good dinner recommendations.
Room clean and very modern. The purple/blue lighting is a bit weird (feels like it's to deter junkies but it's just a design choice). Bathroom clean and fine.
Business centre is fine but it takes ages to login, so don't be in a hurry to check your emails or facebook.
A few streets away is a laundromat and convenient store, handy if you need to do some washing and pick up a few things.
Didn't stop to see any sights in Lyon, so not sure about proximity to attractions, but I assume lots of people use this as a transit hotel and it's perfect for that.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SydneyFolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

Very nice rooms and good breakfast. It slso has free Wifi, but only for the first 4 hours that they can do much better. The hotel is in a quit and nice area, 20 minutes walk to the old centre which was oke for me.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmvangelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in August, 2012. It is a very nice hotel, very clean. I was lucky to get one of the executive suites and it was awesome. Nice big bathtub and a separate shower. Mini fridge with complimentary drinks and a coffee/tea maker in the room. I also loved that the windows opened out onto the street so I could people watch. Bed was very comfy also. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They all speak English pretty well and went above and beyond to help me with everything I needed. It is in a very nice location too, very close to the metro and buses. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Guinevere B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tombast, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Dear Customer,

We deeply thank you for your comment and are delighted that you had an excellent stay in our establishment.

I shall not miss to transmit your message to my Team !
In the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel!

Cordially.

Paule DANIEL - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The hotel is walking distance from Part Dieu - the major train station in Lyon where most of the out of town trains come in. It also has a Velo bicycle rental location right outside. The rooms are small as expected in Europe. The bathroom was clean and functional. There is free wifi which times out after 3 hours of use but you can reset it by logging in again.
There is decent breakfast (express and full) at reasonable price. The staff members are very polite, helpful and speak good English.
The negative is that it is a bit far from the old Lyon where all the sights and restaurants are but the bike rental or public transport are excellent so not really much of a problem.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the back have windows that look right into neighbors' apartments. So try front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tombast, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Dear Customer,

We thank you for having taken time to send us your message.

It is always with the real pleasure that my Team, and I, let us discover very positive comments. They encourage us to maintain our efforts to satisfy always better our customers.
Still one thank you, and in the pleasure to welcome you again in our establishment.

Cordially.

Paule DANIEL - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Good news: hotel nicely refurbished, staff helpful and about 500m from Part-Dieu station, some historic features. Also air-conditioned, more or less.
Bad news: the room I had, on the 7th, was tiny. It was only me staying, with a couple it would have required some intricate planing to move around it since the bed was almost as big as the room and the logistics involved for a simple move from side of the room to the other would be considerable. Breakfast pricey, so had a croissant at the station instead. Nevertheless, I thought it was pretty expensive at c.120 Euro, for what it was.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ICE-Zugfahrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Mercure Lyon Charpennes Hotel
#3 of 6 in Villeurbanne
354 reviews
Hotel Du Parc
#113 of 196 in Lyon
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Le Roosevelt
#48 of 196 in Lyon
422 reviews
Hotel Tete d'or
#46 of 196 in Lyon
269 reviews
Marechal Lyautey - Vitton
Hotel au Patio Morand
Hotel au Patio Morand
#70 of 196 in Lyon
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux

Address: 112 boulevard des Belges, 69006, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Jules Ferry - Récamier
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £65 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1911 in a typically art nouveau style, the hotel stands opposite the former les brotteaux railway station which is a listed historic monument. It is next to the part-dieu tgv train station and the cite internationale, and just 5 minutes from the parc de la tete d'or. Its central location makes it an ideal base for a holiday or a business trip to lyon, the capital of the gauls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lyon
Lyon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing