We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad at all” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux
Ranked #79 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Well located, cute little hotel in Lyon. Decent sized rooms (for France) which were clean and comfortable. Nice comfortable bed, and helpful, friendly staff.

It's not far from Lyon Part Dieu so if you get a train to Lyon, its about a 10 minute walk. Close to 3 subway stations (Brotteaux is only 2 mins) and with Lyon's great subway system you can be anywhere quickly.

Worth considering if you're going to Lyon - also only a 5 min walk to a great little wine shop called Les Vins Augagneur on Cours Vitton.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hueyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paule D, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your positive comments !

I shall not miss to transmit them to my Team, which will be delighted to know that you have spent an excellent stay in our company.

Do not hesitate to return towards us, we shall be happy to welcome you again.
Cordially.
Paule DANIEL
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    140
    71
    17
    6
See reviews for
26
108
37
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MADEIRA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

How the authorities can give this hotel 4 stars is beyond me. At almost 150€ a night it is exhorbitant for what I would describe as a "taudis" No restaurante, hand rail falling off the wall in the bathroom, dreadful carpet on the floor and on one wall. From the outsider the building looks great, but inside!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PARADISEMadeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paule D, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear customer,

We thank you for having taken time to announce us your comment.
We regret that you didn't appreciate our services, and are sincerely sorry about it.
In spite of all the care which we bring to return the pleasant stay of our customers, we aren't able to notice a dysfunction, and regret that you didn't announce to us it during your stay, we would have been able very certainly to remedy it.
Hoping nevertheless to have the pleasure to welcome you again.
Cordially.
Paule Daniel Directrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed in charming hotel two nights.
Hotel was in a great location close to the train station, historical places and big shopping center.
The managers were very friendly, provided useful information and perfect speaks English.
Room was very clean and the free wifi was good. Breakfast was exellent.
Would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Svetlana31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paule D, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your positive comments !

I shall not miss to transmit them to my Team, which will be delighted to know that you have spent an excellent stay in our company.

We shall be happy to welcome you again in 2014...!

Cordialy.

Paule DANIEL - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
741 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Very efficient hotel within a charming building. Good size rooms, very clean & well appointed.
The buildings opposite were beautiful & surrounded by historical streets/buildings. Nice little balcony. Efficient check-out.
Perhaps a little over-priced, carpets are a bit basic & not enough sound proofing.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hooray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paule D, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Customer,

We thank you for having taken time to send us your message.

It is always with the real pleasure that my Team, and I, let us discover very positive comments. They encourage us to maintain our efforts to satisfy always better our customers.
Still one thank you, and in the pleasure to welcome you again in our establishment.

Happy New Year 2014 !

Cordially.

Paule DANIEL - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Very nice and romantic rooms. We got upgraded to privilege room for being platinum member. In privilege room u have drinks included and better pillows to sleep.

Super location close to train station and just across there are the bicycles to rent an amazing way to explore lyon.

Breakfast was ok. Choice could be bigger but its ok.

We can fully recommend this hotel and would come back ourself.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Howard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paule D, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Customer,

Dear Guest,

We thank you for having taken time to send us your message.

It is always with the real pleasure that my Team, and I, let us discover very positive comments. They encourage us to maintain our efforts to satisfy always better our customers.
Still one thank you, and in the pleasure to welcome you again in our establishment.

Cordially.

Paule DANIEL - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

When I worked in Lyon I had the opportunity to stay at the Mercure Lyon Brotteaux. It's such an underrated hotel and it deserves the highest accolades, it really does.

Check in/check out was fast and fabulous and the staff were so helpful. I'd arrived at quite short notice and hadn't brought everything I needed - this didn't present any problem for the hotel who rallied to give me what I needed.

I was enchanted with the stairs that corkscrew around the ironwork-clad lift. A few gallops up and down those stairs and I was in the peak of physical fitness. My room was right at the top of the hotel with a balcony. I had the doors open whenever I was in my room, there's nothing so exciting at the sounds of the city at night and I swear that I can tell the difference from city to city.

On this trip I also developed a like for - and ultimate compulsion - for 'Prija' bathroom products and I still import them now.

I really miss working in France... one day I shall go back!

Room Tip: Choose a room a the very top of the hotel for the most magnificent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paule D, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear guest,

We deeply thank you for your comment and are delighted that you had an excellent stay in our establishment.

I shall not miss to transmit your message to my Team !
In the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.

Cordially.

Paule DANIEL - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Very modern feel in a great area of the city. Stayed here for a few nights during our honeymoon. It is close to the major train stations. We were lucky to have one of the preferred rooms with massive windows and a balcony onto the street. The room felt very spacious and it was nice to let the breeze in during the evenings. Has most of the modern amenities one would hope for - wifi (free for four hours, then you buy time packages after that), big clean bathroom, big bed, safe in the room for valuables, ipod dock. The hotel offers breakfast as part of the stay which we both appreciated. Right next door is an excellent 100-yr old restaurant. Easy access to the rest of the city. There was a lot to explore and this makes an excellent home-base.

Room Tip: Those rooms facing the front of the hotel (directly above the front door) have the best views and ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GregGordon428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paule D, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We deeply thank you for your comment and are delighted that you had an excellent stay in our establishment.

I shall not miss to transmit your message to my Team !
In the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel!

Cordially.

Paule DANIEL - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Lyon Charpennes
Mercure Lyon Charpennes
#3 of 6 in Villeurbanne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Timhotel Lyon La Part Dieu
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tete d'or
Hotel Tete d'or
#38 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Roosevelt
Hotel Le Roosevelt
#54 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#135 of 193 in Lyon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux

Property: Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux
Address: 112 boulevard des Belges, 69006, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Jules Ferry - Récamier
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1911 in a typically art nouveau style, the hotel stands opposite the former les brotteaux railway station which is a listed historic monument. It is next to the part-dieu tgv train station and the cite internationale, and just 5 minutes from the parc de la tete d'or. Its central location makes it an ideal base for a holiday or a business trip to lyon, the capital of the gauls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lyon
Lyon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing