We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, but.....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Phenix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Phenix Hotel
Ranked #45 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, but.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights mid June. Well located in the old city by the river. Our room faced the river, was quiet and tastefully decorated.
Staff varied in their friendliness some were great and others were pretty indifferent.
One negative was that I left behind 2 leather jackets in the wardrobe. I was back in Lyon 2 weeks later when it dawned on me that I had forgotten them, so went directly to the hotel. I don't know what effort they had gone to to contact me but I wasn't aware of any. Anyway the girl on the counter discovered that yes they were there and went out the back and presented me with a plastic bag. The jackets hadn't even been folded up they were completely crushed into the bag.
While pleased to have retrieved my property I was completely unimpressed with the lack of care.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    192
    57
    14
    7
See reviews for
38
202
21
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012 via mobile

Wow!!!! This picturesc little hotel is so nice and comfortable. The outside appearance is nothing to what it really is inside. The rooms are super clean and the products offered are a green line.

The colors and contrast in the room, and the flat screen tv's make the room look refreshing and spacious. Attention is great too, although we hardly found people who speak English around the town, the staff at the hotel did and gave us great directions.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laKalandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

Our room 402 was attractively decorated and the floor space was good. Our bed was comfortable. The room is in the roof line so had sloping ceilings for about a third of the space with small windows at close to floor level. It faced the river which was pleasant when lying on the bed but not much use sitting or standing. The toilet was separate in a tiny room. The bathroom was a good size but with the same sloping roof causing it to be impossible to stand upright under the hand held shower located over the bath. All would be fine if you prefer baths to showers. The usual continental style breakfast offerings with "boil your own egg" the cooked option. It is well located so I would recommend the hotel but check the room you are given to suit your size/bath preference.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hepast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Having been to a few places in France where most not-so-expensive hotel rooms are often cramped and small, Hotel Phenix in Lyon is an exception. Our room was spacious, very clean and tastefully decorated. The beds had immaculately clean bed sheets and pillows. We had a small round table with two comfy armchairs, another study table with a comfortable chair, a fridge, a wardrobe, a wide screen tv, a chimney, more space where we can lay open our luggage but still leaving enough space to move around. The room has two separate beds with night tables each and the toilet was separate from the bathroom, which was ideal for me and my friend. The closed doubly-framed glass windows which opened to a nice view of the river Saône and beyond allowed us to sleep comfortably despite its facing a busy street. The location is a short distance from Hôtel de Ville, between Places des Terreaux et de la Comédie. The room rate which included breakfast was correct and the staff was friendly.

Room Tip: During the summer, if you are not fond of air conditioning, a room not facing the busy street and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust0446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

My wife and I stayed in an executive room in May. It was probably the best hotel that we stayed in during our two-week tour of France. The location was minutes from the restaurants in Old Lyon, a short walk from the attractions on the Fourviere Hill, and close to the downtown shopping district as well. Rooms at the front of the hotel get a bonus view of the river, but are also located beside a number of pubs and dance clubs. Not sure what the noise factor would be like over there, but we didn't have any issue in our side room which faced out onto a small alleyway. Staff were kind and helpful. The room had a bonus hot tub, TV had English satellite channels, and the bed was comfortable as well. We also had a small fridge at our disposal, which came in handy for improvising in-room breakfasts. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Resaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biddeford Pool, Maine
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

We liked this hotel. The location was on the river (our room had a river view) in the Old Town area. It is a 20-minute walk to the train station and only five minutes to the Bellecour shopping/plaza area. It was also just across the river from what we discovered was a large Saturday food market that offered a tremendous variety of fruits, vegetables, meats, cheeses, breads, flowers and prepared meals among other things. ☺

The room was good sized, with good wifi and a good-sized bathtub/shower combination. No problem with hot water either.

The breakfast offered a variety of food, including cereals, yogurt and fruit. Not the best we’d seen in our four months traveling in Europe but very good nonetheless.

The staff was cordial and helpful, e.g., making dinner reservations for us.

Our one real problem related to our taxi ride from the hotel to the train station on our day of departure. It turned out the cab driver overcharged us by about 50 percent the regular fare. We knew he was asking too much because we had taken a cab from the train station a couple nights before and had walked to the train station ourselves during our sightseeing. We could tell right away that he was driving an indirect route and asked him about it but he continued as he chose. He insisted on the metered price even though we pointed out it was far too high. It was not a fight we wished to pick at that moment as we had a train to catch.

He also, in the course of our journey, made several remarks that were racist and anti-Semitic.

We wish to make clear we do not blame the hotel for this incident. However, when I wrote a note to the hotel describing the driver and our experience (including his remarks) and suggesting they take appropriate action to prevent this from happening to other customers, I received no reply. This was approximately three weeks ago and I am still waiting.

At the least, I would have expected a customer-focused management to respond and, ideally, to undertake a proactive effort to eliminate the possibility of such fraud in the future, e.g., set a standard rate with the cab company for a trip to the train station and make sure both the driver and customer are aware of that fare; sell vouchers good for a trip to the station when presented to the driver; make sure that our driver never again services the hotel (we provided a detailed description of our driver that was quite sufficient for the cab company (aside from their internal trip records) to identify him).

I will let the matter rest there and suggest you make sure you know the correct fare to your destination and agree on it with the driver before leaving the hotel.

Aside from this incident, however, we do wish to reiterate that we did like the hotel and would recommend it as a good value.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JackfromMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Hotel Le Phenix was a well-run hotel where the staff was warm and consistently helpful. Front rooms facing the Saône River could be noisy as there are several nearby late-night clubs and discos. My room (108) faced an ally which also was noisy with pedestrian traffic in spite of the double-pane windows. A room facing the rear seems preferable. The walls between rooms were quite thin. Ear plugs proved to be a simple solution. The hotel had an attractive, covered courtyard which functioned as a restaurant/breakfast room.

The room was spotless and very nicely decorated with tasteful wooden furniture and a refrigerator. All furnishings seemed new. The bed wasn’t quite as firm as I preferred, but after sleeping on it for two nights, I did not need spine surgery. The bathroom was well illuminated and outfitted with a hair dryer, small bathtub, nice shower-head, and shower curtain. The bathroom was gleaming – and also seemed new. (Not all bathrooms have shower curtains so one much squat in the bathtub whilst showering – not uncommon in France. “When in France….”). It was outfitted with a heated towel rack so towels dried quickly (as well as clothes after washing them in the sink). Hotel Le Phenix was a well-run, attractive hotel that was well situated for tourism (a short walk to the Vieux-Lyon Metro station – easily accessible from Part Dieu train station).

Room Tip: Rooms on the front and side ally can be noisy. Try one in the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Vieux Lyon - Quarantaine
College Hotel
College Hotel
#91 of 193 in Lyon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel des Celestins
#14 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Hotel des Artistes
#34 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Phenix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Phenix Hotel

Property: Le Phenix Hotel
Address: 7 quai de Bondy, 69005, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#38 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Phenix Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phenix Hotel is the only one in Lyon situated on the edges of the Saone, in the heart of the old Lyon, district classified in the world heritage by the Unesco. The Phenix Hotel opens the doors of its ancient house Renaissance on 36 rooms, with air conditioning and individual heating, bathrooms equipped with hairdryer and towel dryer, mini bar, safe, flat-screen TV, Canal + and Canalsat, free access to WIFI, telephone, room service, coffee-tea-cakes in the room, with rooms all renewed, of which 10 deluxe rooms with a privileged view on the Saone River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Le Phenix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Phenix Lyon
Hotel Le Phenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing