We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with some drawbacks”
Review of Le Phenix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Phenix Hotel
Ranked #49 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
170 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with some drawbacks”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

A perfectly nice hotel in a great location for sightseeing - right on the Saone River in the Old Town, a short walk from everything in both Vieux Lyon and the Presque'ile section (where the better restaurants are). The room, while small, was clean and adequately furnished. The bathroom was recently renovated with good toiletries. The lobby was charming and had a bar that was open most of the day where one could get snacks. Normally, given the reasonable price, I would give it a "4" rating, but it gets only a "3" for 3 missteps. (1) The breakfast is very plain, considering they charge 13 euros; (2) the windows in our room faced an alley and were not soundproofed, so each morning we were awakened at 5 a.m. by the sound of people putting out trash cans; and (3), most unforgivably, the desk forgot to give us a scheduled wake-up call one morning, resulting in a one-hour delay in our day. Luckily, we were not catching a train or plane that day.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BronxSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    195
    57
    14
    7
See reviews for
39
204
21
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
276 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed here recently for 2 nights as the starting point for a group wine trip. We found the hotel accomodations to be quite adequate and surprisingly quiet at night. It is convenient to walk to the old parts of Lyon. The hotel staff was variable as other reviewers noted. Some were extremely helpful and others could not communicate at all in English. The breakfast buffet was very nice.

Having traveled extensively in Europe over the years, I would say this is a fairly typical local hotel. If location to the local sites and shopping is important to you then I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljtraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights mid June. Well located in the old city by the river. Our room faced the river, was quiet and tastefully decorated.
Staff varied in their friendliness some were great and others were pretty indifferent.
One negative was that I left behind 2 leather jackets in the wardrobe. I was back in Lyon 2 weeks later when it dawned on me that I had forgotten them, so went directly to the hotel. I don't know what effort they had gone to to contact me but I wasn't aware of any. Anyway the girl on the counter discovered that yes they were there and went out the back and presented me with a plastic bag. The jackets hadn't even been folded up they were completely crushed into the bag.
While pleased to have retrieved my property I was completely unimpressed with the lack of care.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012 via mobile

Wow!!!! This picturesc little hotel is so nice and comfortable. The outside appearance is nothing to what it really is inside. The rooms are super clean and the products offered are a green line.

The colors and contrast in the room, and the flat screen tv's make the room look refreshing and spacious. Attention is great too, although we hardly found people who speak English around the town, the staff at the hotel did and gave us great directions.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laKalandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

Our room 402 was attractively decorated and the floor space was good. Our bed was comfortable. The room is in the roof line so had sloping ceilings for about a third of the space with small windows at close to floor level. It faced the river which was pleasant when lying on the bed but not much use sitting or standing. The toilet was separate in a tiny room. The bathroom was a good size but with the same sloping roof causing it to be impossible to stand upright under the hand held shower located over the bath. All would be fine if you prefer baths to showers. The usual continental style breakfast offerings with "boil your own egg" the cooked option. It is well located so I would recommend the hotel but check the room you are given to suit your size/bath preference.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hepast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Having been to a few places in France where most not-so-expensive hotel rooms are often cramped and small, Hotel Phenix in Lyon is an exception. Our room was spacious, very clean and tastefully decorated. The beds had immaculately clean bed sheets and pillows. We had a small round table with two comfy armchairs, another study table with a comfortable chair, a fridge, a wardrobe, a wide screen tv, a chimney, more space where we can lay open our luggage but still leaving enough space to move around. The room has two separate beds with night tables each and the toilet was separate from the bathroom, which was ideal for me and my friend. The closed doubly-framed glass windows which opened to a nice view of the river Saône and beyond allowed us to sleep comfortably despite its facing a busy street. The location is a short distance from Hôtel de Ville, between Places des Terreaux et de la Comédie. The room rate which included breakfast was correct and the staff was friendly.

Room Tip: During the summer, if you are not fond of air conditioning, a room not facing the busy street and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust0446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My wife and I stayed in an executive room in May. It was probably the best hotel that we stayed in during our two-week tour of France. The location was minutes from the restaurants in Old Lyon, a short walk from the attractions on the Fourviere Hill, and close to the downtown shopping district as well. Rooms at the front of the hotel get a bonus view of the river, but are also located beside a number of pubs and dance clubs. Not sure what the noise factor would be like over there, but we didn't have any issue in our side room which faced out onto a small alleyway. Staff were kind and helpful. The room had a bonus hot tub, TV had English satellite channels, and the bed was comfortable as well. We also had a small fridge at our disposal, which came in handy for improvising in-room breakfasts. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Resaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Vieux Lyon - Quarantaine
College Hotel
College Hotel
#91 of 193 in Lyon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel des Celestins
#15 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Hotel des Artistes
#33 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Phenix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Phenix Hotel

Property: Le Phenix Hotel
Address: 7 quai de Bondy, 69005, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#38 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Phenix Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phenix Hotel is the only one in Lyon situated on the edges of the Saone, in the heart of the old Lyon, district classified in the world heritage by the Unesco. The Phenix Hotel opens the doors of its ancient house Renaissance on 36 rooms, with air conditioning and individual heating, bathrooms equipped with hairdryer and towel dryer, mini bar, safe, flat-screen TV, Canal + and Canalsat, free access to WIFI, telephone, room service, coffee-tea-cakes in the room, with rooms all renewed, of which 10 deluxe rooms with a privileged view on the Saone River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Phenix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Phenix Lyon
Hotel Le Phenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing