We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PLeasant surprise”
Review of Le Phenix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Phenix Hotel
Ranked #43 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“PLeasant surprise”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We were not sure what to expect as we booked the hotel on line. We were pleasantly surprised to find the hotel was in a great location; close to shopping, the sites, quaint resteraunts, transportation and the waterfront. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The staff were very helpful, pleasant and Could speak English.. We had free wii that worked great with my iPad and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GramsJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    199
    59
    14
    7
See reviews for
42
210
21
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed at the phenix for 4 nights. Our first night we found a BED BUG in our room. We were told the hotel was booked and we had to stay in our infested room for 1 more night and when a room opened up we would be able to move to another room. When agreed (having no other options). When we tried to change room the hotel manager refused. She very rudely said that the staff had cleaned our room and there was no reason to move rooms. This was unexceptable but she would not budge. She was very rude and definately took advantage us because we were American. We spent 2 weeks in France and stayed in 7 different hotels and this was by far the worst experience we had. She was extremely rude. The location of the hotel was nice but there are alot of other options in the neighborhood. I would definately recommend any other hotel. This place is dirty and BED BUG infested.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aja6950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phenix5, Responsable relations clients at Le Phenix Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Sir, this information is slanderous and unbearable: you remained in your Executive room all the stay, reserved by you on the web site, because we were not able to satisfy your immediate desire to be outclassed without valid ground in a big room Deluxe.
We do it well gladly when we can, and especially when the customer expresses it gracefully....
We leave the care to the public to linger rather over our numerous positive opinions(notices).
When reign the bad faith.....
S.BERNARD - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
808 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012 via mobile

We were upgraded so the room we had was much better than we expected. It was spacious with a bathtub with a spa! Location wise it was across the river and walking distance to everywhere. We were there for Bastille Day ceebrations and got a seat across from the BonParte Bridge where we had dinner and watched the fireworks. We walked back to the hotel afterwards.staff were friendly and. Helpful. Breakfast was included and was substantial. All in all faultless and suited our purposes

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eddie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

For everyone who needs to us the internet, forget about this hotel. It takes 5 min. to load a simple google street map on my laptop or iPhone or iPad. I needed to urgently send and receive files from my office, well no chance. This task would take an entire day. Only thing is, just as you're almost done, the connection will interrupt, so that you'll have to start from the top. I asked the front desk, but they'll just tell you that everything is normal and that I should check my computer. Grrrrr.

If you're in Lyon during the month of June and July, then you must go to see the performances at the Roman Theaters. The festival is called "Les Nuits de Fourvière"

Room Tip: In the summer, don't take room 402, as this is located just under the roof and therefore very ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiredancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We arrived atthis hotel after having completed a 14 day cycling trip. It was heaven. Spotlessly clean rooms and they were big rooms and big bathrooms. I had a room overlooking the river on the 4th floor. The windows opened and even though it was street side, I didnt find it too noisy

Staff ere friendly and helpful. It was possible to take public transport to get home. We came from Lyon airport by train although there was a 20 minute walk from the train station.

The location is good, lots of restaurants and snooping near by. Sunday markets across the road as is the embarkation point for the river boat cruise.

Wifi is free and works in the room which is great. Breakfast is expensive and we didnt have it. there is a bakery just around the corner

Initially we we worried because there appears to be nightclubs in the same block but even though we were he on Bastille day, they weren't open of,if they were, I didn't hear anything.

I would thoroughlyf recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river had a nice outlook and opening windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebHnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

A perfectly nice hotel in a great location for sightseeing - right on the Saone River in the Old Town, a short walk from everything in both Vieux Lyon and the Presque'ile section (where the better restaurants are). The room, while small, was clean and adequately furnished. The bathroom was recently renovated with good toiletries. The lobby was charming and had a bar that was open most of the day where one could get snacks. Normally, given the reasonable price, I would give it a "4" rating, but it gets only a "3" for 3 missteps. (1) The breakfast is very plain, considering they charge 13 euros; (2) the windows in our room faced an alley and were not soundproofed, so each morning we were awakened at 5 a.m. by the sound of people putting out trash cans; and (3), most unforgivably, the desk forgot to give us a scheduled wake-up call one morning, resulting in a one-hour delay in our day. Luckily, we were not catching a train or plane that day.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BronxSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed here recently for 2 nights as the starting point for a group wine trip. We found the hotel accomodations to be quite adequate and surprisingly quiet at night. It is convenient to walk to the old parts of Lyon. The hotel staff was variable as other reviewers noted. Some were extremely helpful and others could not communicate at all in English. The breakfast buffet was very nice.

Having traveled extensively in Europe over the years, I would say this is a fairly typical local hotel. If location to the local sites and shopping is important to you then I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljtraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Vieux Lyon - Quarantaine
College Hotel
College Hotel
#91 of 194 in Lyon
437 reviews
Hotel des Celestins
#14 of 194 in Lyon
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Hotel des Artistes
#32 of 194 in Lyon
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Phenix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Phenix Hotel

Property: Le Phenix Hotel
Address: 7 quai de Bondy, 69005, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#38 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Phenix Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phenix Hotel is the only one in Lyon situated on the edges of the Saone, in the heart of the old Lyon, district classified in the world heritage by the Unesco. The Phenix Hotel opens the doors of its ancient house Renaissance on 36 rooms, with air conditioning and individual heating, bathrooms equipped with hairdryer and towel dryer, mini bar, safe, flat-screen TV, Canal + and Canalsat, free access to WIFI, telephone, room service, coffee-tea-cakes in the room, with rooms all renewed, of which 10 deluxe rooms with a privileged view on the Saone River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Le Phenix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Phenix Lyon
Hotel Le Phenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing