We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Phenix Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$294
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveller rating
151
227
64
16
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
227
64
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverold cityvaporetto stopwhirlpool bathunesco world heritagegreat base for exploringupdated roomsdidn t workperfect locationtwo sinksroom was largesouthern francesmall windowhotel is locatedeasy walking distancecomfortable bedstayed for nights
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 466 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This was a lovely little hotel tucked away in a great location in Lyon! The square in the street behind the hotel was like stepping back in time to a bohemian French village! I loved the cafe's the street performers and the locals!

The hotel is clean and comfortable and does a nice little breakfast. Great value for money with this hotel and one I will consider again when next in Lyon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We spent 2 nights here and were surprised how quiet it was at night. It is set on a fairly busy road but our room facing away from the road was very quiet. 209 it was a strange space with a sitting room and bathroom on the lower level and a bedroom up some stairs. 2 TV and all the usual features.
The staff on reception were smiling and helpful dealing with a small bathroom sink problem quickly and efficiently.
We booked the hotel partly because it offered parking but this is limited and needs to be booked way in advance to secure a place. We parked in a nearby carpark - around €50 for 24 hours!
It is well located a short walk from the old town of Lyon.

Room Tip: book early for a car park space.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southernhawker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed in a triple room on the first floor, and although it could have been loud as the traffic on the quay below is quite heavy, you could not hear a thing through the thick windows. The room was spacious, the ceiling really high. The bathroom was completely renovated with the most amazing jakuzzi bathtub. The breakfast was the best hotel breakfast I had ever had both in quality and quantity: everything from fresh fruit to fresh pancakes, from decent yoghurt and cheeses to cold cuts, cereals etc: you name it, they had it. People at the reception were very kind and helpful no matter how many silly questions you asked. Great location right by the river at the edge of the Old Town. If you come by car, don't forget to reserve parking beforehand as the hotel has only a limited number of parking spaces available.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrisztiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phenix5, Responsable relations clients at Le Phenix Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013
Google Translation

Cher client,

Toute l'équipe du Phénix Hôtel est sensible à votre avis, nous vous en remercions.

Au plaisir de vous recevoir de nouveau dans notre belle maison,

A très bientôt

S.BERNARD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

After reading some of the other reviews, I was unsure as to what we were coming to. However, after coming from Paris, Le Phenix was a welcome, lovely hotel, which has been recently renovated.

The hotel is located in the old part of Lyon town, a short walk from many charming little pubs, clubs and restaurants. Couldn't have asked for more in terms of location, also being very close to train stations and a short and safe (10 mins) walk from Bellacour Square along the river.

The staff were pleasant, and spoke reasonable English to be able to understand each other. The staff were quite helpful too when we asked to use their printer for our boarding passes for the next leg of our trip.

The room was fantastic and spacious, overlooking the Saone River. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was spotless.

I was a bit concerned reading other posts about the noise, but the double glazing made a massive difference and we heard nothing from the street.

The breakfast had a good variety of pastries, fruit, cold meats, cheese and cereal. The breakfast hall was inviting and pleasant to be in.

We also purchased the Lyon card which was well worth the money, including most attractions and public transport to get around.

We will return to Lyon and would definitely stay at Le Phenix again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phenix5, Responsable relations clients at Le Phenix Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you so much for this good advice, we hope to welcome you again in our beautiful hotel.

Regards.

S.BERNARD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed here for four nights in May. This hotel was picked for us by our travel agent. It was very clean, breakfast was fine, a wide selection of pastries and fruit, cereal etc. Bed and pillows were ok. Staff were friendly and helpful and it is well positioned close to the old city and cafes etc, and has free wifi. Now for the bad stuff, very cramped room compared the rest of our accommodation in France with no outlook and our room was next to a lane way which was used as a shortcut for lots of traffic and this made it very noisy. With the windows shut (they weren't double glazed) it was still noisy. Also it was quite warm for our stay and our air conditioner didn't appear to work so it was quite stuffy. I think it was overpriced for the room we were given and would'nt stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coorie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phenix5, Responsable relations clients at Le Phenix Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013
Google Translation

Chers clients,

Le bruit dans l'hôtel reste ponctuel (menus travaux très rarement), et les chambres sur rue ont le quadruple vitrage : si vous revenez nous voir, et ce sera avec plaisir, appelez-nous en direct et spécifiez que vous souhaitez une chambre sur Saône avec ce vitrage spécial, elles sont vraiment très calmes. Mais nos chambres sur cour sont calmes également, et très fraîches !

Concernant la climatisation, elle est en fonctionnement depuis début juin.

En espérant vous recevoir de nouveau dans notre belle maison,

Nous restons à votre disposition, salutations.

S.BERNARD - Responsable Hébergement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews