We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room with River view”
Review of Le Phenix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Phenix Hotel
Ranked #35 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hotel is situated right on the Saone River in the old part of town. We stayed in room 203. Which is an executive room. We walked in the old town. We were near the boat ride along the rivers. Breakfast was great.

Room Tip: 203 room overlooking River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amieduvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phenix5, Responsable commercial at Le Phenix Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you very much for your good advice,

Hope to see you again in our hotel,

Best regards.

S.BERNARD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

Located on the La Saone River very close to Vieux Lyon (Old Lyon). Be sure to request a room with a view of the water front! We were lucky enough to see a couple of cruise ships go by in the early evening. The staff is excellent and the hotel is perfectly located for shopping and dinning.

Room Tip: Get a room with a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vagabond_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phenix5, Responsable commercial at Le Phenix Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for this good advice,

Hope to see you soon in our hotel,

Best regards.

S.BERNARD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed three nights at the Le Phenix and found it very nice and extremely well located right on the river and a block from the restaurants and shops of the old town. Our room was small but comfortable, and the bathroom was very nice with Jacuzzi tub. The staff were helpful and friendly and the breakfast good. We really enjoyed Lyon, in large part due to the Le Phenix and its great locagtion.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank byrdrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phenix5, Responsable commercial at Le Phenix Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this advice, it is a real good way to begin the week for us !

We hope to welcome you again in LE PHENIX HOTEL.

Best regards,

S.BERNARD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The reception staff at Le Phenix was extremely helpful in finding my wallet which got lost in a taxi and arranging to send it back to me. This kind of service is priceless! The hotel was pleasant, comfortable, and very well located. I will be forever grateful to the staff for all the trouble they took to return my wallet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank relieved-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phenix5, Responsable commercial at Le Phenix Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour,

Nous vous remercions pour votre reconnaissance, mais nous avons simplement fait notre travail, il était normal de tout faire pour vous réattribuer votre bien.

Nous espérons vous revoir très vite au Phénix Hôtel,

Meilleures salutations.

S.BERNARD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed in Le Phenix the first week of October for 4 days. We booked a room with full size bed and the rate included breakfast. I would highly recommend paying the rate with breakfast, it is excellent and is much cheaper than going to a cafe.

Our room is on the 4th floor (403) it is very small. it has a small window that looked out to top of St. Paul. I would say the room is no bigger than 15ftx30ft including bathroom. The bathroom is newly remodeled. The carpet in the bedroom is aged. My husband is 6ft and he duck his head in the shower as the ceiling in the shower is only 5ft6in tall.

The property is pretty quiet. We didn't hear our neighbors.

The bed is average. comfortable.

Staffs are nice and helpful.

the location of this hotel is on the north edge of the old city of Lyon. Very short walk to the square and St. Jean. and to the Furniculaire that takes you to either the Roman Ruin or Fouveriere.

Overall, it is a good place to spend a shot trip in Lyon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vino_Pair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phenix5, Responsable commercial at Le Phenix Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear sir,

Thank you very much for this good advice,

We hope to welcome you again in the Phenix Hotel,

Best regards.

S.BERNARD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed here as part of a big group, spending several thousand euros. My wife takes a special pillow because of her bad neck, it's bigger and different to the hotel pillows. The cleaning staff took the soft linen pillowcase off it (again, this looked nothing like a hotel pillowcase) and sent it to the laundry, never to be seen again. Then they rammed the big pillow into a much smaller and rougher hotel pillowcase!
I asked the hotel to pay for a new pillowcase which cost us 22 Euros, which despite the vast sums our group spent, they refused to do. This appears to be very mean

Room Tip: River facing rooms are better but you may have late night revellers on some nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gromlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phenix5, Responsable commercial at Le Phenix Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Sir,

We understand your complaint, but we inform you to advise the receptionist of the hotel when you install your own laundry or pillowcase on the bed : the cleaning woman cannot guess it is yours...and all the linen of bed is sent in a industrial pressing everyday (it manages with an industrial quantity of linen).
The next time it should be better for you do that, especially if your pillowcase is white as our pillow cases...it is not possible for the pressing to find it !

I hope you understand that, and I do not discourage to see you again in the hotel,

Regards.

S.BERNARD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We were booked into this hotel by Voyages Jules Verne as a two-day post script to our cruise up and down the Rhone. It was a good choice. Although our room didn't have a view, it was beautifully appointed, with a spacious bathroom including a spa bath. And it was perfectly, perfectly quiet, despite being next door to a couple of nightclubs. The staff were delightfully helpful - they deserve their tip, which you leave in a charming (or naff) little box - make sure you use it so you can judge for yourself. The hotel faces the Saone and is close to the Old City, with most of the attractions within easy walking distance.

It speaks volumes for the excellence of the place that the only gripe I had was with the horrible cheap disposable cups in the room - but then, how many European hotels have tea and coffee making facilities?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judith_cutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phenix5, Responsable commercial at Le Phenix Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Hello,

Dear guest, thank you very much for this good advice, a real pleasure to welcome you in Le Phenix Hotel.

Hope to see you again,

Best regards.

S.BERNARD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Hotel des Celestins
#12 of 194 in Lyon
1,026 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Phenix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Phenix Hotel

Address: 7 quai de Bondy, 69005, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#38 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £88 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Phenix Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phenix Hotel is the only one in Lyon situated on the edges of the Saone, in the heart of the old Lyon, district classified in the world heritage by the Unesco. The Phenix Hotel opens the doors of its ancient house Renaissance on 36 rooms, with air conditioning and individual heating, bathrooms equipped with hairdryer and towel dryer, mini bar, safe, flat-screen TV, Canal + and Canalsat, free access to WIFI, telephone, room service, coffee-tea-cakes in the room, with rooms all renewed, of which 10 deluxe rooms with a privileged view on the Saone River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Splitty, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Phenix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Phenix Lyon
Hotel Le Phenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing