We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location But Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Phenix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Phenix Hotel
Ranked #50 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Location But Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Hotel Le Phenix rooms need updating such as a new paint or new wallpaper. However having said this, the lighting, windows as well as bathroom had been previously redone. The room was large but not the best in comfort. We were pleasantly surprised to discover how quiet our room was. It faced the main street overlooking the river Saone. It has been retrofitted with dual pane windows. Lulu, one of the front desk personnel, was very professional, helpful and friendly. She did not hesitate to anwer our questions or find the answer if she did not know. I particularly enjoyed the 2nd floor sitting area. It was quiet and a good place to relax and read. The hotel also offered the use of a computer. Breakfast was included and consisted of the typical European fare. We had reserved a parking space; however upon arrival the only car space for use when checking in was occupied by a service truck. The hotel was in a good location but on the side of the river that appeared somewhat dirty. It was within walking distance to the Tourist Office and several "college" type restaurants and pubs.

Room Tip: One facing the river Saone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 142Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phenix5, Responsable réception at Le Phenix Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your good advice, We hope to welcome you again in Le Phénix Hôtel, in Deluxe Room !

Have a good day !

With best regards.

Lulu HUANG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    192
    57
    14
    7
See reviews for
39
203
21
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

The hotel was centrally located. You have the old part of town at the back, and the city centre in front. There were so many choices of bouchons to go to for meals, but the hotel also offered buffet breakfast for 13€. The hotel is admittedly old, but it was clean. Our room, facing the river Soane, was huge and equipped with amenities, including free wifi. The only downside was that it can be a bit noisy at night if you left the windows open. The staff was always friendly and helpful. Nicholas & Julian spoke very good English----their hospitality faultless! You can also request for parking at 16€ per day. There's probably no other hotel I'd rather be in Lyon but the Le Phenix Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 203 was facing the river, but may be noisy if you leave the windows open at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treasures514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phenix5, Responsable réception at Le Phenix Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Madam/sir,

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay here.

We hope to welcome you soon,

Best regards.

Lulu.HUANG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zofingen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel it is in a good position, the staff is friendly but that's all!
Room was stinki, humid and extremely warm... no windows... only toward the internal part of the hotel... overpriced for what you really get. Cheap breakfast.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank frago_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

In a great location, near the cobbled streets of the old town with its varied choice of traditional restaurants. Our room was quite small but had been newly decorated and furnished and very clean. You have to be under 5' 6" to fit the over bath shower. Pleasant staff and good continental brekkie. The shops in the centre were rubbish but if you go to the Confluence Centre there's better shops. Plus a good selection of restaurants and a lovely marina to sit by and enjoy a drink. Taxis and bars are very expensive.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 1EG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
214 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

For a reasonable price, a double in the old town doesn't come at much better a price. The downside, they only have 6 parking spaces so reserve early or risk having to walk a ways or subjecting your car to typical tight French parking, I.e. getting hit, which we did. However, as the title states, a good location, including a continental breakfast. Worth the 95 euros and the beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank All-reviews-for-free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phenix5, Responsable commercial at Le Phenix Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear sir,

Thank you very much for this advice,

We hope to see you again in our hotel if you come in Lyon.

Best regards,

S.BERNARD

LE PHENIX HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

The hotel was comfortable, the staff were friendly, the location was perfect and the breakfasts were good. We had an interior room, so we didn't hear any noise from the clubs that are on the river side. However, we were on the fourth floor of the building, which meant that we were under the roof. For the most part, this wasn't a problem, except that the ceiling of the shower was extremely low. Luckily, I am short enough that this posed only a slight inconvenience, whereas my husband had to really bend over so as not to hit his head. If you are tall, avoid the fourth floor rooms. Overall, a nice stay.

Room Tip: Avoid the fourth floor if you're tall (low shower ceiling).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youryevna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phenix5, Responsable relations clients at Le Phenix Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you very much for your congratulations.

We agree with you about this point : please do not hesitate to ask for a room on the third first levels, because the rooms on the last level are a little smallest by the roof.

We hope to see you again in Le Phénix Hôtel,

Best regards.

S.BERNARD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Phenix. Best bathroom (room 105) in all of France I'm sure!!!! Room was simple but comfortable, breakfast was substantial, and location ideal. Easy to walk to Vieux Lyon, Bellecourt, Croix Roissy, Place Terroux. Sunday morning artisan market outside the door and fabulous food market just across the foot bridge. We will stay there again and have recommended it.

Room Tip: Room 105 was an interior room and very quiet. Alas no view of the Saone but I got a great night'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank datscover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phenix5, Responsable commercial at Le Phenix Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Hello,

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay in the Old Lyon, and in our beautiful House.

We hope to see you soon in our hotel,

Best regards.

S.BERNARD

LE PHENIX HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Vieux Lyon - Quarantaine
College Hotel
College Hotel
#90 of 193 in Lyon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel des Celestins
#14 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Hotel des Artistes
#30 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Phenix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Phenix Hotel

Property: Le Phenix Hotel
Address: 7 quai de Bondy, 69005, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#38 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Phenix Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phenix Hotel is the only one in Lyon situated on the edges of the Saone, in the heart of the old Lyon, district classified in the world heritage by the Unesco. The Phenix Hotel opens the doors of its ancient house Renaissance on 36 rooms, with air conditioning and individual heating, bathrooms equipped with hairdryer and towel dryer, mini bar, safe, flat-screen TV, Canal + and Canalsat, free access to WIFI, telephone, room service, coffee-tea-cakes in the room, with rooms all renewed, of which 10 deluxe rooms with a privileged view on the Saone River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Phenix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Phenix Lyon
Hotel Le Phenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing