We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Phenix Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$114
US$110
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Vaubecour(Lyon)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$110
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Elysee Hotel(Lyon)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$232
US$191
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$255
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$131
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$73
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Le Roosevelt(Lyon)
US$121
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$239
US$171
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveller rating
147
224
64
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
224
64
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverold cityvaporetto stopwhirlpool bathunesco world heritagegreat base for exploringupdated roomsdidn t workperfect locationtwo sinksroom was largesouthern francesmall windowhotel is locatedeasy walking distancecomfortable bedstayed for nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 458 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2008

Nice little hotel on the fringe of Old Lyon, near zillions of restaurants. The room was so small that there was absolutely no drawers for unpacking, which was fine since we were only spending one night. The closet was about 8 hangers wide! Bathroom was very nice; view of the building next door not so great. We'd look around for another hotel next time.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveinDanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2008

We had booked to stay at The College Hotel but on arrival they had processed our reservation incorrectly and didn’t have a room for us. We were basically palmed off to the Phenix for the night and were told it was “a nice 3 star hotel facing the river with a duplex room”.

Our allocated room was indeed a duplex which basically means 2 inferior rooms rather than 1 inferior room. The room was located at the top of a winding staircase so beware if you are infirmed. Our view from the lower floor was of a wall. No idea what the view from the 2nd window was like as we are both average in height and couldn’t see out of it as it was positioned above the stairs leading to the bedroom!!

The layout of the lower floor was a sofa facing a desk with a TV on the wall and the bathroom. The bathroom was a hideous lobster colour and be warned if you are taller than 5ft 8 you are going to struggle to stand up for a shower!

The bedroom was like an attic room witha sloping roof, furnished simply with a double bed and 2 bedside tables. We stayed at the end of May 2008 and the room was very warm and stuffy; we were unable to open the window (contrast of being a bonus to be short for the shower you would need to be 7ft tall to open the window) – and the air conditioning was completely ineffective. Negotiating the stairs to use the bathroom in the dark also proved dicey (unless you wanted to wake your partner by putting the light on of course).

One positive was that the room had a safe and was clean.

After returning from breakfast at around 11.00 a.m. we couldn’t gain entry to the hotel as the main entrance was locked and no-one was manning the reception. We buzzed constantly for at least 5 minutes before a receptionist returned to the desk and let us in.

All in all we were not impressed and on the strength of our room would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank fromleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2008

Located on the edge of the Old Quarter in Lyon, the hotel area offers a mix of residential neighborhood and tourist district. Most major attractions can be reached on foot from the hotel which fronts on the river. The room was large, quiet and clean – with interesting architectural details. The building underwent a restoration that was designed to preserve the18th century ambiance and one of the interesting aspects of this hotel is the chance to discover 18th century architectural details in the rooms and common areas. The staff was very professional; however, a working knowledge of French is helpful when dealing with them.

Denver Mullican

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Denver_Mullican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2007

Our one night stay in Lyon was our most diappointing in our 3 week holiday. Le Phenix was shabby, amenities weren't working, our requested and confirmed king size bed did not materialise and the staff appeared to be disinterested. Website photos certainly misrepresented the room that we had. I won't be recommending it to anyone who asks.

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank BastionAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2007

Great Location, large rooms, friendly helpful staff. I would definitely stay here again. Unusual coloured bathroom suite ( Heinz cream of Tomato Soup red !)

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank garryj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews