We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, fair value hotel”
Review of Le Phenix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Phenix Hotel
Ranked #37 of 195 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2010

The inside looks better than the outside. The rooms are a good size, but a little out of date and in need of some refurbishment. All the physical attributes were of an acceptable standard. Well insulated.
Breakfast was good, but expensive (Euro16) ~ go around the corner for coffee and croissants at 25% of the cost. Front desk was friendly, but French speaking only.
The hotel is nicely located between the old town and the commercial/shopping district. All within walking distance, but it is also very well placed for all modes of public transport. Secure parking available, but you need to reserve.
On balance a fair value 3 star hotel. Nothing special but OK

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100nights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2009

We stayed here the last three nights of a three week trip to France. We were tucked awayunder the eaves in a room that fronted the river. It was charmingly decorated, clean and the bathroom also provided a view of the river, all beit a low angle...

The windows were set low, there was a skylight to open for air and the windows also opened, but be warned, this allows the mosquitoes to nibble all night. Screens might have been a good plan. I've never had a problem with so many mosquitoes in France.
Our room, at the end of a winding hall, was on the top floor, and there is a lift to get to the floor. It would be nice to have had some kind of help with bags to the room, as the halls are narrow on this floor and we struggled. This would not be suitable to people with mobility problems.

It's a good location and affords easy access to most of Old Lyon. We found many nice restaurants nearby. The breakfast was pretty unremarkable. Every morning we entered we had to wait for juice and basics to be replaced on the table.

The desk people were nice and helpful. Our last day found the public transport on strike and we had to get to the airport. They provided for a taxi ahead of time, but did not communicate this well to the day help, who told us it would be impossible to get to the airport. Not so...they had called the night before and our taxi showed up right on time.

The desk, women, (in our case) were often busy on the phone...paitence is the best key to staying at the Phenix.

We enjoyed the architecture, the view , the location and would recommend it, but we liked our room and its quirky location under the eaves.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueHWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Arrived in Lyon with no hotel reservations and could only find this place. It seemed ok for a night but instead was a nightmare. No AC, no air flow. Each of us had bug bites on our legs and arms the next morning.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boulder_Tara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2008

We are just back from a business trip to Lyon where we spent three nights at the Phenix. The hotel is reasonably well located; that is about the most positive thing I can say. My estimation is that it was redecorated in the 70 and cries out for a revamp. It all looks tired and the rooms are the most inspiring I have seen in a long time. Very, very mediocre and not cheap for what they offer. Breakfast is entirely uneventful and staff range from extremely nice to pretty awful. A very unfriendly and totally inefficient lady at the front desk in the morning of 25/11 made us to miss our first meeting in the morning after refusing to book a taxi in advance and claiming that there will be no problems to get one on the spot. As one can imagine when a big EU meeting is being hold in town, we had to wait for 50 min for a cab to turn up.
I would only use this hotel if on business on a budget. Under no circumstance bring anyone here with romantic intentions; it will be the end of the affair!!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank HannahLondres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2008

Nice little hotel on the fringe of Old Lyon, near zillions of restaurants. The room was so small that there was absolutely no drawers for unpacking, which was fine since we were only spending one night. The closet was about 8 hangers wide! Bathroom was very nice; view of the building next door not so great. We'd look around for another hotel next time.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveinDanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2008

We had booked to stay at The College Hotel but on arrival they had processed our reservation incorrectly and didn’t have a room for us. We were basically palmed off to the Phenix for the night and were told it was “a nice 3 star hotel facing the river with a duplex room”.

Our allocated room was indeed a duplex which basically means 2 inferior rooms rather than 1 inferior room. The room was located at the top of a winding staircase so beware if you are infirmed. Our view from the lower floor was of a wall. No idea what the view from the 2nd window was like as we are both average in height and couldn’t see out of it as it was positioned above the stairs leading to the bedroom!!

The layout of the lower floor was a sofa facing a desk with a TV on the wall and the bathroom. The bathroom was a hideous lobster colour and be warned if you are taller than 5ft 8 you are going to struggle to stand up for a shower!

The bedroom was like an attic room witha sloping roof, furnished simply with a double bed and 2 bedside tables. We stayed at the end of May 2008 and the room was very warm and stuffy; we were unable to open the window (contrast of being a bonus to be short for the shower you would need to be 7ft tall to open the window) – and the air conditioning was completely ineffective. Negotiating the stairs to use the bathroom in the dark also proved dicey (unless you wanted to wake your partner by putting the light on of course).

One positive was that the room had a safe and was clean.

After returning from breakfast at around 11.00 a.m. we couldn’t gain entry to the hotel as the main entrance was locked and no-one was manning the reception. We buzzed constantly for at least 5 minutes before a receptionist returned to the desk and let us in.

All in all we were not impressed and on the strength of our room would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank fromleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2008

Located on the edge of the Old Quarter in Lyon, the hotel area offers a mix of residential neighborhood and tourist district. Most major attractions can be reached on foot from the hotel which fronts on the river. The room was large, quiet and clean – with interesting architectural details. The building underwent a restoration that was designed to preserve the18th century ambiance and one of the interesting aspects of this hotel is the chance to discover 18th century architectural details in the rooms and common areas. The staff was very professional; however, a working knowledge of French is helpful when dealing with them.

Denver Mullican

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Denver_Mullican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Hotel des Artistes
#25 of 195 in Lyon
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Hotel des Celestins
#14 of 195 in Lyon
1,053 reviews
Hotel Lyon Metropole
#19 of 195 in Lyon
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Phenix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Phenix Hotel

Address: 7 quai de Bondy, 69005, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#38 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £73 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Phenix Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phenix Hotel is the only one in Lyon situated on the edges of the Saone, in the heart of the old Lyon, district classified in the world heritage by the Unesco. The Phenix Hotel opens the doors of its ancient house Renaissance on 36 rooms, with air conditioning and individual heating, bathrooms equipped with hairdryer and towel dryer, mini bar, safe, flat-screen TV, Canal + and Canalsat, free access to WIFI, telephone, room service, coffee-tea-cakes in the room, with rooms all renewed, of which 10 deluxe rooms with a privileged view on the Saone River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Phenix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Phenix Lyon
Hotel Le Phenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing