We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place and a very good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Warwick Reine Astrid - Lyon
Ranked #48 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Charbonnieres-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
210 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very nice place and a very good value”
Reviewed 13 December 2012

The place is very nice, close to the beautiful "Tete d'or" park, not far away from hi-speed train statiion, comfortable, quiet, a lot of space in rooms with a top-class service
Plus the value is very good : for the same price, you may have an "average" hotel with absolutly no comparison

Room Tip: View on the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quintnico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliAfshar, Directeur général at Warwick Reine Astrid - Lyon, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comment on tripadvisor. We are glad to know that you have appreciated your stay at the Warwick Reine Astrid, especially the size of the rooms, the services level, the location and also the average rate proposed. As you’re located in Lyon’s area, I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in order for you to discover our Lounge Bar restaurant with its new terrace.
Best regards,
Ali Afshar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    261
    84
    24
    21
See reviews for
229
149
18
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
250 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012 via mobile

This is not a four star property in my book. The rooms are tired and smelt of mildew/old although they are very large. The shower was very pokey. It has a swinging glass door and the tap/showerhead are on the side of the bath meaning that there was very little room to stand and shower. This was despite having more than enough room in the bathroom itself. Wifi was an additional cost 14.50€ per day (which I find ridiculous... It should be included). Car parking was also an additional cost, parking space was very tight. Breakfast was ok although not worth the extra €20 each. Overall, a expensive option for an old hotel.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Retired_at_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliAfshar, Directeur général at Warwick Reine Astrid - Lyon, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Dear Guest,
Your feedback is important to us in order to maintain and improve our level of service and standards. I read your remarks with great attention and I sincerely regret that we have not been able to meet your expectations.
Please be sure that the satisfaction of our guests is our main preoccupation and we hope you will give us the opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to excellent service in the future and should you need any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Yours sincerely,
Ali AFSHAR – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I was visiting family in Lyon with my partner and my mother, trying to find a hotel where we could all stay together in the same room (not the same bedroom) at a good price seemed tricky. We stayed in a junior suite (1 bedroom, bathroom, seperate toilet, seperate kitchen and finally dining area/lounge with a sofa bed) which was more than big enough for 3 and the facilities were excellent. This hotel provides the benefits of an apartment and a hotel which was absolutely perfect for us.

The only downside if you were visiting to sample night life is that it is a bit of a walk however Lyon is not that big so it shouldn't be too much of an issue!

I would highly recommend this fabulous hotel and my mother has already booked to go back again taking some very picky relatives with her!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewersocki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliAfshar, Directeur général at Warwick Reine Astrid - Lyon, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Warwick Reine Astrid. I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and mainly the layout of our suites wich is very convenient for family stay. I’ve noted your comments regarding the night life in Lyon and our location. For information, the Warwick Reine Astrid is only at 10 mn by walk from Brotteaux district ( wich is one of the main area very trendy also in the evening). I’m sure that my colleagues at the reception desk will be pleased to give you the main addresses in order to discover our beautiful city in the evening. Please feel free to ask them for more information.
It will a pleasure to welcome again your mother in the coming months,
Ali AFSHAR- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I have stayed at the Warwick Reine Astrid several times; our most recent was at a family (dog included) in one of the large suites (2 bedroom, 2 bath); what I like about the place is the fact that all rooms have a small kitchen area that makes it really convenient esp if you are staying over a week and don't want to eat out all the time. Which was great for me since my previous visits were for business trips and you get tired of eating by yourself all the time. The staff is always willing to help and always remember frequent visitors. They were accommodating to our kids (6&9) and overall we had a great stay. The food is excellent if you do eat there - room service and in the restaurant. They also have underground parking which is very convenient. It's a nice neighborhood, very close to Parc Tete d'or and a 10 minute walk to the metro which is on LIne A; you can take it right into the city center where the action is. I don't have any negatives except like most hotels I've stayed at in Europe, I wish they would get more comfortable beds. All in all, I'd go back and recommend it to friends. In fact I just did recommend it this week!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliAfshar, Directeur général at Warwick Reine Astrid - Lyon, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Dear Laru,

I’m delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. I thank you for sharing your remarks with tripadvisor members. I’m glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and mainly the layout of our suite, the services of our Lounge restaurant and our helpfully and friendly staff . Be sure that your comments have been shared with all my team.

Thank you again for your nice comments and your loyalty towards the Warwick Reine Astrid.

Hoping to have the pleasure to welcome you back for your next stay in Lyon.

Ali AFSHAR – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I wasn't prepared for the size of the suite we had at this hotel... there were 3 of us sharing it.

The lounge/diner area fronted the Boulevard des Belges and with the electric shutters closed at night traffic noise was not a problem for the user of the sofa bed.

The kitchen area was well equipped and had a large fridge freezer. The hallway contained more cupboards than I have in my house... there is masses of storage! We did not find a room safe.

The bathroom had a sink, bath with shower over and a bidet. Hot water was slow to come through, but not impossibly so. The shower was not powered, but had a good strong flow. There is a separate toilet with a sink, which is handy in a suite of this size.

The main bedroom faced the rear. The bed was a little soft for my taste, but still comfortable. In the howling gale outside, the shutter in this room rattled loudly, so we opened it and used the curtains instead!

The staff were friendly and helpful. We only ate breakfast here. It was very good, but at €20 a head it was expensive. If I were staying here longer than a night or two, I'd use the suite's kitchen to sort out my own breakfast!

WiFi is available, but not free. While this is not uncommon in hotels of this standard, I always feel this is disappointing... smaller, cheaper hotels invariably have free WiFi.

We chose to walk to Foch station on the Metro to get into town; it takes about 10 minutes. The weather wasn't conducive to hanging around for the bus!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itsmeagain2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliAfshar, Directeur général at Warwick Reine Astrid - Lyon, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Warwick Reine Astrid for your recent stay in Lyon and for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor’s travellers.

I’m glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and mainly the layout and the size of our suite. Thank you also for taking the time to make mention of the friendliness of our staff and be sure that your nice comment has been shared with the team. For your next stay with us, do not hesitate to book one of our packages including buffet breakfast & Wireless Internet access. Please visit our website to have a better idea of our different offers.

All staff members look forward to welcoming you back to the Warwick Reine Astrid for your next stay in Lyon..

Ali AFSHAR- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

The Warwick Reine Astrid is a superb property. Like me, it is older and shows signs of age. But rooms are suites, and each suite has several rooms. I loved the storage options - a full closet and much storage space in the bath room. The location is in the Sixth Department, meaning there is a slight walk to the First Department and the typical tourist sights, But it is opposite the Parc de la Tete d'Or, which offers acres of quiet walking paths as well as access to the Lyon zoo and botanical gardens. The hotel is quiet, secure, and an easy walk along Boulevard des Belges from Gare de la Part-Dieu, where the terminus of the train from the airport and the high speed train station.
I recommend it as an excellent option, especially for those on business with INTERPOL (its Headquarters is nearby) or those wishing to avoid the congestion of the city center.

Room Tip: Rooms along the Boulevard des Belges offer a wonderful view of the local area, with their large mans...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliAfshar, Directeur général at Warwick Reine Astrid - Lyon, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear “Benjamin G”,
I’m delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay at the Warwick Reine Astrid. I thank you for sharing your remarks with tripadvisor members about the size and layout of our suites, our location just in front of the beautiful Tête d’Or park (only at less 10 mn by bus ( C1) from the main train station Part Dieu) and at 10 mn by walk from Interpol’s headquarter

All staff members look forward to welcoming you back to the Warwick Reine Astrid for your next stay in Lyon.

Ali AFSHAR
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I spent 5 nights at the Reine Astrid recently in an executive suite. Check-in and check-out were great, staff were friendly, efficient, helpful and informative. The room was HUGE, with a big entry room, living room, dining area, kitchen, bedroom, 2 bathrooms and the most storage space I have ever seen in a hotel room. The bed was king size and super comfy, though some people may find it a little too soft. The windows all had those electronic blinds which were great at keeping out the light. We found a little street noise when your sitting in the living room, but the bedroom was super quiet. The bathrooms were a little odd, one room had a toilet and a pedastal sink, the other had a regular sink, bidet and a bathtub/shower. The shower wasn't the best. In the mornings it took FOREVER to heat up, i found i had to turn on the water as soon as i got out of bed and 10-15 later it was finally hot. Also, the shower is on the side of the tub, not the end. The tub had one of those half glass doors which the shower head faced, so there was alot of water leakage when you showered. Also, i imagine it would be a very tight squeeze for a larger person. I am 7 months pregnant and i barely had enough space, my belly was probably 2 inches from the glass door when standing under the shower. The neighbourhood is pretty good, the C1 stops right out front, it was either 2 or 3 stops to Part Dieu Train Station. The C5 stops just 5 minutes down the street, which takes you downtown. Tete D'Or park is also 5 minutes away, which is the nicest part of the whole city in my opinion. Plus Cite Internationale borders the park, which has several restaurants and cafe's. There is a small grocery store around the corner where you can buy some supplies, but we found that there were no cafes or restauarants in the immediate neighbourhood. Closest would probably be Cite Internationale, which is about 15 minutes away.

All in all, I would highly recommend it, especially for anyone going to INTERPOL on business, which is about a 10 minute walk away.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybug269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliAfshar, Directeur général at Warwick Reine Astrid - Lyon, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Warwick Reine Astrid for your recent stay in Lyon and for sharing your experience with us.

I’m glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and mainly the layout and the size of our suite ( from 35 m² to 90 m²). Thank you also for taking the time to make mention of the friendliness of our staff and be sure that your nice comment has been shared with the team. We have noted your remarks about the bathroom. It seems that you had a technical problem and we are very sorry for the convenience caused. Your comments regarding the tub position has been also taken in consideration.

For information , the Warwick Reine Astrid is also very close to the “Brotteaux” area (10 mn walk away) wich is very attractive with a large selection of restaurant.

It would be an honour to have you back with us at the Warwick Reine Astrid.

Ali AFSHAR- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale
0.8 mi away
Residences Temporim Lyon Cite Internationale
0.7 mi away
Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lagrange City Apart'Hotel Lyon Lumiere
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel des Terreaux
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tete d'or
Hotel Tete d'or
#34 of 193 in Lyon
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Reine Astrid - Lyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Reine Astrid - Lyon

Property: Warwick Reine Astrid - Lyon
Address: 24 Boulevard des Belges, 69006, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Lyon
#15 Business Hotel in Lyon
#30 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick Reine Astrid - Lyon 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privilege of a suite between park and garden.The Warwick Reine Astrid - Lyon has a unique location opposite the Parc de la Tête d'Or andits lake, at the heart of the city'sfashionable 6th quarter anda few minutes from the Cité Internationale and Lyon Convention Centre.Open the door of one of the Warwick Reine Astrid's 88 suites and discover a true four star All Suites Residence and its luxury services. The 35 to 90m² suites have been fittedout with your comfort in mind and all havea living room, dining area and fittedkitchen. Whether you are on a business visit, family holiday or just away for the weekend, the Warwick Reine Astrid - Lyon is the ideal place for short and long stays. The Warwick Reine Astrid proposes a full range of luxury services to make your stay as pleasant as possible: room service, 24h business centre, Wi-Fi internet connection,fitness centre- with sauna, hammam and exercise machines - and private parking.The Lounge bar-restaurant offers a menu with creative and refined cuisine to seduce your appetite. You will enjoy the spacious calm of the large private garden, an ideal environment to enjoy our Chef's culinary creations for lunches or dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Warwick Reine Astrid - Lyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Reine Astrid Hotel Lyon
La Reine Astrid Hotel
La Reine Astrid Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing