We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Lyon Metropole
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$391
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mama Shelter Lyon(Lyon)
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotelo(Lyon)(Great Value!)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,199)
Filter reviews
1,199 results
Traveller rating
524
470
120
53
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
524
470
120
53
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstennis courtsoutdoor poolsports facilitiesthe riverjourney takesresort hotelamazing spafamily apartmentgreat facilitiesthe main hotelsteam roomgood sizesouth of franceold towncity centrewould stay againbed was comfortable
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 1,199 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We arrived here from a shoe box hotel in Paris and were very impressed.
Service at the front desk polite and very helpful. The hotel is clean and spacious and the spa facility is magic. Just what you need when traveling around.
The location on the banks of the river up stream from Lyon central is ideal as you are out of the city and have some wonderful walks and vistas up stream from the hotel.
Plenty of dining around the area. Great buffet breakfasts and very friendly helpful staff
Well done!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mquigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We booked this hotel via a website that states it only carries boutique or esclusive hotels. As we are on an extended stay in france, we thought it might be nice to treat ourselves to a nice 4 star resort for one night. The receptionist was lovely and very helpful. We opened thr door to our room to find that it had not been made up from the previous occupant. The room was in a terrible state, and it stank. As the cleaning service was just a few doors down and we are easygoing aussies, we figured we'd give them some time and come back later. We came back 3 hours later only to find that our room had still not been cleaned and now the entire floor seriously reeked of BO. I went to reception to request they sort it out, and manager kindly gave us another room. We moved our own bags to the new room and within 20 mins of being there a maid tried to let themselves into our room unannounced or knocking. We thought we might cheer ourselves up by going for a swim only to find there were no spare towels and only 1 robe (which everyone seems to wander around in). Still undeterred we went for a swim, which was fantastic, but we were a little put off by the couple getting a bit innappropriately heavy in the open spa area. As it was getting late we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant which is more like a morgue. Suggest not eatiing here unless you have your kids and need something easy without making the hike to town. My partner was served fish that was off. We're not saying it was anyones fault, but it was off. The waitor insisted that it was fresh that morning. My partner (an ex fish monger) chose not to eat it so they remade it or him, which he ate but not without feeling really guilty for speaking up. We were also charged full price for our meals. At €18 a head for breakfast we chose not to eat there. To be clear we NEVER complain about anything, and that was also the first time we've ever sent food back. This place just made us uncomfortable and we
were keen to leave so checked out early. Id like to think our experience was not typical, but i wouldnt be surprised if it was! On the upside, the pool and spa are wonderful.

Room Tip: Dont eat in the restaurant
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ticketdebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

I stayed for 4 nights at Hotel Metropole Lyon. The hotel amenities are of 4* level but the sports facility were excellent.

The hotel has olympic size swimming pool and tennis courts located at 2nd floor level. It has a popular spa (though I have not used it) but my fellow travellers were very happy after using it facilities.

The location of hotel is ideal for business trip or even getaway. It is located in front of the river and 15 mins away from the city center.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Professor07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

I don't know how the rating system works in France, but this hotel is definately not what we would understand as a 4 star hotel. The furnishing is stuck in the 70ies, the rooms small, the hotel amenities are as sparse as a Formule 1 (highway) motel, and the supposed sumptuous spa is a chlorine infused busy bath tub. With current construction work, we called ahead to check whether there would be noise, there wouldn't be we were assured as it was a weekend. Indeed, it was quiet but the hotel with the scaffolding was simply very unappealing and should better be closed during construction works. Rather invest in providing 4 star service and ammenities once it is done, instead of losing clients whilst working towards a real 4star hotel?
Our only compliments go out to the photographer and website designer who had real talent in making this hotel look beautiful and classy, two things it is certainly not.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
Thank Evelyn_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

My husband and I work in Paris and wanted a three day break from our busy schedules, so we decided to stay at the Lyon Metropole Hotel. Upon arrival, we noticed construction work on the facade of the building and were a bit annoyed. Once we entered the hotel, however, we were wonderfully welcomed by a charming receptionist, who told us that we had the great fortune of being placed next to the elevator with direct access to the pool. When we got to our room, we noticed that our wonderful "view" was temporarily blocked, and we were eye to eye with construction workers on our individual patio. Of course, the windows/door were locked to prevent us from going outside (for our safety). However, that meant that 1. We had to keep our curtains closed the entire trip and could never see the sun, or walk around half naked and 2. We could never air our the room if desired. That was just one horrible incident of the trip. Here are the others:

1. The decoration at this hotel isn't the greatest. They were pretty much stuck in the 60s or 70s (especially at the pool area), but that's not even the worst part. The plants at this 4 star hotel are plastic!!! I'm a sucker for design and plants, so this really got to me.

2. We had no coffee or tea machine in our room. The hotel is far from the center (by foot), so you're practically obliged to buy their $18 breakfast. We brought pain au lait and other snacks as well as bottled water, so we didn't have to buy breakfast at the hotel.

3. Maitre D at the restaurant totally ignored us, and catered to the older (and obviously well off) clientele, as well as the "regulars". As soon as they left, his smile left, and he hardly spoke to us. There was no "hello" "how was your meal" or "goodbye". Fortunately, the waiter made up for this and was hospitable.

4. Going back to the construction work, my hubby and I never got to sleep past 7:50 AM, when our whole goal was to sleep in and rest...So we spent our days walking around town, or by the pool...So very aggravating. We asked for another room, and were told that there was a company event taking place on the other side of the hotel, and that they'd be making noise all night long (the DJ), so it was best to stay where we were. I felt as if they should have at least offered us breakfast or some other gesture given the amount of money we were paying.

Now, for the good points, because, despite all of this, there are some.

1. They have a marvelous pool outside and inside, as well as heated sauna "trail" outside. We took advantage of this every day.

2. The food at the restaurant was wonderful.

3. The massages are great, although expensive for the length given. The ladies who work at the spa are wonderful, in particular Claire.

There you have it. I would never go back to this hotel...again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chanteusecrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relations-clients, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Lyon Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2010
Google Translation

Madame, Monsieur,

Actuellement nous sommes en cours de modernisation de notre produit afin de continuer à apporter toujours plus de satisfaction à nos clients.

Dès le début du mois de juillet, nous avons pris soin de modifier nos conditions générales de vente sur notre site internet afin d’avertir tous nos clients du début de ces travaux dans le souci d’une communication transparente.

Notre hôtel est atypique avec des chambres spacieuses et plait en général beaucoup à nos clients, car apprécié pour son calme et sa tranquillité.

Au cours de l’année 2011 nous envisageons de mettre en place dans toutes nos chambres un set d’accueil de boissons chaudes, avec café, thé et infusions.
Nous sommes néanmoins surpris de ce qui s’est passé au restaurant car sachez, que nous avons une culture d’entreprise essentiellement portée sur l’accueil de nos clients et notre personnel est formé dans ce but.

Nous vous remercions pour vos remarques positives et espérons vous recevoir à nouveau en vous prouvant qu’il ne peut s’agir que d’une erreur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews