We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“don't mind the décor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lyon Metropole
Ranked #17 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“don't mind the décor”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

The staff were very pleasant and efficient! The bed was very comfortable, and I slept in easily with such calm. The spa facilities were welcoming and the equipment quite modern. You must overlook the 80s-style lobby and instead see this as a wonderful place to relax and get pampered.

Room Tip: 'Plage' side is quieter. 'River' side is noisier, and the Rhône is muddy and stagna...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relations-clients, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Lyon Metropole, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear traveler,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel Lyon Metropole and for taking the time to leave a review.

We are very pleased to read that you liked your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards

Customer Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    371
    105
    45
    27
See reviews for
168
500
26
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We found this by accident and very glad we did. It was late at night, raining and the GPS couldn’t find our chosen hotel. But by chance we saw the huge sign atop the Metropole and headed for that for directions. The lady at the reception was very helpful and gave us the route to the hotel. But once there, it didn’t seem as inviting as the Metropole so we headed back. The lady gave us an excellent room with a large patio overlooking a huge swimming pool. Pity it was raining. The price was discounted and was excellent value for money. The room was neat, clean and comfortable and big enough for our luggage. We asked reception for some hints about a restaurant that night and received good advice, but we’d had enough driving so settled into the hotel restaurant. It became one of the best meals of out five-week tour of Italy (we were heading there from Paris). Really pleasant restaurant staff and an excellent meal. The breakfast was equally as impressive. We couldn’t have had a better hotel to stay at and it’s a shame it was only for one night. Thank you to the restaurant staff and the lady at reception.

Room Tip: Rooms with a patio overlooking the pool add space, light and a view to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilDPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2011

My experience at this hotel was ruined by the fact that i could not get a wifi connection in my room. I arrived in the evening and was guided by the staff who were extremely helpful in suggesting a suitable restaurant (beware of higher taxi fares after 10:30pm as a short trip home from dinner cost €13 vs. €8 on the way). I was also not able to get a connection in the morning in my room but i was able to use the business centre free of charge. One other point was that there was only one powerpoint in the room and i could not charge my phone and laptop at the same time. Staff were very helpful in the morning when taxis were few and far between, calling the taxi company regularly when requested to confirm one was still on the way.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawsonHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I stayed at the hotel for less than 24 hours but enjoyed the facilities immensely. The hydro pool was incredible, sufficiently heated to be used even though it was chilly. It had seven stations one more relaxing than the next. the waterfall was like having a personal massage of the head and shoulders. and the reclining station did a number on my tired legs that was sheer bliss. The hammam (wet steam) had multi colored pinpoint lighting that added a soothing touch to the steam, and the sauna was immaculately clean. There is an indoor pool (welcome on a cool night) with very comfy lounge chairs, besides the olympic size outdoor pool. There is outdoor seating near the bar or you can sit indoors in one of the many comfortable sitting areas.
Having said all that, My room was a bit austere. It had a large cabinet with a tv on top, A couch and a king size bed, and a desk with one chair, I froze during the night because I couldn't figure out the heating system and I was too tired too bother. The bathroom was okay the counter was worn out in spots. On the upside the robe and towels were thick and luxurious. In general the staff were very helpful and courteous. I would definitely return when I am in the area.

Room Tip: You have a choice of the pool or the water I had a water view and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhcostumes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relations-clients, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Lyon Metropole, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Dear traveller,

We want to thank you for your comments regarding our services. We are really pleased to read that your stay was very pleasant and that you enjoyed the experience of our 2500sqm facilities well-being.

We look very happy to welcome you back at the Hotel Lyon Metropole & Spa.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I always check trip reviews on hotels before i book and i usually find the negative feedback over exaggerated. However i wish i had listened to the feedback a little more on this hotel. I will tell you about my visit, which was planned for my birthday.

I chose this hotel because of the pool and the spa.

When we checked in on the 16th of September, i couldnt wait to use the pool. However when i went to go to the pool i was told it was CLOSED! There was no mention of this on the website, so i enquired at reception to be rudely told the pool was closed. I said it wasnt mentioned on the website and the male receptionist raised his voice and said ''impossible, impossible''!!!!! Its closed, and the website says so!........ I then asked if there was anywhere to sunbathe,as it was 28 degrees and i was just told....'' No! ''... Charming!

We went and had lunch..... for 44 euros we left still hungry and the food portions was tiny and mainly made up with salad garnish

We then checked into our Junior Suite. what a rip off!!!!!! Its bigger yes, but you pay an extra 40 euro for a sofa???? We were not even allowed to check out at 2pm which it says we could if we were in a suite because they were full. Not my problem. They shouldn't offer if they can not deliver.

When we looked out the window which looked more like a prison window, we saw a balcony below. I said i wanted to at least have a balcony so i could go outside, so my boyfriend went to check and see if we could move rooms. We would even pay for the upgrade.... We found out the room with the balcony (Which was huge!) was a Classique room at 40 euro cheaper! They switched the rooms for us and we had the smaller room with the huge balcony. Great!

We then went to the spa to use the spa's Hydro - pool. FANTASTIC! This is great and very relaxing. But doesnt look anything like it does in the pictures.

The steam room is lovely and so is the sauna. BUT you have to pay an extra 50 euros to use this facility.

I then went for a massage. If you want a treatment make sure you book well in advance as they were fully booked.

MY TIP..... DONT HAVE A MASSAGE!!!!!!!!! Firstly, it was a terrible massage. It felt like she was just rubbing oil into me. Thats it. no pressure, nothing. It stated it would be with aromatherapy oils...... Hmmmm. it was more like vegetable oil.

We had a dinner in the restaurant and WOW! Very expensive and the food wasnt even that good. DONT EAT AT THE RESTAURANTS!

Then they had over charged me for it!!!!! and because we had checked out already they said they couldnt do anything about it.

The breakfast was FANTASTIC!!!!! This was such a good meal. The breakfast was included in the price of the hotel but to be honest i would have paid for it as it was really nice.

Overall it was a disappointing stay. The staff in the spa apart from the girl who did my massage were lovely, but the staff in the hotel were rude, stuck up and acted like our being there was an inconvenience to them.

I wouldnt stay here again and i would advise others to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Dont have a suite. Ask for a classique room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relations-clients, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Lyon Metropole, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Ms. Natalie S

We want to thank you for taking the time to post your feelings about your stay at the Hotel Lyon Metropole & Spa.

We are very sorry to read that your stay was not up to your expectations, and we take note of all your comments.

The Olympic swimming pool is open from May 15 to September 15 of each year. Unfortunately, even if it's still beautiful on the following days, we can not deviate from this rule. Sorry you have not yet seen this information is noted everywhere.

It is true that your reservation has been made by a third party, you do not have to have all the elements, which have caused great misunderstanding.

Please note that under no circumstances, as you say we try to "scam" customers, we are a hotel renowned, respectable and respectful of our customers.

Mrs. Nathalie S, we remain at your disposal to discuss in person because we are very surprised of what you say. Indeed, when you left the hotel you told us to be happy to your stay.

Note that the reception desk is at the disposal of clients, they are able to help you, and here to ensure everyone's satisfaction.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOSCOW
Level Contributor
270 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed in this hotel 3 nights in May 2010.
Room was spacious, looked recently renovated. We had a view to a river. Bathroom was well equiped and comfortable. Breakfast was with a good selection of food - not so typical for France. The only point - the Hotel is a little bit far from the downtown, but it took just 5 min by taxi.
We also had a very nice dinner in a typical french style.
Very good Hotel, worth its money.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoscowPavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relations-clients, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Lyon Metropole, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Dear traveller,

We would like to thank you for your comments.

We are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, it's a real pleasure for us to know that you appreciate our facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the hotel Lyon Metropole and Spa.

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borough London
Level Contributor
202 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Hotel Lyon Metropole is a dominated by it's great 50 metre Olympic swimming pool and very well equipped spa including gym, sauna, hot tubs, indoor swimming pool and indoor and outside tennis courts.
The hotel itself is a little dated and could do with being modernised. The service in the hotel was good but, the staff were overwhelmed by the number of guests staying over an August weekend.
This hotel is very suitable for families with young children with the amazing pool as a centrepiece.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
8.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel & Spa de Chassieu
2.1 mi away
Fourviere Hotel
Fourviere Hotel
#18 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cour des Loges
Cour des Loges
#10 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale
1.8 mi away
Villa Florentine
Villa Florentine
#7 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lyon Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lyon Metropole

Property: Hotel Lyon Metropole
Address: 85 quai Joseph Gillet, 69004, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#13 Family Hotel in Lyon
#16 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lyon Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lyon Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Lyon
Lyon Metropole Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing