We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a nice relaxing stay in the outskirts of Lyon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lyon Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Lyon Metropole
Ranked #15 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a nice relaxing stay in the outskirts of Lyon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed there as a stopover during a trip across Europe.
We had visited the hotel website beforehand and saw the pool and spa facilities and wanted to make the most of it so we arrived early. and boy we were not disappointed.
The outdoor pool is great. Although, we stayed there on a Saturday during in august we were pleasantly surprised to see that the place was not too crowed.
The gym and the rest of the spa were also great.

the rooms were large and quiet and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast offered a large selection and was pleasant.

The whole hotel is a bit old-fashioned (very 80s!!) but nice and clean

the only down side was the restaurant which was overpriced for what it offered (the prawn tempura -€15, looked and tasted like your local chines takeaway)

I would recommend heading to the old town for a nice meal instead

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvie98421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations C, Directeur général at Hotel Lyon Metropole, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Sylvie,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are glad to see that the Hotel Lyon Metropole was a part of your Holidays and not just a Hotel on the road to get there!
I also well noted your comment regarding the Brasserie prices. Rest assure that we pay attention to remain within the average price for the same Hotel category. All our food is Homemaid by our Chef and all his Team to ensure fresh and seasonal products to our Guests.

We hope to be on your road for a next trip and why not be the final destination!

Best Regards,

Leslie Moreau - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    362
    102
    43
    27
See reviews for
162
486
26
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Wonderful place to spend a few days exploring Lyon.
We stayed here beginning of August and had a great stay. For a hotel in this price range it really stands out.
The main attraction will probably be the huge outside pool. Water temperature is nicely cool, so a swim stays nice and refreshing. Sun beds are abundant and (several) life guards are always present.

The gym is well equiped with up to date exercise machines.
We didn't use the spa facilities, so we can't comment on that, but we will definately try next visit.

The room was nice with a comfortable bed. Bathroom was also nice with a decent shower (although in the tub)

Breakfast buffet was also really good with lots of choices.

One negative point was the WiFi in the room. Connection was very bad and was disconnected time after time. The reception told us they had a temporary problem with WiFi, but to me it seemed like the coverage was just not good enough in some rooms. Also strange that there was no WiFi at the pool.

The location is not in walking distance from the city center, but this also has it's benefits, like plenty of (free) parking space and quiet at night.

All together we liked our stay very much and will certainly return next time we are in Lyon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations C, General Manager at Hotel Lyon Metropole, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice description of our installations and services. We feel very happy that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and hope to have the chance of welcoming you back for a future opportunity!

Best Regards,

Leslie Moreau
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with family for ten days in July 2014, we had one of the one bed suites in the new building, which has excellent facilities, including a free laundry room downstairs that the hotel's website at least the English version does not mention. Very important for long stays with children to have that facility. The kitchenette in the room is basic but has microwave and stove and some basic kitchen utensils, so one can avoid the hotel restaurant that is unfortunately the low point of the hotel. The kids menu is limited to two choices, neither of which passed the kids test on day one. Too many flies were flying around for comfort and the quality of the food was, even by English standards, rather low and certainly not worth the price. The hotel staff are, however, very helpful and friendly, especially those who work in the residence building. The pools are excellent, although the water temperature in the outside pool never exceeded 23 degrees even on very hot days, and the gym facilities good, we even managed to have a couple of tennis lessons with a very good professional coach.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank UkWorldtravellerplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations C, Manager at Hotel Lyon Metropole, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Sir,

I am glad that your long stay with us was up to your standard and that you felt a little bit like “home away from home” in our great Hotel. As discussed during your check-out, we effectively made the choice to limit our Menu offer in the restaurant in order to ensure fresh and homemade products. Our restaurant is today known for its great quality of fish and we usually have great comment.

I certainly took your advice to extend our Kids Menu choices and will discuss with the Chef on that opportunity.

We hope to get the chance of welcoming you and your lovely daughter very soon.

Kind regards,

Leslie Moreau
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have just spent five great days at the Hotel Lyon Metropole. The hotel has a spa, indoor pool, plus a huge outdoor swimming pool.

All of the services that I used (outdoor pool, indoor pool, massage, room service, etc), were of a very high standard. The rooms are a good size, with a great view.

A lot of hotels have great facilities, what makes the Metropole stand out is the professionalism of their staff. Being a South African that does not speak a word of French, I found the staff very accommodating and willing to help.

Thank-you to Benoit and his colleagues for a really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvanJenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations C, Gérant at Hotel Lyon Metropole, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
I’ve shared your comment with all of our team.
Our aim is to provide you a service going above your expectation!

We hope having the pleasure to see you again.

Kind regards.

Leslie Moreau
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

When travelling in Europe, space often comes at a premium, at the Hotel Lyon Metropole we had both space and ample amenities. Overlooking one of the biggest pools I have seen in a long time, our room took in some great views of the hills of Lyon. Well positioned and on the river, this makes for a great hotel when on business in Lyon. The Spa and wellness centre provided a great venue for my wife to spend time while I was held up in meetings. The furnishings are reasonably basic but very functional and spacious. Had dinner in the restaurant and the quality of food was great although a bit pricey and service could be improved somewhat. I can recommend this as a solid establishment that will certainly meet your needs while on business in Lyon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations C, Gérant at Hotel Lyon Metropole, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Google Translation
Cher Monsieur,

Je suis heureuse de lire que vous avez globalement apprécié notre hôtel. Sachez que vos diverses remarques ont été prises en compte et partagées avec l’ensemble de nos équipes.

J’espère que nous aurons le plaisir de vous revoir très bientôt.

Cordialement.

Leslie Moreau
Directrice de l’Hôtel Lyon Métropole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I loved this place, our room had a great view which was nice and the food was pretty good too, but this place is all about the pool!

Me and my BF stayed here on our way to Marseilles and it was fantastic! apparently the largest pool in france, it looks like a beach & there were tons of people lounging round it... super cool place.

There is also a REALLY cool spa pool, which was super hot and has jets that push you round a maize type arrangement with all sorts of treatment tubs off of it... it difficult to describe, but it was one of the coolest pools I have ever seen! Even the BF loved it & he is not one for spas usually!

I will definitely go back! 10 out of 10!

Room Tip: we had a view of the pool at the back, the front must be the river, so all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations C, Gérant at Hotel Lyon Metropole, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Jennifer,

Your review is a pleasure for us.
Your satisfaction is our best source of motivation. All my Team is joining me to thank you for sharing that with us.

We hope to have the chance of welcoming you back very soon.

Warm Regards,

Leslie Moreau
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
153 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I've been there for business and had a good experience. I like the location, not downtown but in 10 mins driving from old and new city center. This solves one of the issues in downtown: screaming for a parking after 10+ hours of work is not the best approach to the evening. While parking in a big enough parking lot, on the river, and walk in a quite good premises, and chill in your - not big but good level- room is a different story.Add to this also a dive in the SPA (best part of the hotel on top of everything else) with indoor/outdoor pools with jacuzzi and sauna. You have also tennis courts but I do not know how the usage works honestly. Wifi free of charge in room. In the end the price is not cheap but for the level of the offer being in lyon is one of the best deal I experienced.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RodoTurin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relations C, Gérant at Hotel Lyon Metropole, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed our establishment and our services .
I hope to welcome you back to the property very soon for your next trip.

Kind regards,

Leslie Moreau
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
8.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel & Spa de Chassieu
2.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection
2.1 mi away
Fourviere Hotel
Fourviere Hotel
#20 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cour des Loges
Cour des Loges
#10 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Florentine
Villa Florentine
#9 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel des Terreaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lyon Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lyon Metropole

Property: Hotel Lyon Metropole
Address: 85 quai Joseph Gillet, 69004, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#13 Family Hotel in Lyon
#16 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lyon Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lyon Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Lyon
Lyon Metropole Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing