We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Construction work/snobby personnel ruined our 3 day stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lyon Metropole
Ranked #19 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2010

My husband and I work in Paris and wanted a three day break from our busy schedules, so we decided to stay at the Lyon Metropole Hotel. Upon arrival, we noticed construction work on the facade of the building and were a bit annoyed. Once we entered the hotel, however, we were wonderfully welcomed by a charming receptionist, who told us that we had the great fortune of being placed next to the elevator with direct access to the pool. When we got to our room, we noticed that our wonderful "view" was temporarily blocked, and we were eye to eye with construction workers on our individual patio. Of course, the windows/door were locked to prevent us from going outside (for our safety). However, that meant that 1. We had to keep our curtains closed the entire trip and could never see the sun, or walk around half naked and 2. We could never air our the room if desired. That was just one horrible incident of the trip. Here are the others:

1. The decoration at this hotel isn't the greatest. They were pretty much stuck in the 60s or 70s (especially at the pool area), but that's not even the worst part. The plants at this 4 star hotel are plastic!!! I'm a sucker for design and plants, so this really got to me.

2. We had no coffee or tea machine in our room. The hotel is far from the center (by foot), so you're practically obliged to buy their $18 breakfast. We brought pain au lait and other snacks as well as bottled water, so we didn't have to buy breakfast at the hotel.

3. Maitre D at the restaurant totally ignored us, and catered to the older (and obviously well off) clientele, as well as the "regulars". As soon as they left, his smile left, and he hardly spoke to us. There was no "hello" "how was your meal" or "goodbye". Fortunately, the waiter made up for this and was hospitable.

4. Going back to the construction work, my hubby and I never got to sleep past 7:50 AM, when our whole goal was to sleep in and rest...So we spent our days walking around town, or by the pool...So very aggravating. We asked for another room, and were told that there was a company event taking place on the other side of the hotel, and that they'd be making noise all night long (the DJ), so it was best to stay where we were. I felt as if they should have at least offered us breakfast or some other gesture given the amount of money we were paying.

Now, for the good points, because, despite all of this, there are some.

1. They have a marvelous pool outside and inside, as well as heated sauna "trail" outside. We took advantage of this every day.

2. The food at the restaurant was wonderful.

3. The massages are great, although expensive for the length given. The ladies who work at the spa are wonderful, in particular Claire.

There you have it. I would never go back to this hotel...again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chanteusecrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relations-clients, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Lyon Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2010
Google Translation

Madame, Monsieur,

Actuellement nous sommes en cours de modernisation de notre produit afin de continuer à apporter toujours plus de satisfaction à nos clients.

Dès le début du mois de juillet, nous avons pris soin de modifier nos conditions générales de vente sur notre site internet afin d’avertir tous nos clients du début de ces travaux dans le souci d’une communication transparente.

Notre hôtel est atypique avec des chambres spacieuses et plait en général beaucoup à nos clients, car apprécié pour son calme et sa tranquillité.

Au cours de l’année 2011 nous envisageons de mettre en place dans toutes nos chambres un set d’accueil de boissons chaudes, avec café, thé et infusions.
Nous sommes néanmoins surpris de ce qui s’est passé au restaurant car sachez, que nous avons une culture d’entreprise essentiellement portée sur l’accueil de nos clients et notre personnel est formé dans ce but.

Nous vous remercions pour vos remarques positives et espérons vous recevoir à nouveau en vous prouvant qu’il ne peut s’agir que d’une erreur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 1,115 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2010

Hotel Unders construction, very noisy from 08:00, noise so loud can't even make a phone call!! Room too old, the emtired hotel must be refurbished. Everything in this hotel i from the 70's.... looks like nothing has been changed since then. Very unconveniente location. Anyway that's not a for stars all all.
I could get the next day a better price at Lyon Hilton...no comment! You can get much better in Lyon for the same price.
Since service, kind staff. Go there for the pool but don't sleep in that place.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FaiTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

It says it all. Booked with lastminute - described as a pool view room. Instead it was a front view room with scaffolding - and the airconditioning was not working and neither was it possible to open the windows. The receptionist did her best - but the whole experience is a shocker!

First time I have ever reviewed a hotel! I think the pool is the highlight, but thats about it. Does anyone think I can get my money back from lastminute?

I am sure that lot of the positive comments for this hotel are made up by agents or something!

Vip.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vipster_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

The hotel is under construction. Want a room beneath the scaffolding? Those are the ones that are available--and the work begins at 8 am! Enjoy your vacation!

No air conditioning. Those little boxes in the rooms? Just for show. And yes, the windows are all locked, because of the construction!

Four stars? In your dreams!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yeatsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

The hotel was very highly reviewed on many sites and the pictures looked amazing. We stayed there over a weekend in August and chose it primarily for the pool and spa.
Overall it is a nice hotel though there is lack of attention to detail.
The first impression was a bit weird because we arrived by taxi late at night and as we approached, we really thought that the hotel was closed! The facade is pretty old and all the lights were switched off so momentarily we thought it was a joke. The lobby is pretty unimpressive and we decided to have a drink at the bar before going to bed. The lobby/restaurant has this old looking leather chairs, feels like it was stuck in the 1960s.
The room was nice, the bathroom was brand new and had nice products and fluffy towels and bathrobes. The only bad thing was the total lack of decoration, I am not the one for ornate stuff but even a poster would have been ok. There was also a flat screen tv but rather small for the size of the room. We also had a very nice patio overlooking the pool area and the hills of Lyon, not bad at all.
The pool is very nice indeed, olympic size with lots of chairs around it, they could have improved the service in terms of food and drinks. I think you were able to get some drinks at the pool but you had to get up and go inside the cafe, not really useful.
There is a restaurant on site that specialized in seafood, we did not eat there but the food looked good. The prices at the bar/cafe at the lobby were a bit off the charts but I was more bothered by the lack of selection rather than the price.
The service was alright, I speak some French so we did not have any problems though I am sure of their ability to speak English. I had a bit ticked off that they tried to charge me for breakfast while I had never been there and I had booked it through spledia and there was a bit of a difference in the final price though I did not really make a big deal out of it.
The hotel is indeed in the outskirts of the city but the bus stop is right in front of the hotel and it was easy to get to the city. It was pleasant to be able to come back to the hotel and chill by the pool. Overall, it was a nice experience but it did not live up to my expectations, granted it belongs to the Word Hotels, it just needs a bit more renovation in the entrance and the outside of the hotel, to be fair though, I believe they are renovating the facade.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dora Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

As soon as I entered this hotel in the middle of the night I said wow!!....... this place is very cozy, nice and lean.

I was coming from Casa and stayed at Lyon Metropole for 2 nights on business & conference. I ordered a taxi to pick me up from the airport, the taxi reached on time and took me directly to the airport. Approx 40 mins traveling time.

The night staff at the reception was very friendly and quickly checked me in with all support. He ensures I can go to room soon to relax.

The hotel is popular with sports lovers, it has amazing swimming pool, terrace tennis courts and other sports activities. The food is great (though, I didn't like the breakfast). They can make breakfast little bit more classy, there were not many items to choose from.

The rooms were clean, internet was fast and overall experience was great.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Professor07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

I travel over the whole world, and I am used to luxury hotels and restaurants,
We just finished our sport session, and went to the bar for a coffee and thee,
I have no other comments, just have a look at the picture I joinded.
2 euros coffee
7.50 euros for a thee ! I have never seen this before !!!!! even in the biggest Palace in monaco !!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
1.8 mi away
Cour des Loges
Cour des Loges
#10 of 194 in Lyon
1,364 reviews
8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel & Spa de Chassieu
2.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fourviere Hotel
Fourviere Hotel
#12 of 194 in Lyon
498 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
1.8 mi away
Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lyon Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lyon Metropole

Address: 85 quai Joseph Gillet, 69004, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#8 Family Hotel in Lyon
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#16 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £86 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lyon Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lyon Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Lyon
Lyon Metropole Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing