We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dim disappointment, and without the garage we had expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #18 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This hotel is actually a Mercure, although it doesn't advertise itself as such.

Two of the reasons we chose this hotel were that it was in walking distance (or a metro ride) from the restaurant where we planned to eat and it had a garage (according to the Michelin guide), unlike most of the hotels in the area. So when I checked in, I asked how to get to their garage. Have you reserved, I was asked? No, I didn’t know I had to. Well, you had better put it in public parking. (Horrified gasp) We have a new (extremely expensive car). We can’t put it in public parking. And the reply? Well, that’s where we put our cars. They’re in a separate section, but it’s public parking. Interesting!

By the way, to unload and load the car, we had to pull up on the sidewalk on the corner of the hotel. There is no ability to park in front of the hotel for unloading/loading.

Our room was very tiny and very dimly lit for the 173.30 Euros we were paying, including breakfast, but after all, as I was told when I arrived, I was checking in to the best hotel in Lyon!

There were no sheer curtains, so to have any privacy (our view was into a courtyard), we had to keep the heavy draperies closed, keeping the room even dimmer. There was no overhead light, just one small lamp over the desk, two bed lamps that must have had the equivalent of 25 watt bulbs in them, and two tiny spotlights on flexible stems for reading in bed. The comforter was very thick (probably) down and the mattress seemed to have the same down quilting on its top -- probably loved by some guests. We like a firm bed, and this one was fairly firm below the topping.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chandolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

491 - 497 of 1,375 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2011

I booked a one night stay in March to stay in the hotel during late August. We arrived to check in at 3pm, when check in is midday and the room still wasnt ready. Reception advised us that it wouldnt be ready for another hour. But if you only have that afternoon/evening to see little of Lyon you dont want to wait around a hotel lobby . We eventually had to leave our bags in the lobby and venture out in Lyon the way we were (without freshening up). When I booked the room in March I also ordered the Macarons from Sebastien Bouillet from one of the hotels packages, when we eventually got to our room we had the macarons waiting but not by Sebastien Bouillet. I was so dissapointed becuase I was promised something and it wasnt delivered. Reception told me that Sebastien Bouillet store was closed on Mondays. Since I had this room booked since March I expected that they at least notify me of this, so I told them and they took the macarons away. When I checked out they gave me a 30% discount because of my experience but it still leaves me with a bad experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank toota101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I have been staying at this elegant Lyon landmark for ten years or so, during which it has been, on balance, sadly neglected by the ACCOR chain. Starting out at first as a top-of the line SOFITEL, it dropped down to the mundane Mercure range, and now is being touted as one of the new MGALLERY (hotels with soul) category. Its location on the Place Bellecour is outstanding, and its public rooms pleasant. Its restaurant (a training operation for the Paul Bocuse hospitality empire) provides an exceptional breakfast. Its staff are mostly but not universally helpful. The main problem: some of the rooms are simply too small for a hotel of this sort, and seriously scuffed as well. Having made a fuss, I was upgraded to something still small but much nicer. However, the bloom was off the rose. Message to ACCOR - get your branding operation in order: either raise your game in the MGALLERY category or drop the range.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequenttraveller076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Lovely place to stay, great beds, very pleasant staff. And the decoration of this hotel is just fabulous! Someone extremely talented did this, charming, chic and tasteful!! I'd stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkdarrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

This hotel truly is beautiful! Our room was clean, nicely decorated and very spacious. The bed was extremely comfortable. We loved the small touch of getting a note about the next days weather. The only negative would be the staff who seemed a bit snooty. The location is ok, very central - but i would have preferred being closer to the old town. Keep your eye out for the farmers market near the water...amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Furrgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

If you want to eat great food at reasonable prices, head for this hotel's great chef, Cyril Bosviel. We stayed here and every meal was a delight. We're only sorry we didn't all our meals there. I don't know why he doesn't have a star, but he should. I understand he trains chefs at the cooking school there. The hotel was lovely, and the location good, but the main attraction was the chef.

Stay away from Sud, one of the mid-range restaurants opened by Paul Bocuse--overpriced, terrible food and really bad service.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceilidhnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Le Royal Lyon is a wonderfully luxurious hotel perfectly situated on Place Bellecour. Our room, a Royale Luxe, was plenty of space for two and was super-clean. We booked a package that included breakfast (an excellent selection of tastes so beautifully presented) and a glass of champagne in their oft-vacant lounge. The sitting room just off the lobby is a cozy place to wait for a cab or recline after a long day of exploring. This place did not disappoint ~ I could stay here again and again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary-Loves-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#10 of 194 in Lyon
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Villa Florentine
#16 of 194 in Lyon
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection

Address: 20 Place Bellecour, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#18 Business Hotel in Lyon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £113 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an iconic establishment offering 72 rooms and suites, nestled in the heart of the city between the Rhone and Saone rivers. An exclusive address for travellers who enjoy the French art de vivre, discrete elegance and naturally courteous service. Feel at home in our Cote Cuisine dining room or in our Cote Bellecour lounge, for a civilised meal or beverage overlooking the Place Bellecour. (The Hotel is a member of the MGallery collection). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing