We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite hotel to stay at while traveling in France” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #22 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
137 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“My favorite hotel to stay at while traveling in France”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

The room was excellent with a lovely quality down bedding and the room size was large, modern, comfortable and clean. The bathroom was large and modern as well. Yes, the shower could be quirky but I arrived from Paris where the shower flooded the bathroom, so this was heaven! The location was excellent with several restaurants and a very good wine & cheese shop on the square (Maison Pignol).
The hotel has a restaurant as well but was not open on the day of my arrival. I chose to go the 2nd evening and was not dissapointed! My dinner was excellent!
The only things that bothered me were the following and would have rated a top review. The hotel staff/reception periodically voiced with body language and verbal that "you are stupid and don't know the french way". It was annoying. When I decided to go the the hotel restaurant l I was asked if I had a reservation. I was a single women traveling alone, do I really need one? My reply was I am staying in your hotel, do I really need one? I was seated promptly. The last bit of advice if you are coming in from Paris via the high speed train, get a cab to the hotel, your feet will thank you. Lyon is a beautiful city with 2 rivers on each side, I loved it and would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badsaltydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    434
    137
    61
    17
See reviews for
164
634
74
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

I recently stayed at Hotel Le Royal in Lyon on a one-day business trip to the region. The hotel is in a great location, friendly staff, and the rooms are very nice and comfortable. The only downside was that upon my arrival from a 14 hour flight, I needed a quick shower and change before a meeting - and was informed that there was no hot water at the time. Given it was 5C and raining, I was a bit annoyed as a cold shower is not what I had in mind after my long trip. The staff was very apologetic and the hot water issue fixed before evening. However, this did leave an overall negative feeling about my stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peakinmotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

We spent only one night in Le Royal but wish we could have stayed longer. The hotel sent an English version email following our stay asking for our review. I did so, and was candid. (The only flaw was a non-functioning hair dryer and a misunderstanding about the breakfast.) They were quick to respond and explain how they had handled these minor problems. But I would rather emphasize the good service, the very nice and very large (especially by French standards) corner room that overlooked the Bellecour Square. The hotel's dining room is very welcoming and comfortable. Do make dinner reservations as it appears that locals like to dine here too. I would say that I think the breakfast, at 20 Euros (with or without eggs, I am still unsure how it is priced) was pricey. WiFi is free but disallows the use of Skype. Otherwise, we loved this hotel and would absolutely return.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the junior suite, which is really just a very large room with good lounge chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarELor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, ct
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

WE are leaving tomorrow and we were very pleased with the hotel. Although the room was a bit on the small side it was very clean and attractive. Every thing looked new and stylish. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It is in a very good location, in front of Place Bellacour(under renovation) and just 10 minute walk to old town. We got a good deal on Booking.com and would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneWoodbridge-ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

We have stayed at the Hotel Royal several times and have always enjoyed our visits. The service is consistently professional. The rooms and bath have several nice luxury touches. The desk staff is professional and helpful but not particularly inviting. The location overlooking Bellecour Square is lovely and convenient. I recommend!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank csgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed here for two nights during our month long trip to France celebrating our 25th anniversary, so we splurged on a Suite Royale Bellecour room. Our check-in was very smooth, and the bellman took special care of our bicycles. However, we couldn't get the key to our room to work; neither could the bellman. One of the maids had to let us in; the bellman said that someone would be right up to fix it- it worked afterwards, but only with much jiggling and tugging. The suite was indeed beautiful- lovely decor, separate sitting room, TWO bathrooms, and bedroom with a supremely comfortable bed. Unfortunately, the Place Bellecour was being torn up, so our anticipated view was a bust. Also, neither of the bathroom sinks would hold water (one was missing the pull-up knob), and the floor lamp in the sitting area flickered like a strobe light when turned on- these problems remained unfixed even after bringing them to the attention of the front desk. Breakfast on both mornings was strange- an ocean of unbussed tables, and so many students in the small kitchen space where the buffet was that it was almost impossible to make selections without getting bowled over by one of them. However, everything was very good once you ran the gauntlet. The location of the hotel is great, but I'll never understand how the Place Bellecour is described as one of the most beautiful in France, regardless of renovations underway- if you go for rust colored cement, this is the Place for you! Get a room with a different view!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eliselaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

I stayed at the Hotel Le Royal Lyon for three nights. My room was satisfactory, if on the small side..pretty typical of a large city hotel. My room faced the main street and thanks to the double glass was very quiet. I was surprised that the staff did not turn down the beds at night. The breakfast was adequate but was served in an interior room with no windows. The cocktail lounge where afternoon tea is supposedly served was minimalist and I did not see a waitperson at any time. All in all, it was clean and convenient but for the price, you might take a look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DocGirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cour des Loges
#10 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Villa Florentine
#9 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Address: 20 Place Bellecour, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lyon
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#18 Business Hotel in Lyon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an iconic establishment offering 72 rooms and suites, nestled in the heart of the city between the Rhone and Saone rivers. An exclusive address for travellers who enjoy the French art de vivre, discrete elegance and naturally courteous service. Feel at home in our Cote Cuisine dining room or in our Cote Bellecour lounge, for a civilised meal or beverage overlooking the Place Bellecour. (The Hotel is a member of the MGallery collection). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing