We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, but not 5 star room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #19 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The hotel is perfectly located in Lyon's centre, close to great shopping streets and many restaurants. As it was recommended to pre-book car parking, we did so and it turned out to have been a very good tip - there is very limited stopping (let alone parking) space in front of the hotel. Also the other services were good, and staff was friendly and helpful.
Maybe we were simply unlucky, as some reviewers were very happy with their rooms, but the two Superior Royale double rooms we saw were not 5 star standard. The first room we were shown was on the 5th floor and had quite a low ceiling. The bathroom there was not very clean and run down, the toilet seat was even cracked! The second room was just beneath on the 4th floor, with only slightly better bathroom, and odd scratch marks on the wall in the entrance area. We didn't expect a very big room, but for 5 stars we would have expected slightly better standard.
For breakfast, we treated ourselves to the 5€ more expensive Sofitel breakfast just a short walk away. It was a perfect breakfast buffet, and the view from the top-floor restaurant in the Sofitel was definitely worth the little extra.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cass1295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 1,357 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2011

I almost get emotional if I think back at my stay in Lyon: perfect weekend and wonderful hotel!
Super well located, very nicely decorated, very nice room and gorgeous breakfast. We loved the Jazzy lounge as well!
The Hotel is a great miix between a grand Hotel (old building with old details) and a modern one (renovated bathrooms and great beds).
The breakfast is very expensive: but sooo worth it!
I hope I'll go back soon!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I can't fault the place, really and delivered far more than it's advertisement. It is right in the middle of town overlooking the beautiful Place Bellecours in that thin isthmus between the Saone and Rhone Rivers. The next street over is a shoppers delight of old antique stores, galleries and clothes shops (thankfully free of the big international brands) The hotel has been renovated to a high standard and the staff are delightfully friendly and efficient. The rooms are well appointed and fresh - bed very comfortable with pillows and duvets which you can disappear into. Breakfast was a treat - far above the usual fare. And as a small bonus the hotel is a training ground for the Paul Bocuse Institution.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coastersretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights in November whle working at a trade show in Lyon. Overall it was good but i didnt find many aspects very good. Check-in was prompt and was always staffed and they and the concierge could answer most questions (in English) but when i asked them to recommend a good restaurant near the hotel i was told there were many and to take my pick? My bedroom was small with no view but a colleage had a large room with a view of Place Bellacour so when you book or when you check in ask for a bigger room overlooking Bellacour.

Lyon is a lovelly city and there really are many good restaurants to choose from. If you exit the hotel to the right then cross to the left you will find a whole street of restaurants.

I nearly gave this hotel 4 stars and would have had it not been for the small bedroom.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Place Bellacour are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulofAylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

The hotel is well appointed and elegantly decorated in french style as attested to by many other reviewers. The location right on the corner of Place Bellecour is ideal and service from all of the staff was first class, friendly, helpful and they genuinely seemed to want guests to enjoy the hotel and the delights of Lyon.
The only minor criticism regards suite 502. I do not know if all the suites are the same but there is no door between the bedroom and the sitting room (despite the door frame being in place and clearly a door was once there) . Consequently if you were to hold business meetings in this suite you cannot shut off the bedroom or if say 3 people are sharing you cannot have any privacy despite the suite having 2 good separate bathrooms.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nassana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I have stayed here before and love this hotel. The rooms and bathrooms are very spacious. The rooms and common areas are beautifully decorated. I love the location of the hotel. My eleven year old liked the fact that they have the Disney channel (In French).
On this trip it seemed that the service was really off. When we arrived there were a lot of people behind the front desk but they could not check us in because it was a training class. Tried to order coffee two mornings in the bar because we had missed breakfast. The servers seemed very confused. I ordered cafe creme and got espresso with cold milk. My daughter wanted milk for her tea but she never got the milk. Asked for reservations at Le Sud but when we got there they did not have our reservation. Things just seemed off during this stay.

Room Tip: I like the blue rooms better than the red rooms. The rooms with a view of the river are really nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momandktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Le Royal is beautifully decorated with character and style. If you like tapestries, silk and luxury wallpaper, you will be delighted. Service is high end and tasteful at reception.
I got upgraded one or two levels up from the standard room. The bed was humongous and very comfy. Room was seriously vast and loved how bright it was.
All the perks of a proper 4-star in the room. Sofitel-like.
It's on one of most famous squares in Lyon - Place Bellecourt - steps from the metro and within walking distance of the department stores in rue de la Republique, the luxury/designer stores too, as well as the old quarter of Saint-Jean. The breakfast room is great, although it doesn't have windows and service is OK there, delivered by studend of the hospitality college.

Room Tip: If you go for a standard room, beware of the tiny ones where the desk is really too small for workin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrenchDomSW15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#10 of 194 in Lyon
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Villa Florentine
#15 of 194 in Lyon
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection

Address: 20 Place Bellecour, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lyon
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#18 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £116 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an iconic establishment offering 72 rooms and suites, nestled in the heart of the city between the Rhone and Saone rivers. An exclusive address for travellers who enjoy the French art de vivre, discrete elegance and naturally courteous service. Feel at home in our Cote Cuisine dining room or in our Cote Bellecour lounge, for a civilised meal or beverage overlooking the Place Bellecour. (The Hotel is a member of the MGallery collection). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing