We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PRELUDE TO A CRUISE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #23 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
stamford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“PRELUDE TO A CRUISE”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We had a cruise booked on a the Rhone and wanted a decent nights sleep before this adventure!
Lyon appeared somewhat bereft in decent 5 star hotels and the choice was between the modern Sofitel or the more classic Le Royal built in 1888. There was obviously work being carried on but this did not effect us and we were given an enormous circular suite in the tower on the fifth and top floor with a fine view of the Place Bellecour. A vast and very comfortable bed had a remarkable effect as I failed to awake until 12.30, something I have never done before! Check out time was 12 but nobody cared. T
The staff were all charming and extremely helpful. Dinner was also a surprise, excellent and most reasonably priced! I had not realised that this was a training centre for Paul Bocuse's chefs!
A most satisfactory way to start our cruise! We would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the tower, the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afspyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    454
    140
    63
    18
See reviews for
174
660
75
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The hotel has an excellent location on Place Bellecour, just a minute walking from the shopping district, and within easy walking distance from the Old Town (Unesco World Heritage Site). We had stayed here before, in 2006, but it is very different now. We had a junior suite on the fifth floor, which was wonderful. It was a corner room, a semi-circle, with windows on all sides, giving us the most wonderful views on the hills of the Old Town (with the Basilique and the mini Eifel Tower), on Place Bellecour, and on the gardens leading to the Rhone. Beautiful buildings to be seen everywhere. At night it was really unforgettable, with all the lights. The room had lots of space, a very comfortable sitting area, a very good bed. Tastefully furnished in red, white, and black. Ample closet space. Free mineral water and patisseries. The air conditioning was not very adequate, though. And for us the bathroom was a little bit of a disappointment, because of the washstand, that had no room at all for any toilet things, so that first we had to remove all sorts of accessories from a little table that stood next to it. (Designers: please consider the viewpoint of the guest, who likes to put his toothbrush somewhere!) Separate WC. Everything was sparkling clean.
We did not like the restaurant space very much, but there are many restaurants nearby. We had a good dinner on the terrace of Brasserie l'Espace on Place Bellecour, just about 100 meters away.
The breakfast buffet was very good, with eggs prepared freshly for us, and friendly service.
We can certainly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hawet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We have been in numerous five-star hotels worldwide and this hotel warrants its five-star ranking in every respect. The suite is fabulous, with a terrific view onto Place Bellecour. The staff is helpful in every way. We can't wait for our return!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arzier, Switzerland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Hotel Le Royal is conveniently placed on the Place Bellecour, which is right of the bottom of the old town - with its Basilique Notre-Dame de Fouvrier and Cathedrale St.Jean - and 50 meters away from the shopping distric. The two rivers crossing Lyon, the Saone and the Rhone, are right by.
Very polite and helpfull staff. The rooms are comfortable and spacious (for French standards), with beautiful high ceilings. Very nice hotel for a short weekend break.

Room Tip: Get one facing the square. The streets are quiet en there is great sound isolation and in return you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york ny
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

A very charming and comfortable hotel in lyon. Big room, excellent beds, nice anthropomorphic with a big tub with jacuzzi..nice after a day of sightseeing. Lovely front desk staff, very helpful and friendly. The restaurant looked good, but I did not done there...would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor, the river views must be great. I stayed on 2nd floor, you just got a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrponcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
190 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We arrived at the hotel, couldn't tell where to park, so I ran in to find out what to do with the car while my husband & the car waited. The gentleman at reception sent someone out immediately to take the car for us while he checked us in. We had a lovely, very comfortable room on the second floor overlooking the square. The hotel was very prettily decorated, and it was a great location for nearby restaurants & shopping.

The Paul Bocuse Institute restaurant on site was quite reasonably priced, and the food was good for the price, but not exceptional. As someone else mentioned, the bar service was not terribly attentive. Breakfast in the dining room was pretty good though.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgs1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My wife and I were looking to stay at a distinctive hotel in a great location in Lyon. What a great find! We were treated like family and the staff was extremely friendly and accomodating. The concierge provided gret tips for dining and we had one of the best meals on our vacation at a great restaurant. No way would we have find this restaurant, Thomas, on our own. If you have a chance, pick this hotel for your stay in Lyon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cour des Loges
#10 of 194 in Lyon
1,246 reviews
Villa Florentine
#7 of 194 in Lyon
704 reviews
Hotel des Celestins
#15 of 194 in Lyon
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Address: 20 Place Bellecour, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lyon
#17 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#18 Business Hotel in Lyon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an iconic establishment offering 72 rooms and suites, nestled in the heart of the city between the Rhone and Saone rivers. An exclusive address for travellers who enjoy the French art de vivre, discrete elegance and naturally courteous service. Feel at home in our Cote Cuisine dining room or in our Cote Bellecour lounge, for a civilised meal or beverage overlooking the Place Bellecour. (The Hotel is a member of the MGallery collection). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing