We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cosy hotel, not the most recent....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #21 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Le Royal is definitly a nice place to stay. But if you look for a modern hotel, it may not fit...
I personnaly liked the building, but there is a feeling if "used woods".

The location is great, in front of place bellecourt.

Room Tip: the standard rooms are small....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jweizman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 1,335 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

I thought this was a lovely hotel in an excellent location. I am guessing the design objective was to make the place feel like you are visiting someone’s home rather than staying in a hotel. There are no overtly hotel-y features. There is a discreet entrance into a simple air conditioned reception area with some quirky features and a beautifully decorated, comfortable reading room (?). The breakfast room we ate in had the feel of being in someone’s lovely kitchen. Our room was large, overlooking the square, beautifully decorated in cool blue toile. The bed was enormous and very comfortable and it was super to have the turn down service.

Breakfast was included for us and I thought it was excellent – I really liked the presentation of the buffet, the quality of the produce and it was particularly nice that any hot food was cooked to order, freshly for you.

All the staff we engaged with were very helpful, keen to recommend good places to eat and visit and of course, all in very good English!

My one issue on this trip was a BIGGY at the time. At the time of our trip, there was extensive renovation going on – with the lower areas completely closed. Each morning the drilling and hammering started at 8.00 am, one morning at 7.30 am. I would have been grumpy enough about this if it had happened in a Travel Lodge, but to have had it happen in such an expensive hotel was in my view completely unacceptable. Of course I fed this back to the hotel but to date have rec’d no comment.

So in short – yes, thoroughly recommend it but make sure the work has finished before you go.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Hotel Le Royal Lyon has a homey atmosphere. It is no too big which makes it nicer than usual chain hotels.

We were very lucky to have a big room with a nice view. The room was practical and comfortable with style. I missed a separate shower and another armchair but otherwise the room was really satisfying.

Breakfast was a little bit overpriced but options were good. The only hiccup in the hotel was the service at breakfast. It was slow and it took too much time to have tables cleaned. It is not nice to see numerous tables untidy. And coffee was too stong even comparing with usual strong French coffee.

The location is perfect. Despite the heavy traffic around the hotel the room was really quiet.

Service in general was nothing special but good enough. One gentleman of the staff was really helpful though.

Would definitely stay at Le Royal again.

Room Tip: Go for a Deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelManiaxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Le Royal for our honeymoon. We were kindly upgraded to the suite and given free drinks as the hotel was aware we were on honeymoon because we stayed at other Accor hotels. The room was beautiful, clean, stunning fixtures and furniture. The service at the hotel was so good it made us feel like we're celebrities. Breakfast was also a real treat, as was the music room! You could not have a better location, close to everything including many dinning options from cheap to exclusive. We loved our stay here and cannot wait to come back.
Worth every cent. The most comfortable bed I have ever slept on too!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melvnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Picked up a bargain room at this hotel probably because it is in the process of being renovated, however our room was beautiful with a lovely bathroom. The bed was large and comfortable and the hotel still prepare the bed in the evening.

The breakfast was expensive at 30 euros each, not a huge selection and although quite a few members of staff they were not quick to remove used plates.

The hotel was very central but also easily accessed from the motorway. The hotel has valet parking and had our car ready for us at the requested time. A short walk from the hotel are fantastic shops and restaurants in the city centre.

A great hotel just don't have the breakfast!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twinkle233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We took the fast train from Paris to Lyon for an overnight visit. This was the ideal place to stay. (Take the train to Perrache Station, not Part-Dieu, and then one stop on the Metro to Place Bellecour). From Place Bellecour you can walk south to the antique area, north to the shopping area or the art museum, and west to the fabulous old city, or you can take one or two stops on the metro to the last two of these. Tourist Information is located in the Place Bellecour, which is another plus. The hotel itself is lovely, with excellent service, including a concierge who is happy to help with restaurants and sight-seeing. It is currently undergoing renovation to the restaurant, but our room was quiet and pleasant. Some initial problems with the tv were immediately fixed. Because our room was at the edge of the building, the wifi in the room was inconsistent, but it was better elsewhere in the building. This is good place to stay for those who, like us, prefer hotels in older, classic buildings but with thoroughly renovated and modernized rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJChisoxFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We were wowed by the Hotel Le Royal as soon as we saw it in person on the corner of Place Bellecour. It's close to shops and restaurants that don't feel touristy. The rooms were a HUGE hit with our family of six. Our rooms all opened onto balconies overlooking the busy street below, yet we never heard much road noise. The rooms were perfectly French with large drapes and floral wallpaper, but they had obviously been updated and the bathrooms were large and modern.

The hotel staff was among the most knowledgeable and friendly of any hotel we'd ever stayed in. The ONLY downside was the construction noise of the hotel's restaurant below. We were looking forward to sleeping in, but hammering at 7:30 a.m. was not well-received by our family. The restaurant is supposed to be done in October, so ask to stay on a higher floor or wait for a few months if you are a light sleeper.

MONEY-SAVING TIP: book on the M Gallery's website and save a bundle. We paid 140 euro a night versus the 230 euro advertised at the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cour des Loges
#10 of 196 in Lyon
1,314 reviews
Hotel des Celestins
#13 of 196 in Lyon
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection

Address: 20 Place Bellecour, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lyon
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#18 Business Hotel in Lyon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £117 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an iconic establishment offering 72 rooms and suites, nestled in the heart of the city between the Rhone and Saone rivers. An exclusive address for travellers who enjoy the French art de vivre, discrete elegance and naturally courteous service. Feel at home in our Cote Cuisine dining room or in our Cote Bellecour lounge, for a civilised meal or beverage overlooking the Place Bellecour. (The Hotel is a member of the MGallery collection). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing