We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Lyon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #19 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We were booked for three nights at the Le Royal on our first leg of our 10 days tour of France. When we arrived we were pleased with the location of the hotel in relation to the various sightseeing spots in Lyon. The hotel itself was also well keep up and managed even with their restaurant under renovation. Unfortunately we were not assigned an outside room overlooking the square, Place Bellecour. However the room was comfortable and relatively quiet.

Throughout our stay, we were greatly assisted by the hotel staff from giving direction to various sightseeing attractions. The detail of their information and direction to maximize our enjoyment was most impressive. They also assist us to locate various speciality shops around the hotel for our shopping need.

We thoroughly enjoy the Hotel Le Royal Lyon and definitely will come back in our next visit. Yes, we shall request a room with better view.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Charn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 1,369 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

We loved the hotel! Room was excellent, roomy and every single detailed was taken care of. from the welcome letter, chocolate confections every night, etc. Location is very convenient, staff was always very attentive and the breakfast room is to die for. Decor is very french but still modern.

Room Tip: We preferred a room with street wiew.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guillerm0G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

As everybody else has said, great location for all the sites and for the transport system. We arrived mid-afternoon and our room was not ready, so we were offered a couple of beers while the room was prepared - there was no need to do this as we were going to the bar opposite anyway. Service for the rest of the trip was just as good with tips on travel, etc.

Given the central location and having a room on the front, there were no issues with the noise and sp

I would have no issues in recommending Le Royal to anyone

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had been wine buying in the Rhone last week and rather driving straight back to Switzerland we thought we'd spend the day and an overnight stay in Lyon,a City we've driven past dozens of times.We booked over the phone,told them our terrier was extremely well behaved and we needed secure parking for our car,which was laden with fabulous wine.
When we arrived we were greeted by two extremely friendly guys from the Concierge desk who carried in our bags and parked our car whilst we checked in.The room wasn't ready but they assured us when we came back after lunch,we've always wanted to try one of Lyon's 'Bouchon's',we would be shown directly to our room.
In fact they had upgraded us to a 2 bathroom suite (one bathroom better than the other),but everything else was of good quality with an extremely comfortable superking bed with a great view of 'Place Bellecour'.The only slight niggle was that when we asked for recommendations for dinner they tended to recommend restaurants that the hotel are associated with.
We asked them to book 'Daniel & Denise' in St Jean for dinner which for high quality food in a relaxed setting is probably unbeatable (left 30Euro tip)!!

Room Tip: We had a room on top floor (4/5th),great views of the square,therefore no traffic noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulmontreux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Hotel Le Royal has the best location available for tourists in Lyon. There is a subway station right in front of it, and many attractions can be reached by walking less than 30 minutes.

Our room had view to the square - beautiful - and even so, no noise or inconvenient lights entered our room. Spacious, clean and well decorated. Breakfast was a special event... the setting (designed by Paul Bocuse) really makes you feel at home, but being supported by a great staff of waitresses and cooks that make your first meal of the day a joy.

They have a parking area at a reasonable cost, and you really do not need the car there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

here is why - location, warmth, helpful tips, great rooms. we were a family of four, and were recommended this place by a friend. Honestly, it was confusing to read the reviews, and we were tempted to try the usual international brands. Better sense prevailed and we booked here. We were swept away by the warm reception, and quick transfer to the room. When we asked for a tip for a nearby restaurant, it could not have been better. We then made it a habit and were never disappointed. On the last day, we further exerted to check our luck. We wanted to hold the rooms a bit longer, as our flight was much later. A quick check and a "no fuss" extension given. Europe has many times puzzled us with their hospitality, as we do get spoiled in Asia. This place is no puzzle. They genuinely care and want you to enjoy your stay. We will be back - someday!

Room Tip: square facing rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajay1964_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Very professional service. Rooms were nice but we had a view of the internal courtyard which is uninspiring. Bathroom was nice and shower good. No kettle. I found the quilt too hot and underblanket and mattress too soft resulting in a poor night's sleep. I was contemplating sleeping on the floor at 1am. In the morning my back went out. That is of course personal taste and only one person's opinion. This is a good solid professional hotel of international standard. Price reflected this. Location was good in the modern part of the city, right across the road from the square with Lyon's shopping district beyond that. We only stayed one night in Lyon and probably due to that fact we found it a little underwhelming.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside view, not a courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmanay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#10 of 194 in Lyon
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Villa Florentine
#16 of 194 in Lyon
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection

Address: 20 Place Bellecour, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lyon
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#18 Business Hotel in Lyon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £113 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an iconic establishment offering 72 rooms and suites, nestled in the heart of the city between the Rhone and Saone rivers. An exclusive address for travellers who enjoy the French art de vivre, discrete elegance and naturally courteous service. Feel at home in our Cote Cuisine dining room or in our Cote Bellecour lounge, for a civilised meal or beverage overlooking the Place Bellecour. (The Hotel is a member of the MGallery collection). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing