We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LYON STAYOVER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #23 of 195 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    461
    143
    66
    18
See reviews for
176
681
77
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here as a stopover whilst travelling to the South of France from the UK.On arrival we found it very difficult to find a safe place to pullover so had to make several laps around the block!
When we did find a space our car was promptly parked by the doorman.
We then proceeded to check in and asked to book a table for the restaurant but was told it was full so then had to think about finding somewhere else to eat.We were not shown to our room but just given directions.The room was adequate but very small.The bed however was very comfortable.
The bathroom was very compact & dated.The toilet flush was of some concern due to the fact that it was a small press in button which one can only imagine the germs lurking inside!
We arrived at the breakfast room at approx 8.30am and were told there were no free tables so would not be able to have a breakfast....We do feel the hotel should be able to cater for the number of guests staying at the hotel,this was very disappointing.
With the above in mind and the price charged for the rooms we would not return to this Hotel.

Room Tip: Book breakfast and dinner in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Ideal location, wonderful room and service, we could not have hoped for more. The Royal Suite corner rooms are a perfect size, very comfortable and quiet. Lyon is a wonderful place to visit and we need to return to see everything and again to stay at this fine hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leverkusen, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
934 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I recently stayed for one night at this centrally located city hotel on a short business trip to Lyon. The check in was warm and friendly and perfectly efficient. The ricketty lift struggled in taking me up to my single room on the top floor overlooking the street. Fortunately one of the cleaning staff, I found lurking in the corridor, helped me to get into my room (the key system is not easy). Whilst having all the essentials (bed, bathroom, TV etc) it was really on the borderline in terms of size and my room had certainly seen better days. I kept the window open overnight to clear the stuffy air and I was glad that I wasn't on an extended stay here.
The breakfast room was fine, albeit on the small size. The choice was also good and all the personnel were really friendly and chatty. But the price of breakfast was ridiculous, as was the overall cost of the stay. I guess that this has something to do with its location and the association with the Institut Paul Bacuse.
In all, a pleasant enough place but certainly not up to the standards I expect for the price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyekaytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The location of the hotel is really good as it is situated opposite Place Bellecour.The service is good and everyone is really friendly.The decoration is different of what you may used to but you will most probably end up liking it as the hotel has a unique style.The breakfast is amazing with a very french feel.I strongly recommend it,I had a great experience!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Le Royal hotel is situated at a great location in town, and that is one of the main reasons we chose this hotel during our short stay in Lyon.
We arrived with our rental car around noon, the concierge quickly took care of the vehicle for us, which was a great relieve. We booked 2 rooms but were assigned rooms on different floors. We asked the reception if he could give us rooms on the same floor but he told us that the hotel was full.
The first room which me and my husband took on the 2nd floor was fine, decent sized and beautifully decorated. As with most French hotels we have encountered, the toilet was separated from the bathroom. There was nothing to fault except that it was quite tricky to open the door with the key. A housekeeping staff kindly helped us and explained that we need to pull the door while turning the key.
The other room on the 3rd floor, which was for my parents, was smaller. Bathroom was very tiny together with the toilet, my dad had to 'hug' the toilet roll on one side while doing his business. Mind you, we are small-framed people.
Later, we figured that the larger room was in a corner of the building, while the smaller room was in the middle.
In addition, there was no electric kettle provided for boiling water, but there was a coffee machine.
However, the view from the balcony of both rooms is amazing. Heating in the room and bathroom is good. Breakfast is excellent too, the waitresses were very attentive in serving the guests with hot drinks, juices, and eggs cooked to our requests.

Overall, Le Royal is a comfortable and luxurious hotel. I would loved to come back again, only if we get a corner room with decent space.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TCKLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cour des Loges
#9 of 195 in Lyon
1,279 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Address: 20 Place Bellecour, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lyon
#17 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#18 Business Hotel in Lyon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an iconic establishment offering 72 rooms and suites, nestled in the heart of the city between the Rhone and Saone rivers. An exclusive address for travellers who enjoy the French art de vivre, discrete elegance and naturally courteous service. Feel at home in our Cote Cuisine dining room or in our Cote Bellecour lounge, for a civilised meal or beverage overlooking the Place Bellecour. (The Hotel is a member of the MGallery collection). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing