We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming with great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #19 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is so charming and helpful. I locked my key in my room. They were happy to assist. The room was small but was just me so all was stay here. It is a wAlk to shopping. Great wine bars to relax in and across the bridge to you can into old lyon that is just over the top lovely. You have to go over there if you are in lyon.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank RebeccaWaldrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 1,371 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

A long overdue review -- hubs and I stayed here on a trip from Paris through the Loire Valley to Lyon. The rooms were beautiful & the service impeccable. Everyone was super-friendly and helpful -- we had an issue with the rental car that we had gotten in Paris (a gas-guzzling boat) & the wonderful concierge spent half an hour on the phone with the car rental agency helping us swap it out. The room they originally gave us was lovely, but dark, so I asked for one with more light, and they gave us one of my favorite hotel rooms to this day -- gorgeous red brocade wallpaper with a view of the square! And the breakfast....oh, the breakfast. I still dream about it. Fabulous coffee and fresh yogurt in Weck jars.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CityGirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay here... the suite we had was huge and very well appointed. Perhaps needing a renovation/makeover but it still retains enough of its character and charm with the lovely decor and the rooms are clean and have everything you need.
The location is excellent, right in the thick of the action on Place Bellecour... very handy for shopping, sightseeing and its proximity to the metro.
We would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Lyon.

Room Tip: Try to get a suite overlooking Place Bellecour if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

An old hotel with a historical cozy ambiance. The staff seemed very unprofessional, though trying their best it seemed. The room was small but in good taste with a spacious bathroom. A small balcony facing the square. The air conditioning and sound proofing ok in the room. The bar was hot and stuffy and the breakfast room dark and uninviting (better to take it in the room). One of the really good things was the restaurant! Fabulous food to very good price!

Room Tip: Always check the room before taking it! Higher floors less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LocLorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were very disappointed with our one night stay at Le Royal.

First impressions were good - bellboy was quickly out to the car, removed the baggage and whisked it away to the garage (extra cost of €21 but well worthwhile).

Receptionist was a little snooty, made a lot of fuss about the timing of our dinner table at the Paul Bocuse Institute Restaurant that is attached to the hotel (reviewed separately), insisting that as they had two sittings, we had to vacate our 19.30 table at 20.45 - we were been provided with menus in advance to speed things along which tuned out to be out of date!

Ironically, the items we had chosen had been dropped from the menu in force!

In the event, we finished the meal at 21.15, timing depended more on the restaurants speed of service us rather than our speed of consumption!

The common parts of the hotel were very faded, dirty in some areas and all badly needed some fresh paint. The room itself was tiny (room 203) although the bed was a good size and comfortable, the bathroom was miniscule - to sit on the toilet meant resting your left forearm on the toilet roll holder.

The room was boiling when we arrived to the degree that we had to go out and leave the rather feeble air conditioning to try to make it habitable - a true luxury hotel would ensure that the temperature was right prior to the guests arriving.

The bathroom ceiling was coming apart with the extractor fan wobbling loosely within it, the hot tap label within the tap was missing and the lock on the door had been replaced yet the patch of unstained wood - the [revious lock had been larger than the current lock) had not been restrained and varnished.

Breakfast at €25 per head in a hot room with no light and ventilation was passed over in favour of a first class €9 formula breakfast on an outside table in the sunshine at the Cafe de France

On the positive side, we had a good view from the room of the Place Bellecour.but overall, our bill for €260 represented very poor value for money.

Would strongly avoid that you avoid this establishment and use a taxi to get you to the centre of Lyon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarwoodEvents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Second time visiting a M Gallery hotel and this experience was not so great as the first one. This hotel has seen better times and lacks some renovation. But it still keeps its character, the decoration is lovely and is clean. Plus, the location is great. Right in place Bellecour, meters away from the Metro and minutes walking away from the old town, and quartier 1.
We reserved a room with double bed and we got one with two bed. After talking about it with the receptionist we got a new room, which was a lot bigger than the first one.
The staff (reception) were polite but "dry", the cleaning ladies were a lot friendlier, and the night receptionist was very nice.

Room Tip: The rooms to the inner yard are very quiet but the view is horrible, so it's up to you :-) Place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaboswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Second visit to MGallery hotels. First was the charming hotel in Interlaken, Switzerland, Le Royal in Lyon we have chosen after pleasant first experience with MGallery hotels.
Overall nice hotel, I would doubt 5* as the room and some facilities were little run down.
Check in was no problem, fast and efficient.
We got room on 5th floor. Room was spacious, with huge and very, very comfortable double bed, which is always a plus. Batroom was not big, but functional with good selection and quality of toileteries.
Damadges on doors, walls etc. would need an update and touch ups.
Worse was think, that it was close to impossible to close balcony door. Very poor quality hardware was used here. And ... The "view" was terrible. The building looks horrible, not renovated and run down. From the street side its ok, but the yard is no go for 5 star facility.
Hanging cables, falling walls etc. But well, as it was outside, we tried not to think about it. I tried to get another room upon arrival, but I have been told they all are booked out. Which was not really true, because it was still possible to book them online. I booked via online broker, so we were treated differently then other guests, I guess, as we have payed less. This attitude I don't like.
We have not tried the breakfast, as the weather was great and it was a pleasure to eat outside.
Reception stuff i would rate 50:50 on friendliness, especialy we liked night shift.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with the views on Bellcoure square, to avoid the shock of the yard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xdavidox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#10 of 194 in Lyon
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Villa Florentine
#16 of 194 in Lyon
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection

Address: 20 Place Bellecour, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#18 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £113 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an iconic establishment offering 72 rooms and suites, nestled in the heart of the city between the Rhone and Saone rivers. An exclusive address for travellers who enjoy the French art de vivre, discrete elegance and naturally courteous service. Feel at home in our Cote Cuisine dining room or in our Cote Bellecour lounge, for a civilised meal or beverage overlooking the Place Bellecour. (The Hotel is a member of the MGallery collection). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing