We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #19 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We have stayed in this hotel before and love the hotel. This time I booked a suite, but I would not bother doing this again, although there were two bathrooms the sitting area is not inviting and the couch ( which is also a foldaway bed) is so uncomfortable . The breakfast room is lovely and so is the breakfast, we were also very lucky to be able to dine in the new restaurant ( which is booked out for 5 weeks ,lunch and dinner). The food was wonderful and not too expensive. I would recommend making a booking. The staff were all friendly and especially the concierge was vert helpful with our luggage and car. Altogether a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cheryl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, Directeur général at Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014
Google Translation

Cher client, Nous vous remercions pour cet avis sur votre séjour au Royal Hôtel Lyon! Votre satisfaction est une réelle motivation et nous transmettons vos compliments à notre équipe! Nous espérons vous revoir très prochainement,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 1,356 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MGallery Hotels
Thank janet k
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Nice clean hotel overlooking Bellecour Square. Very helpful staff, walking distance of transportation and old town. Many good restaurants nearby. Tourist office is just across the road and FIFA quarter finals were shown on big screen in the square.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoxall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We spent 4 nights here this summer. The room was beautiful - very old school. All of the staff was very helpful and accommodating. The concierge went out of his way to help us plan a day trip to wine country. The location is excellent - right in the middle of the city with many restaurants and nightclubs as well as shopping nearby. The metro stop is literally across the street and the Lyon tourist headquarters is also across the street. We couldn't have asked for more!!

Room Tip: Ask for a street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schirms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is so charming and helpful. I locked my key in my room. They were happy to assist. The room was small but was just me so all was stay here. It is a wAlk to shopping. Great wine bars to relax in and across the bridge to you can into old lyon that is just over the top lovely. You have to go over there if you are in lyon.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank RebeccaWaldrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

A long overdue review -- hubs and I stayed here on a trip from Paris through the Loire Valley to Lyon. The rooms were beautiful & the service impeccable. Everyone was super-friendly and helpful -- we had an issue with the rental car that we had gotten in Paris (a gas-guzzling boat) & the wonderful concierge spent half an hour on the phone with the car rental agency helping us swap it out. The room they originally gave us was lovely, but dark, so I asked for one with more light, and they gave us one of my favorite hotel rooms to this day -- gorgeous red brocade wallpaper with a view of the square! And the breakfast....oh, the breakfast. I still dream about it. Fabulous coffee and fresh yogurt in Weck jars.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CityGirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay here... the suite we had was huge and very well appointed. Perhaps needing a renovation/makeover but it still retains enough of its character and charm with the lovely decor and the rooms are clean and have everything you need.
The location is excellent, right in the thick of the action on Place Bellecour... very handy for shopping, sightseeing and its proximity to the metro.
We would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Lyon.

Room Tip: Try to get a suite overlooking Place Bellecour if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#10 of 194 in Lyon
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Villa Florentine
#16 of 194 in Lyon
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection

Address: 20 Place Bellecour, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lyon
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#18 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £116 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an iconic establishment offering 72 rooms and suites, nestled in the heart of the city between the Rhone and Saone rivers. An exclusive address for travellers who enjoy the French art de vivre, discrete elegance and naturally courteous service. Feel at home in our Cote Cuisine dining room or in our Cote Bellecour lounge, for a civilised meal or beverage overlooking the Place Bellecour. (The Hotel is a member of the MGallery collection). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing