We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,437)
Filter reviews
1,437 results
Traveller rating
679
508
159
71
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
679
508
159
71
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaul bocuseplace bellecourcooking schoolbellecour squarebreakfast roomoverlooking the squareold townbeautiful hotelperfect locationboutique hotelcomfortable bedthree nightsjunior suitethe riverbeautiful roombreakfast was includedloved this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
284 - 289 of 1,437 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel met all of our expectations. The location is prime, right in the middle of the city and walking distance to everything!. The staff was very hospitable, helpful, and friendly. The room was clean, comfortable, and spacious for European standards. The hotel decor was excellent. We didn't get a chance to try their restaurant but there is no doubt the food would be exceptional, after all it IS Lyon! We recommend this hotel and will be sure to stay here again. HabbyTravels .com

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HabbyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

If your planning a visit to Lyon you may be tempted to stay in this centrally located hotel that also houses the Paul Bocuse cooking school. Don't.
On arrival it was covered in scaffolding, the main elevator didn't work and the staff where about as pretentious as I've ever experienced in France, not even bothering to look you in the face when talking to you.
The breakfast is an hot sweaty little box of a room with no air con in August...and 25 euros each for nothing special.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Pontneuf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BARBARA C, Director of Sales at Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry to hear your experience did not meet your expectations.
Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We have at the moment hotel's facade renovation until the end of october . It is not our habits to have so much of disfonctionnements

For you next stay in Lyon, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards

Barbara CARBONNEL
Sales Manager
H2952-SL@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We spent two nights at the Hotel Le Royal and had a wonderful stay. The staff was exceptionally nice and helpful. We got a suite which was huge and beautiful for the price. The king bed was very comfortable and the views of Bellecour Square were phenomenal. There were two bathrooms which were average but certainly adequate. You cannot beat the location - right in the heart of everything, walk to anything. This hotel is not top-tier luxury but is an outstanding value.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlb464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We have stayed in this hotel before and love the hotel. This time I booked a suite, but I would not bother doing this again, although there were two bathrooms the sitting area is not inviting and the couch ( which is also a foldaway bed) is so uncomfortable . The breakfast room is lovely and so is the breakfast, we were also very lucky to be able to dine in the new restaurant ( which is booked out for 5 weeks ,lunch and dinner). The food was wonderful and not too expensive. I would recommend making a booking. The staff were all friendly and especially the concierge was vert helpful with our luggage and car. Altogether a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cheryl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick G, Directeur général at Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014
Google Translation

Cher client, Nous vous remercions pour cet avis sur votre séjour au Royal Hôtel Lyon! Votre satisfaction est une réelle motivation et nous transmettons vos compliments à notre équipe! Nous espérons vous revoir très prochainement,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MGallery Hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews