We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite disappointed actually...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #23 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quite disappointed actually...”
Reviewed 20 August 2009

I had read all the reviews and wish I had chosen another hotel now! The good points were that my room (106) was sweet and charming if on the small side, the bed was deliciously comfortable and the room was quiet - plus I liked the balcony. But, I was a single female traveller arriving quite late with work to do in the evening so I had chosen Le Royal over the nearby Sofitel because the Sofitel's main restaurant is shut - and I wanted just to have a dinner in the hotel or room service.

Le Royal had no room service menu - so went down to reception and they said their restaurant was shut (no explanation or warning) but they could offer me a sandwich or a cold plate. The sandwich was as small as it was soggy as it was expensive - i.e. very.

Plus, contrary to my room description - no dressing gown, no slippers etc - no big deal but I had visions of snuggling in my dressing gown having a treat of something lovely to eat in my room!

Oh, and the key system is very complicated - I am an intelligent person but I had to go down to reception to find out how to get into my room! I see I am not the only traveller to have this problem - really embarrassing - why don't they just tell you!!!

So, disappointing and not worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank em2481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    449
    139
    63
    18
See reviews for
173
653
75
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Wanted a hotel that was a bit different from the normal chains and we definitely found that here. The decor of the public rooms and bedrooms was lovely, even down to the framed silk prints on the corridor walls and the silver fobs on the door key.

Staff we dealt with were hepful and welcoming and our room was beautiful - one set of windows and one set of french doors overlooking the square. Huge comfortable bed that was turned down nightly, with chocolates left one night, sweets the next. We were also given a tin of tea and free water.

Corridor lights are activated by movement, so come on as soon as you appear . The front door of the hotel , which opens onto Place Bellecour, is locked at night, which gives a feeling of extra security.

Had no problem finding the hotel. We drove in from Vichy, to the west, and had prebooked parking, as they do not have a car park that is actually at the hotel. We also walked down from Fourviere, the amphitheatre that sits atop of Lyon, at midnight, and felt perfectly safe doing so.(Summer concerts are held in the amphitheatre - we had tickets for Jamie Cullem and can truly say it was one of the best concerts we have ever been to)

All in all, lovely hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tubster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

Excellent location, clean, quiet, and a fantastic conceriege named Habib. He was super helpful. He took lots of time with us and gave us excellent choices on dining, currency exchange and more. Extremely nice and helpful man.

The breakfast was an experience. Everyone needs to do it. It's so France. The food was fantastic, the service incredible, and the ambience of the breakfast room perfect. So what if its 20euros. If you can't do a 20euro breakfast stay home and get the crap at Bob Evans. This is food at its best.

My only criticism is that the women at the front desk were chilly and not helpful at times. I had a phone card and asked if it would work in the hotel room phone. The women working the desk was shaming as if I was doing something bad or illegal. I didn't like that. They seem to need more training in customer service.

I do recommend this hotel and I would return with no hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coyotetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas Rush
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

I don't know what it was about this hotel but I loved it. It sits right on a corner of a central square in Lyon. Its very clean, rooms are great but there's something else. Its details maybe. I notice little things - mostly because they annoy me. For example the light switch near the bed is too far away - stuff like that. Not a single detail in this hotel annoyed me in the slightest. Someone in this hotel is paying very careful attention to everything and everything that is out of place or not working properly is fixed - at least everything in our rooms was. A wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Living overseas but from Geneva, I decided after 40 years to finally visit Lyon... I selected Le Royal based on this website's review, and I was not disappointed. Le Royal is a very pleasant hotel with a homely kind of countryside feeling in the middle of Lyon. Very well located on Place Bellecour. We were kindly assigned a very nice suite in a Rotonde over the square, a very nice first impression of this delightful city, which we were able to enjoy walking through the old part without having to take much taxis and public transportation.
The breakfast and the way it is displayed with fresh local products was a delight. We had the feeling of taking the dishes from kitchen in a private home. I have no point of comparaison in Lyon but can only recommend Le Royal to whoever wants to have a nice breakaway in this city. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baanbellerive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
156 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

I find France to be a difficult country for hotels, so I was happy to see that Le Royal had quite good reviews on this website. And rightly so! Although it's not sheer luxury, the hotel is well appointed and very well maintained, and occupies a nice building right on the main square of Lyon.

We had a room on the top floor (5) which I believe has lower ceilings than the other floors, but it was absolutely fine. The room was very comfortable, nicely decorated, light, and very clean. As another reviewer remarked, the aircon seemed slightly feeble: there is not much cold air coming out, but we kept it on during the entire day and that did the trick (just). The bathroom was usual size, but the bath tub seemed larger than usual. Shower was fine, but the temperature fluctuated a little bit which I think should not be the case in a hotel of this category. Breakfast is madly expensive at 22 euros per person; I think only business travellers are prepared to spend that much (and we didn't think of asking for a cheap continental breakfast as another reviewer suggests - brilliant idea!).

The only drawback to this hotel is that it does not connect very well with the airport bus. The bus only calls at Part-Dieu and Perrache railway stations, the latter being the closest at 10-15 minutes walk or 2 metro stops. But perhaps the best thing to do is to get off the bus at either Grange Blanche or Mermoz-Pinel and change to metro line D there, which runs straight to Bellecourt square. This could easily save you 30 minutes travel time from the airport to the hotel because you avoid the traffic in the centre.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Jetten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2009

My wife, my 4 year daugther and I stayed at this hotel for one night. Proximity to shopping, subway and restaurants made it very convineant for us to get around. Frontdesk was extremely professional and helpful. Deluxe room that we stayed in was big enough and was extremely comfortable. The bed was extremely comfoy that actually made us oversleep. If you are in Lyon for pleasure or business, I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsaTerzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cour des Loges
#10 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Villa Florentine
#7 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Address: 20 Place Bellecour, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lyon
#17 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#18 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an iconic establishment offering 72 rooms and suites, nestled in the heart of the city between the Rhone and Saone rivers. An exclusive address for travellers who enjoy the French art de vivre, discrete elegance and naturally courteous service. Feel at home in our Cote Cuisine dining room or in our Cote Bellecour lounge, for a civilised meal or beverage overlooking the Place Bellecour. (The Hotel is a member of the MGallery collection). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing