We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Details lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #17 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2009

The hotel is nice - but then you expect that for the money. It lets you down when it comes to the details.

Room is nice (great beds) - but bathroom smallish and the sink had cracks
You step onto the balcony - and you wished you hadn't as it is dirty as hell
Room has wifi - but despite you paying a couple of hundred EURs for the room that is an extra...but at the closeby McDo it is for free
Staff - typical arrogant French attitude...you address them in English, they speak back in French

Next time I would try another hotel as I paid a little bit too much for this...but the location is good

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wolrdwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 1,391 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2009

In Lyon for a friend's wedding, we found the Royal a lovely launching pad for seeing the city. It's close to the main shopping drag and the old city. The bed are hard to wake up from, there are chocolates by the helpful front desk, and the two bathrooms in our small suite definitely enhanced the romance of the occasion. Some decor elements are off, but altogether it's a stylish place to stay. Disappointed by the lack of solid room service.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eveonleave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2009

This hotel is located in front of bellacour palace.It is very convinient.
The hotel looks old(many hotel in France are, anyway), but inside the hotel is very clean and comfortable.

The room is spacy, and bathtab and toilet are clean.

I would recomment this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amnaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

The location and breakfast are probably the only things worth highlighting as everything else was rather disappointing but not disastrous.

Le Royal is near some excellent restaurants (well there are many excellent restaurants in Lyon anyway) and the hotel breakfast is legendary..even the dining room itself is worth a visit! It's an easy stroll to the shops and the old city.

However, apart from the chintz decor which becomes charming after a while, there is little to set the hotel apart and absolutely no amenities (no gym, pool or spa) and the rooms, though large enough, are rather tired especially the bathrooms. The outside of the hotel is very inviting and you feel as if you're entering a very chic hotel but that's it!

I will also mention the salon with nostalgic music and wonderful selection of cognac and views over the square..perfect for relaxing after a long walk trough the city or for a nightcap.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serendipity1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2009

The room was clean and very upscale. Service was excellent. Would stay again. xcellent location to shops and restaurants.
Also spent a day having french cooking lessons it was fantastic. Chef Jean Marc Villard was head chef and instructor for Paul Bocuse for over 10 years. his website is http://www.cuisinedechef.com/index.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

This is what a 4 star hotel should be like. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are nicely decorated with lovely bathrooms. The location is perfect - right in the middle of everything and surrounded by cafes and restaurants Their restaurant suggestions were great. I left my diamond earrings behind and they were very quick to have them safely returned to us. I wouldn't stay anywhere else while in Lyon.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntrepidSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Located in the heart of Lyon, this hotel is fantastically positioned to act as a base to explore the city. The room was well appointed and the bed was incredibly comfortable. We were a little disappointed to find no hot drink facilities in the room. I would also have liked the iron and ironing board to be in the room and not to have to ask at reception for them. However, these issues seemed to be standard throughout our trip around the south of France so are probably not specific to this hotel. My only major disappointment was the lack of free wi-fi which could be a deal breaker for business people. Despite that lack I would definitely stay here again because it was a great start to our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#10 of 194 in Lyon
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Villa Florentine
#15 of 194 in Lyon
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection

Address: 20 Place Bellecour, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#18 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £111 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an iconic establishment offering 72 rooms and suites, nestled in the heart of the city between the Rhone and Saone rivers. An exclusive address for travellers who enjoy the French art de vivre, discrete elegance and naturally courteous service. Feel at home in our Cote Cuisine dining room or in our Cote Bellecour lounge, for a civilised meal or beverage overlooking the Place Bellecour. (The Hotel is a member of the MGallery collection). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing