We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #23 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Marvellous”
Reviewed 21 February 2010

in the heart of Lyon, and in front of a beautful square.
The rooms are cozy and elegant.
Friendly staff and great food.
Cant miss the breakfast, feels like home..
Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJVII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    454
    140
    63
    18
See reviews for
174
660
75
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2010

My husband and I stayed here on a recent trip to Lyon. We were familiar with the area, but didn't realize how convenient the hotel was to the metro, Place Bellecour, and other areas of interest. Staff was hepful and very patient with us since we didn't speak French. Part of Institut Paul Bocuse and the high standards of the institute were evident.
The hotel is a french dream, toile furnishings in the lobby and rooms, all color coordinated to create the perfect environment for a lovely stay. Our room overlooked the square so we had plenty of light . Noise was not a problem at all. The beds were heavenly with fluffy duvets and nice pillows. The hotel is so clean and appealing with an old world feel that I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYTravelGal51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

A truly astonishing surprise! Delightful old classic property right on the main square. lovingly maintained. Great location - metro station just across the street. Large room, with balcony overlooking the square, terrific beds and large, modern bath. Staff attentive and professional - concierge's recommendations on restaurants were terrific. LOVED our stay!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDFinMIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

Overall Impressions and Staff: Delightful hotel and staff. Polite, helpful, charming, English fluent. We loved the staff here and they were so sweet to our dog who was traveling with us. Summary: Loved this place and would stay there again should we happen to visit Lyon again.

Location: Brilliant. In the heart of the town and just one transfer on the Metro away from Gare Part Deux (main station). The hotel is literally across the street from a metro stop. It was pure perfection.

Charm: This is a super wonderful boutique hotel that was reasonably priced. I loved the design, the charm, the use of color and other design effects that went to create a cool, yet funky, yet traditional space. I loved it! It was great.

Rooms: Comfortable and beautifully appointed! Loved it. Loved the big bathroom with separate shower stall (from the bathtub). Nice products and sizeable. Impressive. If you can, get a room with a view of the square or at any rate, a room with more light. Our room faced a light well that was pretty wide, but yet, it made for a room that was slightly darker than we would have preferred.

Breakfast: Excellent room with plenty of options. Delicious and classy experience. Great staff. Again, loved it!

This hotel was worth every Euro that I spent there. We were there in Lyon (great city) for two nights and this hotel made it all the more enjoyable.

Stay here!

Also, Lyon is the French Culinary Capital (or so we have been told) and it delivered. Great food here and great culture. Superb walking city with an amazing old town, stunning architecture and well lit buildings which make for joyful evening walks. A mini and human scaled Paris, Lyon has it's own stamp. It's own charm. A great city and a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZestfulLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2009

Great location, great service and great decoration.

One incident during our stay.. fire alarm was triggered during the night - everybody went down to the lobby and power was out for around 3 hours that night.

It would be better if hotel staffs gathered all non-French speaking guest and keep them informed.. it happened that most communications were in French and we can just wait.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2009

The hotel is nice - but then you expect that for the money. It lets you down when it comes to the details.

Room is nice (great beds) - but bathroom smallish and the sink had cracks
You step onto the balcony - and you wished you hadn't as it is dirty as hell
Room has wifi - but despite you paying a couple of hundred EURs for the room that is an extra...but at the closeby McDo it is for free
Staff - typical arrogant French attitude...you address them in English, they speak back in French

Next time I would try another hotel as I paid a little bit too much for this...but the location is good

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolrdwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

In Lyon for a friend's wedding, we found the Royal a lovely launching pad for seeing the city. It's close to the main shopping drag and the old city. The bed are hard to wake up from, there are chocolates by the helpful front desk, and the two bathrooms in our small suite definitely enhanced the romance of the occasion. Some decor elements are off, but altogether it's a stylish place to stay. Disappointed by the lack of solid room service.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eveonleave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cour des Loges
#10 of 194 in Lyon
1,246 reviews
Villa Florentine
#7 of 194 in Lyon
704 reviews
Hotel des Celestins
#15 of 194 in Lyon
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Address: 20 Place Bellecour, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lyon
#17 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#18 Business Hotel in Lyon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an iconic establishment offering 72 rooms and suites, nestled in the heart of the city between the Rhone and Saone rivers. An exclusive address for travellers who enjoy the French art de vivre, discrete elegance and naturally courteous service. Feel at home in our Cote Cuisine dining room or in our Cote Bellecour lounge, for a civilised meal or beverage overlooking the Place Bellecour. (The Hotel is a member of the MGallery collection). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing