We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location and perfectly charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #22 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect location and perfectly charming”
Reviewed 29 September 2010

The only bad part of our visit to Le Royal Hotel Lyon is that we could only stay one night! Between this fabulous hotel, the lovely city, and the outstanding meal we had at Le Cafe des Federations we will certainly be back to spend more time in Lyon.

The hotel is in a wonderful location with short walking distance to Old Town and many shops, cafes, and restaurants in the area as well.

Hotel staff was gracious, discreet, and ready to help in any way possible.

The decor is lovely; many/most of the pieces and furnishings were custom designed for the hotel, be sure to pick up a brochure from the front desk, it is quite interesting. Although a large hotel it feels inviting, comfortable, and almost like you are the only guest there (and we certainly weren't).

Rooms are generously sized with great bedding. Baths are lovely as well.

Breakfast is pricey but is generous and well done. If you are into just the "croissant and coffee" morning snack rather than a full breakfast there are a number of cafes and coffee stands within very short walking distance of the hotel.

Unless you can get a special deal, Le Royal is on the expensive side but is well worth the money. Good value.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimsanjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    440
    138
    63
    18
See reviews for
166
642
74
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We were only in Lyon one night so wanted a place that was central to the Old Town and this location was great. We paid to have a good location and it was worth it. Everything I wanted to see on our fast visit was close by. The room was lovely and very quiet. The staff was excellent and helped us with our driver as the roads all around the hotel had been closed due to a festival.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajtraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Just simply grand. A stately hotel that feels like home with a freshness provided by the young hotel students. Ok there might be the occasional slip in service but you can't fault their commitment so get over it. Make an effort to praise the work of the young staff and you will be rewarded 10 fold. Don't miss breakfast. We enjoyed a junior suit, a wonderful room and worth the extra. Location superb. A few quite moments in the bar. Thank you Mr Bocuse for investing in the next generation of hotel professionals training at Hotel Le Royal Lyon.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UpfrontAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
149 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

It's great that hotels such as this one still survive. Something of the 'haughty old dame' about the place with lots of curios on display everywhere. One gets the feeling that this hotel hasn't changed much in the last 100 years and it's none the worse for that.

Professional staff, good rooms with most facilities and mine had a huge bathroom. Breakfast was good for a city centre hotel, plenty of choice.

This hotel is situated right on the main square in Lyon, walking distance from lots of shops and some of the finest restaurants in France.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eertpit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Thanks to those earlier reviewers for leading us to this hotel. We enjoyed Lyon and the hotel so much (free Wi -Fi) we ended up staying 6 nights. We had a junior suite with 2 bathrooms overlooking Place Bellecour which is about 100 metres from Rue des Marroniers where there is a cluster of outdoor restaurants. We did not breakfast at the hotel so cannot pass judgment, but the room was very attractive.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonvoyage8810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLaren Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

The Hotel Le Royal Lyon is a beautiful hotel located near the main square in Lyon and within easy walking distance to shops and restaurants.
The bedrooms are spacious with lots of room and are airconditioned which is great. The bedrooms were beautifully decorated. Bathrooms are also large with nice toiletries to use and everything that you would need.
Staff are helpful, friendly and polite and speak english.
The only negatives that we have were that the restaurant was not airconditioned and was very claustrophobic - no windows. There was a beautiful bar on the first floor however that too was not airconditioned and faced the afternoon sun which made it uncomfortable to sit in. If you are leaving early in the morning it is impossible to get a coffee which was a disappointment for such a high class hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We were very pleased with our stay at this hotel. We had a suite with a separate living room, and 2 bathrooms. The view over the square was wonderful and the decor of the room was charming. In particular, we found the staff to be friendly and very helpful. My husband was having problems in shipping his bike from the US to France and the concierge was incredibly helpful. All 3 concierges that we dealt with were great with suggestions for tours, sightseeing and dining, offered directions and maps, and always greeted us and asked how our excursions went when we returned to the hotel.
Breakfast is excellent with freshly baked breads and pastries, made-to-order eggs, fresh fruits, yogurt and cereal. The dining area and kitchen where breakfast is served is also very charming and the wait staff is pleasant. At 20 Euro, the breakfast is a bit expensive, but it was a good experience and we ate there every day.
A few previous reviews have stated there there are cracked tiles or that the hotel is in less than perfect repair. This is true - you will see some cracks and paint chips, but the hotel is clean, service is excellent and the atmosphere is charming. We didn't really mind these minor imperfections.
It has also been noted that storage was limited and there weren't enough hangers. This is somewhat true - we had a cabinet in our room the had shelves rather than drawers, and there were not enough hangers. But we brought a few wire hangers in anticipation of this, so it wasn't a problem.
The bed was wonderfully comfortable, the water pressure in the shower was good, the room was always a comfortable tempurature (even with highs in the 90's during our stay) and the lighting was good.
Another wonderful thing about this hotel is the location. It's right on Place Bellecour, the tour bus stop is 1 block away, and it's near great dining and shopping. We were very glad that we didn't stay in any of the hotels in the business district, as that area seemed crowded and lacking in character.
In short, we loved this hotel and would highly recommend a stay here if you are fortunate enough to visit Lyon.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMRtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cour des Loges
#10 of 193 in Lyon
1,212 reviews
Villa Florentine
#8 of 193 in Lyon
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Address: 20 Place Bellecour, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lyon
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#18 Business Hotel in Lyon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an iconic establishment offering 72 rooms and suites, nestled in the heart of the city between the Rhone and Saone rivers. An exclusive address for travellers who enjoy the French art de vivre, discrete elegance and naturally courteous service. Feel at home in our Cote Cuisine dining room or in our Cote Bellecour lounge, for a civilised meal or beverage overlooking the Place Bellecour. (The Hotel is a member of the MGallery collection). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing