We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for short stay over”
Review of Hotel Du Helder

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Du Helder
Ranked #167 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I booked this hotel before reading the reviews and nearly cancelled....

We stayed one night. It was adequate for one night, but for a longer stay we'd have booked somewhere closer to the sights.

the location was good for us as we had a River Cruise booked and it is close to Quai Claude Bernard where the ships dock.

We wished we had realised that the No.1 tram from Part Dieu station passes the door - it would have saved a half hour walk....

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megsimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2013 via mobile

Reception is welcoming. We stay at two differnt rooms and they both was facing to back court yard , but Guest weare opening their Windows and all the noise travel throug other rooms, couldn't sleep. It was a good deal but not a long stay. Location looks rough but we did not have any problem. By the Hotel to Walker old city is close and esay to AirPort .

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZaferBodrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Saw bad reviews of this place and was dreading staying there, but found it perfectly pleasant. I didn't pay to stay here out of my own pocket so won't comment on value for money. Room was basic but a decent size & clean. Area of town seemed perfectly normal, not scary/grimy as suggested - I walked back at 4.30am with a couple of others and didn't see anything/anyone intimidating or worrying. Overall perfectly happy with it and so surprised by the amount of poor reviews from others that I decided to write for the first time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Big_Poppa_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

Dated and in a dodgy part of town but within walking distance of everywhere. Breakfast was nice but rooms and bathrooms poor. Uncomfortable beds and housekeeping didn't always show up. If on a tight budget and not fussy then it's ok otherwise avoid if at all possible

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

the external view of the hotel is good in the hall as well and if you go during winter the room too....
probably in the past was a great hotel but now:no air conditioning,no fan,casual hot/cold water,no frigo bar,old/sagging matress and tho location is not too far but in a bad aerea of lyon!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Massimiliano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

It was so terrible!!!!!!!
Very little room - only for 2 bed.
And money, lap top, photocamera, dress and all cosmetics were stolen from our room.
There wasn't any help from hotel service in this situation - neither free internet to connect with friends nor free telephone calls!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Svetlana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I don't know what we were thinking. This hotel is in the GHETTO. It reeked of cigarettes & the first thing I thought was that this is where prostitutes bring their "clients."

Went upstairs. It was disgusting. My eyes burned from cigarette fumes. The bed "pillows" were more like flotation noodles & weren't even in cases. They were rolled into the top of the one sheet.

We left our stuff in the room & then got into the car. The car was silent. So finally we decided that this is no way to live & no amount of money is worth staying in a dump like that.

So we went back, grabbed our stuff & checked into the Best Western, which suddenly seemed like the four Seasons in comparison. And it was only a few euros more & has FREE wifi, not an additional €5 per night like this hovel.

I've stayed in hostels in South America for $15 per night & they were still a million times nicer.

Stay away. Stay FAR away. So gross.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ladymcgaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotel de la Marne
Hotel de la Marne
#124 of 196 in Lyon
151 reviews
Perrache - Charlemagne
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#102 of 196 in Lyon
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint Michel - Mairie
Hotel des Facultes
Hotel des Facultes
#155 of 196 in Lyon
66 reviews
Perrache - Charlemagne
Ibis Budget Lyon Centre Confluence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Helder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Helder

Address: 38 rue de Marseille, 69007, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range: £46 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Du Helder 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Du Helder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Helder Hotel
Du Helder Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing