We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Lyon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #4 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
An Accor traveller
1
Reviewed 5 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

608 - 614 of 1,468 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

I can highly recommend this hotel. Our 1pm check in went smoothly. As a family of four traveling with two college age sons we booked two rooms. For us the room size was just fine. The room for the boys was listed as "cozy" but was good sized with the double beds. Our room was the next level up and while not that much bigger was beautifully decorated in rich reds with a very large bathroom. The large bed was soft and comfortable. Prices at the bar and for breakfast were very expensive and we avoided both. The location is in the middle of everything and right on the pedestrian shopping center.

Room Tip: Some room do overlook the square. Our side street room was not a noise problem but there is not a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Italy05with5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We spent 3 nights here at the end of April, and were amazed by the quality of the hotel and service. The location is perfect, very central and an excellent base for exploring the city. The hotel has recently been renovated and looks brand new. The rooms were luxurious, large and very comfortable. The service was fantastic, all the staff were extremely helpful, and happy to do anything they could to make our stay more enjoyable. They were full of helpful ideas about what to do and where to eat. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Lyon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RocknRollJoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Really lovely hotel with very professional and organised staff.

Room was a little small but very nicely furnished.

Hotel was in the middle of the town so ideally placed to explore the shops and the old town.

Would definately stay here next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The Hotel Carlton was our saviour.
We (couple + baby) had been travelling for hours and just had a bad experience at a different hotel in Lyon upon checking in. We had reached the end of our tether. It was 7pm and we had walked the whole city (it felt like it) looking for an alternative. The guys (and girl) at the Carlton were AMAZING and they went out of their way to accommodate us. Honestly, we were overwhelmed. This sounds too good and like we are advertising for them but whatever.
For the hotel: the room you gave us was large, gorgeous and luxurious. We can't thank you enough for making our stay in Lyon special.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I should start by mentioning that I am an experienced traveler (I have been working and traveling as a consultant for a French company for the last 6 years). These being said there are two issues which should have not happened in a 4* hotel located in a property which received visibly large investments:

1. In the breakfast room there should be a notice regarding the hot dishes which can be ordered from the kitchen. The staff there seemed overcrowded even if during my stay there were roughly 50% of the tables occupied.

2. At check-in I asked and it was confirmed a late check-out for 16:00.
On the day of leave having arrived from the city at 15:00 we discovered with great surprise that our room was being cleaned and our luggage has been already shipped downstairs.
The first reaction of the staff on duty was that of disbelieve instead of fixing the problem. Things started to happen only after the manager appeared and we received some apologies. We had in our room an unopened bottle of water over which the cleaning lady graciously took possession. She returned it to us when we got the room back.

Things would have been good if they finished here. While waiting for our pickup taxi I noticed a series of rude smiles and small talk among the staff at the reception regarding what just happened. Should I mention that despite being a foreigner I speak French very well?

Short story long I've quit using Accor hotels 4 years ago due to poor services and decided to give them a chance again due to this fabulous property which had good reviews on Tripadvisor. It looks that I was wrong.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank StevenBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
231066, Directeur général at Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Dear Sir,

First of all, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience in the Carlton hotel. We re-opened only 4 months ago with a brand new decoration old fashion style in the heart of Lyon.
I have to admit the surprise I had in reading your review ! Each and every one of the employees are working very hard to satisfy every guest and attempt to preserve and increase the hotel's reputation, for the service we offer and for the quality of our facilities.
I am personally involved in making every stay memorable in the Carlton hotel since six years now.
I apologize for the misunderstanding regarding the late check-out asked during your arrival, unfortunately nobody remembers this special request.
The reception staff is always very professional and I am truly convinced that no employee would have spoken of this manner regarding the situation.
And finally as I didn't have the pleasure to meet you at the hotel as you have written in your comment, I stay at your entire disposal to exchange on this matter.

Sincerely,

Corinne Dupont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The hotel has just completely renovated. All the works have been done. It gave a luxurious feel right from the lobby with decadent decoration. Staff were helpful and speak fluent English.

The double room I got was on the small size but had enough room for two large luggages to be opened on the floor. The decoration was done in red and white, so it was refreshing and modern. In the same time, with all the designs on the wallpaper and carpet, it gave you luxurious feelings. The bathroom was huge with fully closed shower with a transparent door. (It was the only place in our trip with fully closed shower area.)

Everything was crisp clean. One still mineral water bottle and one sparkling mineral water bottle were given to us free everyday.

The location couldn't be better. Right under the hotel is a Sephora. On the corner of the hotel is the shopping street, with Printemps within 2 minute walk. 5-minute walk from the hotel, you will reach LV, Hermes, and the Bouillet chocolatier.

Highly recommended and I will definitely stay here again if I go to Lyon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Mr/Mrs W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#10 of 194 in Lyon
1,364 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection

Address: 4 rue Jussieu, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#1 Family Hotel in Lyon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#2 Business Hotel in Lyon
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#4 Green Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £121 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be enchanted by the Carlton Lyon hotel, located on the peninsula. Despite being fully renovated in 2013, it has retained its authenticity and personality, blending contemporary comfort with sophistication. Relax in one of the 80 tastefully decorated rooms or in the cozy atmosphere of the bar. The hotel is just a 5-minute walk from the Bellecour metro stop and is the ideal base for exploring Lyon, with its opera house, museums, the St. Jean cathedral and more. Located between the Rhone and Saone rivers, the Carlton Lyon hotel was built in 1894 as a "petit palace" in Lyon. Punctuated by its forged iron balconies, dome and rotundas, its splendid Haussmann facade echoes the refinement of its historical decor. The hotel's "Signature" rooms also highlight artists who have stayed there. Travelers will appreciate immersing themselves in the splendid adornments of the many talents that have visited the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing