We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #3 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We can highly recommend this hotel. We spent 2 days in Lyon and one night at this hotel. We are a family of 4 and booked 2 rooms and they were both excellent.
The welcome at the hotel was warm and friendly, wonderful service throughout our stay, and lots of attention to detail.
Excellent location and being very central, we parked the car and walked everywhere.
Everyone who works at the hotel is so friendly and courteous, and nothing is too much trouble.
Rooms are very quiet and extremely clean, as are the bathrooms. We were all very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy187153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    858
    309
    41
    5
    6
See reviews for
183
678
30
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Just renovated hotel right in the middle of everything. This is a typical boutique hotel that provides great service, attention to detail and a staff that is willing to provide you with any necessary assistance. The lift is a little jewel with a small bench that will be needed after your long walks. The rooms are all new, clean, smart and tiddy. The bathrooms are a good size with a great rain shower. Towels, robes and amenities all excellent as well as the bed and pillows. The rooms are QUIET which is what we mainly look for when travelling.The wi-fi is free, easy to load and works well. We were extremely happy with our stay. The only minor issue we had was the iron they provided. For this caliber they should spend a couple of more euros on a decent one.

Room Tip: The hotel does not have a restaurant but they work with one around the corner were you can order roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex,NC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

I can highly recommend this hotel. Our 1pm check in went smoothly. As a family of four traveling with two college age sons we booked two rooms. For us the room size was just fine. The room for the boys was listed as "cozy" but was good sized with the double beds. Our room was the next level up and while not that much bigger was beautifully decorated in rich reds with a very large bathroom. The large bed was soft and comfortable. Prices at the bar and for breakfast were very expensive and we avoided both. The location is in the middle of everything and right on the pedestrian shopping center.

Room Tip: Some room do overlook the square. Our side street room was not a noise problem but there is not a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Italy05with5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Barker, Western Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We spent 3 nights here at the end of April, and were amazed by the quality of the hotel and service. The location is perfect, very central and an excellent base for exploring the city. The hotel has recently been renovated and looks brand new. The rooms were luxurious, large and very comfortable. The service was fantastic, all the staff were extremely helpful, and happy to do anything they could to make our stay more enjoyable. They were full of helpful ideas about what to do and where to eat. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Lyon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RocknRollJoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Really lovely hotel with very professional and organised staff.

Room was a little small but very nicely furnished.

Hotel was in the middle of the town so ideally placed to explore the shops and the old town.

Would definately stay here next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

The Hotel Carlton was our saviour.
We (couple + baby) had been travelling for hours and just had a bad experience at a different hotel in Lyon upon checking in. We had reached the end of our tether. It was 7pm and we had walked the whole city (it felt like it) looking for an alternative. The guys (and girl) at the Carlton were AMAZING and they went out of their way to accommodate us. Honestly, we were overwhelmed. This sounds too good and like we are advertising for them but whatever.
For the hotel: the room you gave us was large, gorgeous and luxurious. We can't thank you enough for making our stay in Lyon special.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bertzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#10 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Villa Florentine
#9 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Mama Shelter Lyon
#5 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection
Address: 4 rue Jussieu, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#1 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#1 Family Hotel in Lyon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#2 Business Hotel in Lyon
#4 Green Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be enchanted by the Carlton Lyon hotel, located on the peninsula. Despite being fully renovated in 2013, it has retained its authenticity and personality, blending contemporary comfort with sophistication. Relax in one of the 80 tastefully decorated rooms, in the wellness center or in the cozy atmosphere of the bar. The hotel is just a 5-minute walk from the Bellecour metro stop and is the ideal base for exploring Lyon, with its opera house, museums, the St. Jean cathedral and more.StoryLocated between the Rhone and Saone rivers, the Carlton Lyon hotel was built in 1894 as a "petit palace" in Lyons. Punctuated by its forged iron balconies, dome and rotundas, its splendid Haussmann facade echoes the refinement of its historical decor.The hotel's "Signature" rooms also highlight artists who have stayed there. Travelers will appreciate immersing themselves in the splendid adornments of the many talents that have visited the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Prestigia, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing