We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #2 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
ATHENS, GREECE
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Great hotel...beautiful room.....amazing, friendly, helpful staff.....the best location! We stayed for 3 nights and we had a wonderful time! The location of Carlton Hotel in the heart of Lyon, couldn't be better! We loved the town and because i am sure that we are going to come again, we are definitely to stay at gorgeous Carlton Hotel!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but the ones with a view are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IZABELA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    875
    320
    42
    5
    6
See reviews for
190
690
31
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

I stayed at the Carlton in June because my regular hotel was not available. I liked it so much that I chose it again for my July trip (canceling my previously booked hotel). The location is perfect, right in the middle of the central district. This hotel has recently been remodeled, the rooms are clean, bright, and relatively quiet. My first stay was with my daughter and we had double room, which was large and spacious with a small balcony. (room 310). My next stay was a classic room, a bit smaller with a window that opens but no balcony. (room 211). Small rooms are the norm in France and the size was as expected.

The hotel staff are very helpful, friendly and outgoing. The hotel has a small bar off the lobby, and one of the better breakfasts in the Salle a Manger (buffet breakfast and eggs cooked to order!). There is no main restaurant, but next door is Le Centre by Georges, a 4 star restaurant that also provides room service meals for the Carlton. Absolutely fantastic food, and you MUST try the salted caramel creme eclair, best thing I ate in France!

I will continue to return to the Carlton, my new favorite Lyon hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PBspecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

This hotel has been recomended to us by friends and we were happy to enjoy the great hotel and perfect location !

We stayed only one night having a special offer for a Cosy double bed room with breakfast included.
Staff was very friendly and helpfull in answering our various tourist questions.

Perfect hotel location just in front of "Printemps" and in the same building as "Sephora".
Shopping area of "Boulevard de la République" is just in front of the hotel. All restaurants and bars are few minutes walk. Le Parking de la République is just next to the hotel (we paid around EUR 50.- for 24h...). Breakfast was served in a very nice service room, a lot of choice of fresh juices and different kind of food. Wifi is free and works well, only thing is that you need to re-connect each time, but this was not an issue.Very clean and modern hotel with very friendly staff, we will return again and will recomend this hotel to our friends & familly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melissas78us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimmi78
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and used it as a base to explore the Lyon region. The hotel room was very tastefully decorated (quite modern) and spacious. The location was perfect and is located very close the a public car park within 2 mins walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimmi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Ok guys, we need a little luxury along the way. It won't break the budget to do it. At an excellent price I was upgraded to a large room with a view of old Lyon. The lights were gorgeous at night. The huge breakfast was included as well. It was fun to have a big screen television as well as an espresso maker and a luxurious bathtub. As stated before, the area is perfect. My car was parked and picked up in a flash. The price was worth it. Make your lady, and yourself happy.

Room Tip: When I booked this room, I asked if I could have a view. Just be polite and if they can upgrade, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nellie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

The hotel staff here made me feel very welcome and were always able to help me with my daily questions - one of the staff made a point of personally saying goodbye to me in the street after I had checked out and was about to get into my taxi, I wish I had gotten his name to tell his manager just how kind he was.

The room was perfect, the shower a welcoming sight for tired, sore feet after walking throughout the city all day - 5 days in a row. The shower was like a spa in itself!

Perfectly situated by a carousel, beautiful food market, tourist attractions and great shopping. A very safe neighbourhood and within walking distance to everything. Quiet in the evenings which means a great night's rest.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for a home away from home.

Room Tip: For a more scenic view ask for a room that faces the carousel. I had one that faced the side street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FemmeAventuriere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#10 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Villa Florentine
#8 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection

Property: Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection
Address: 4 rue Jussieu, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lyon
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#1 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#2 Business Hotel in Lyon
#4 Green Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be enchanted by the Carlton Lyon hotel, located on the peninsula. Despite being fully renovated in 2013, it has retained its authenticity and personality, blending contemporary comfort with sophistication. Relax in one of the 80 tastefully decorated rooms, in the wellness center or in the cozy atmosphere of the bar. The hotel is just a 5-minute walk from the Bellecour metro stop and is the ideal base for exploring Lyon, with its opera house, museums, the St. Jean cathedral and more.StoryLocated between the Rhone and Saone rivers, the Carlton Lyon hotel was built in 1894 as a "petit palace" in Lyons. Punctuated by its forged iron balconies, dome and rotundas, its splendid Haussmann facade echoes the refinement of its historical decor.The hotel's "Signature" rooms also highlight artists who have stayed there. Travelers will appreciate immersing themselves in the splendid adornments of the many talents that have visited the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing