We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #3 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed for six nights and even before we set foot in the hotel I was impressed by the quality of service. I requested a room with a shower rather than a bath before we travelled as my husband is partially disabled and within an hour received a really friendly email back saying that it had been arranged. We were on the third floor in a beautifully designed room with a huge bathroom with a walk in shower. The king sized bed was comfortable and the flat screen HD TV was a treat. Breakfast was included in the price and there was a fabulous selection to chose from.

Every member of staff was professional, genuinely friendly and really helpful - nothing was too much trouble. They really are what makes this hotel such a joy to stay in.

The Carlton's location is perfect for exploring most places by foot and there are a number of buses that stop close by.

This really is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in and I am grateful to everyone that made it into a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nics218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

577 - 583 of 1,441 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank JulesAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed at the Carlton for one night in Lyon. The staff were helpful and generous of spirit. The new refurb is wonderful. The bed was possibly the most comfortable I've ever slept in. Completely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzieM83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two nights, way too short for Lyon. When we got there the receptionist offered us a more convenient room than the one we had reserved. She gave us great advise for dinner and drinks and was very helpful with our train reservations. The rooms are not huge, but very comfortable and the decor is very cool. The hotel is close to the Old City and most of the tourist attractions in Lyon. I will definitely stay there the next time go to Lyon.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet and far away from elevators and noise. Did not see a difference among rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hernan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

A beautiful hotel with pleasant, helpful staff. We were upgraded without even asking and for no charge, which was a lovely surprise! The central elevator, which is mostly glass, is a cool feature. The location was just perfect. Almost everything you want to see in Lyon is within walking distance. Even though our room overlooked a street, the double-windows (which do open wide) made it a very quiet room, easy to sleep in with very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gregobr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We only stayed at The Carlton for 1 night, however we can't fault it at all. Lovely room, and great location. We have 2 small children and had booked a family package which was 2 rooms that might be connected. Ours weren't and so reception upgraded us to a jnr suite at no extra cost as the kids were so young. Perfect service!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyWheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is a lovely hotel which had been recently refurbished. It was spotless throughout. We had booked one of the larger rooms and it was very spacious. The bathroom was also very spacious with places to put toilet bags! Air conditioning worked a treat - I like a cold room! This is often not the case with UK and European hotels. Our rate included breakfast and a Lyon Card which gave us a boat, local transport and entry to museums.

Staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful at all times.

The hotel is in an ideal location for exploring the city. Our rate included breakfast, a boat trip and local transport. The sightseeing bus stops are close by.

The city is easy to explore by foot but there are public transport options.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elma1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#10 of 194 in Lyon
1,346 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection

Address: 4 rue Jussieu, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lyon
#1 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#2 Business Hotel in Lyon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#4 Green Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £124 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be enchanted by the Carlton Lyon hotel, located on the peninsula. Despite being fully renovated in 2013, it has retained its authenticity and personality, blending contemporary comfort with sophistication. Relax in one of the 80 tastefully decorated rooms or in the cozy atmosphere of the bar. The hotel is just a 5-minute walk from the Bellecour metro stop and is the ideal base for exploring Lyon, with its opera house, museums, the St. Jean cathedral and more. Located between the Rhone and Saone rivers, the Carlton Lyon hotel was built in 1894 as a "petit palace" in Lyon. Punctuated by its forged iron balconies, dome and rotundas, its splendid Haussmann facade echoes the refinement of its historical decor. The hotel's "Signature" rooms also highlight artists who have stayed there. Travelers will appreciate immersing themselves in the splendid adornments of the many talents that have visited the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Carlton Lyon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing