We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern hotel close to the airport and train station” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Lyon La Part Dieu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Lyon La Part Dieu Hotel
Ranked #8 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    531
    60
    11
    5
See reviews for
206
506
115
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Very modern hotel, convenient for the main train station and adjacent to the direct tram link to the airport.

Not in the touristy old town part of Lyon, but the public transport is so good and cheap in Lyon it doesn't matter.

Had a nice large room with the biggest flat-screen TV we've ever seen. Didn't have food in the hotel as there are plenty of cafes / coffee-shops nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PB&SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We were only passing through Lyon and were so happy to have selected this hotel. The room was very nice with the added amenity of a sink in the toilet room. The linens were great, service friendly and the location was perfect (near station for subway / trains). Underground parking was also available and easy to find. We asked the staff and they did tell us that the hotel was NEW as of October 2011 which also explained why it felt so fresh and updated. We were right on the main street and didn't hear a sound. The windows are "doubled" -- so there were actually two sets of windows to open which explained why it was so quiet.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Furth, Österreich
Level Contributor
232 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Directly at the station but also with a garage (not free but you get 50 % discount as hotel guest), rooms are bigger than usual for France, Wifi is free. The breakfast is big enough and I had the best orange juice ever at that breakfast. But I also had the worst coffee ever. So please improve the coffee and keep the orange juice supplier. Receiptionists could speak perfect English.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naurithron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

The idea of a hotel right next to the main train station scared me since I have troubles sleeping in a noisy room. Luckily this hotel is brand new and has invested in soundproofing. The rooms are whisper quiet, big and luxurious. Breakfast was a bit disappointing though for a hotel in this price range, as was the lack of fast wi-fi. Only a limited time of slow internet is included in the price, totally unacceptable for a top class hotel, given the fact that even the cheapest B&B offers a fast wi-fi connection for free. Having said this, I would certainly return next time I stay in Lyon for business. Private travellers might find this hotel a bit expensive and can probably obtain better value for money in other town districts.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HotelManGent_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We had tossed up whether we stay in the old town in Lyon, or out here near the railway station, and we are SO happy we stayed here. We had arrived from Paris by train, and the hotel is right next to the railway station (though you don't hear any noise) meaning we didn't have to lug our suitcases far. The next day we hired a car from the railway station, again, right next door. And the tram to the airport when we left - leaves from opposite the hotel! So easy! To get into the old town and the Lyon centre you can just catch a metro/tram from the other side of Part Dieu station, which takes you right into town. It was perfect so we didn't have to carry our suitcases everywhere, but still easy to get around.

The hotel is new, with massive rooms, great bathrooms, a huge, comfy bed. For hotels in Europe, this room is about 3 times bigger than normal! Staff were friendly enough. We ate in the hotel one night, which was fairly average. There isn't a lot of choice for restaurants in the immeadiate area (some around the train station, some pubs there too) so you really have to go into town to get a decent meal, but as stated above, its easy enough to do.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank senorita08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012 via mobile

My wife and Instayed here for one night. After touring Provence, we arrived in the evening and flew to Rome the next morning so our stay was brief but long enough to determine without question that this hotel is a true find. Great value and wonderful, friendly staff. Breakfast was excellent as well. If you are looking for 5 star luxury this is not the place but on a 4 star level this hotel is great. I highly recommend it.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LA-Elvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mama Shelter Lyon
#6 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lyon La Part Dieu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lyon La Part Dieu Hotel

Property: Mercure Lyon La Part Dieu Hotel
Address: 50 rue de la Villette, 69003, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lyon La Part Dieu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the train station, The Mercure Lyon La Part-Dieu is located in the center of Lyon's business district, just a few steps from the historic heart of the city. Its location has direct access to both the airport and major road networks, making it ideal for business and leisure trips. Food served in the wine bar. The 323 sq.ft. (30 m2) soundproofed and air-conditioned rooms offer a warm welcome and relaxing atmosphere whether you are on your own or with your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Lyon La Part Dieu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing