We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quiet & comfortable hotel with outstanding staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
Ranked #9 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
407 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Very quiet & comfortable hotel with outstanding staff”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The "excellent" rating is for the high quality of the hotel, and not the location, which is not very attractive. However, it is very convenient for public transport, including the airport link.
Despite being next to the railway, the rooms are well insulated & very quiet.
I do not usually like "chain" hotels, but I was won over by the high quality of the rooms and the excellent & friendly welcome from all staff.
The restaurant menu is not extensive, but the quality & service were very good indeed. There is an extensive wine list, with several available by the glass.
The buffet breakfast was extremely good with a wide choice.
Note to the management: your receptionists and restaurant staff were outstandingly good.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grafran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    560
    66
    11
    5
See reviews for
215
530
116
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

A very nice, modern hotel. Clean, comfortable and all mod-cons. Nothing to complain about except a lack of character.

And the location, next to the train station and some distance from the main sites, is why I am scoring it down - the top rating of this hotel for Lyon is a surprise given the alternative places in a central location and with more character. I haven't stayed at any of them, but will report back in the future!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

A really nice modern hotel within easy walking distance of the main train station and the Lyon underground rail system for getting around. The hotel is in the business district, not old Lyon, but getting around was easy.
Used the restaurant which was very good, rooms were spacious, modern and clean. If you are hiring a car, all of the major suppliers (hertz, Europcar, Budget etc are all next door).
Rooms are soundproofed extremely well, so even though the train station is close, it isn't a problem.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012 via mobile

We selected this hotel because of the trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The room was everything other reviewers said and was surprisingly quiet. It was handy for the station and the metro and was a good centre. We ate on the hotel both nights we were there and had the chef's recommendations. Desserts were to die for. Good wine list. All in all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LMcC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed at the Hotel one night on our way from Zürich to the Provence. Rooms were clean and big and breakfast was good. Location very close to the train station, but far from the old town. Price value was very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AK24Mio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I stayed here on my own for two nights at the end of a holiday with friends in Provence - I was getting the Edinburgh flight home and also wanted to see Lyon. I was immediately made to feel very welcome by the reception staff and the same excellent level of service was apparent in the restaurant. The room was up to date, spacious and clean with tea and coffee making facilities, great bathroom and huge TV. The breakfast was good with a wide range of foods and beverages - the cost was included in the package I had booked. This package also included late check out which meant I was able to freshen up after a morning's sightseeing before leaving for my late afternoon flight.
Great location for me as I came straight off the train from Aix into the hotel within a few minutes, then it was a few steps over to the platform at the front of the hotel for the tram to the airport. Although it is in the business district it was easy to get the metro to the tourist area.

Room Tip: I always ask for a quiet room on the bookings site and usually hotels then try to put you upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

The hotel is situated directly opposite the Rhone Express tram stop and next to the Lyon Part Dieu train station. There is an underground car park which is charged at half the regular rate, but the hotel is difficult to find by car and all the usual car hire companies are located at the train station.

The hotel - one of three Accor brands located in the same new-build block (the others being Etap and All Seasons) is very clean. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and quiet with tea/coffee making facilities. A bottle of water is provided, though there is not a second added for double occupancy. One glaring omission from the room is a table and when my wife was ill and we had a pizza in the room there was nowhere that we could have eaten it. I guess that the same would hold true for breakfast, though there is a bench for computers that would be OK for solo occupancy.

The staff were always very helpful and the management should be proud of their standards.

Breakfast was mediocre - standard Mercure - and on the occasion of our visit both scrambled eggs and sausages were available. The sausages were OK, but the scrambled eggs were of poor quality. Clearly more reports are needed on this area.

In rating the hotel I have taken off a star for the lack of a table in the room and the mediocre eggs, and added a star to account for the professional and pleasant staff, thus arriving at four stars.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 194 in Lyon
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu

Property: Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
Address: 50 rue de la Villette, 69003, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the train station, The Mercure Lyon La Part-Dieu is located in the center of Lyon's business district, just a few steps from the historic heart of the city. Its location has direct access to both the airport and major road networks, making it ideal for business and leisure trips. Food served in the wine bar. The 323 sq.ft. (30 m2) soundproofed and air-conditioned rooms offer a warm welcome and relaxing atmosphere whether you are on your own or with your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing