We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel near the train station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
Ranked #10 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel near the train station”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We booked this hotel due to its location (virtually inside the train station - exit the back entrance and a quick right) since we arrived very early in the morning by train, and would be leaving early as well.

We were extremely pleased by the cleanliness and professionalism of the staff. The rooms were huge by French standards (our largest room in France by far), the bed was extremely comfortable, and we had absolutely no trouble with noise from the train station. We booked online and had an excellent price for this hotel, so the value was incredible.

A bit of a walk - an hour and a half or so - to Old Lyon (highly recommended), but was well worth it since it gave us a chance to wander some of the old farmers' markets along the way (we couldn't buy much since we were only traveling through, but the cheeses, wines and flowers here were spectacular - well worth a look even if you don't buy).

We hiked up to the church behind Vieux Lyon, then had a fantastic late lunch at a local bouchon. Was packed with locals, but we certainly had some strange looks when we told them we were vegetarian! We had the quenelles covered in cheese with a couple too many drinks of croix rousse (?). We almost missed lunch, since many of the authentic bouchons close quite early. We took the subway back, and it was clean and easy to navigate. Certainly most of the sights were on the other side of the river, but it was nice to be near the barge bars along the river in the evening.

Was great to get back to our well-equipped and comfortable hotel that evening. I would strongly recommend this hotel, especially for anyone arriving or departing the main train station.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane M, Responsable d'Exploitation at Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Travellers,
I would like to say thank you to stayed in own hotel and to take time to share your advice on TripAdvisor. It is a great pleasure for entire Mercure Lyon Part Dieu Team to read your gratification !
I am glad to note that you enjoyed all our services.

We wish we will have the pleasure to welcome you during your futur stay in Lyon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    565
    68
    11
    5
See reviews for
217
534
117
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The hotel is conveniently situated for the railway station, a bit far from the centre and main attractions, but the public transport was quick and efficient. Room was big, spacious, with a comfortable bed and pillows and had quite a large flat screen TV. Bathroom was clean with a big shower, had a nice design and a separate toilet. This is a new and modern hotel offering a very good accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavJo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane M, Responsable d'Exploitation at Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Travellers,
I would like to say thank you to stayed in own hotel and to take time to share your advice on TripAdvisor. It is a great pleasure for entire Mercure Lyon Part Dieu Team to read your gratification !
I am glad to note that you enjoyed all our services.

We wish we will have the pleasure to welcome you during your futur stay in Lyon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasswade
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed for 7 nights at this hotel for our 40th wedding anniversary. Ideal for Rhone express from airport and a short walk over the road. As with other reviewers, our room was of an exceptional standard with air conditioning and bathroom and shower room. Noiseless even though next to station. Breakfast expensive for what you received and we went to a local bar where we had double what was provided at Mercure. We had to have breakfast in the foyer on 2 mornings, which is not acceptable. Staff excellent at hotel however bar prices far to expensive with every drink 10 euros plus. You must be aware of distance to town and it is certainly a 30 minute walk. However C3 tram excellent to town centre Stuart Bruce

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane M, Responsable d'Exploitation at Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Travellers,

I would like to say thank you for your pleasant comments.
We are delighted that our services reached your expectations.
We hope to see you soon in Mercure Lyon Part-Dieu.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Great if need to be up early for train as right next to station. Because of this the rooms are totally soundproofed. The air con was brilliant and the room was very spacious and nicely decorated. The bathroom was lovely. It was extra for the breakfast which we didn't have. The bar drinks were expensive. It was 10 mins walk to sights. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Superior room very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisTim01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane M, Responsable d'Exploitation at Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Travellers,
I would like to say thank you to stayed in own hotel and to take time to share your advice on TripAdvisor. It is a great pleasure for entire Mercure Lyon Part Dieu Team to read your gratification !
I am glad to note that you enjoyed all our services.

We wish we will have the pleasure to welcome you during your futur stay in Lyon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I think many people book this hotel because it is close to the Part Dieu train station. If you are aware that it is not in the city center you can not get wrong here. It takes half an hour walk to the city center but lots of options with public transport also. The hotel itself is one of the best city hotels i've been to lately. Spacious rooms, very clean, good comfort, large bed and most important : no noise at all !! Breakfast is excellent quality. Staff is very friendly and helpfull. I can not find anything wrong here and if you complain about the location than it is only your own fault, but be aware you pay much more in the city center for much less quality, i prefer the walk or the short transport above the rest.

Room Tip: all rooms are soundproof so they all all the same quality i guess
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WimLeuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane M, Responsable d'Exploitation at Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Entire Mercure Lyon Part Dieu Team join to me to say thank you for your positive opinion.
I wish we will have the pleasure to welcome you soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in September,we were very pleased with it,from the time we arrived to when we left,nothing was to much trouble,we were even given a back pack containing sweets ,biscuits,water,fruit juice,and books and maps about Lyon. The room was beautiful,large clean and very comfy,the bathroom had a walk in shower and separate WC. The breakfast was possibly one of the best we have ever had, every taste was catered for. Dinner was also very good and of reasonable price, wine given the area, a tad overpriced but. Ask for a room high up and at the front. Ina good place with the tram stop in front of the hotel and the station 3 mins walk away also the direct tram to airport is in front of hotel.

Room Tip: High up at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet499507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane M, Responsable d'Exploitation at Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Travellers,
I would like to say thank you to stayed in own hotel and to take time to share your advice on TripAdvisor. It is a great pleasure for entire Mercure Lyon Part Dieu Team to read your gratification !
I am glad to note that you enjoyed all our services.

We wish we will have the pleasure to welcome you during your futur stay in Lyon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Although the hotel is nice and a good value, there is nothing nearby, not even a convenience store or market. We wanted the convenience of being near the train station, but you have to transfer to get downtown. Lyon seems like a quiet town and everything was closed on a Saturday night except for old town and the train did not stop there.

Huge disappointment was that our non-smoking room stunk of cigarette smoke. It is so strong that my eyes watered. We put the privacy sign on the door when we left for a day trip, only to find that room service entered regardless! This is a big problem for me as I don't like people in my room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane M, Responsable d'Exploitation at Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Travellers,


I would like to say thank you taking time to shared your feelings about your recent stay with us.

We are situated in the business district however at 15 min to the old city and main shopping streets. Own hotel is surrounded of every kind of transports.

I wish we will have the pleasure to welcome you soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotelo
Hotelo
#3 of 194 in Lyon
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu

Property: Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
Address: 50 rue de la Villette, 69003, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the train station, The Mercure Lyon La Part-Dieu is located in the center of Lyon's business district, just a few steps from the historic heart of the city. Its location has direct access to both the airport and major road networks, making it ideal for business and leisure trips. Food served in the wine bar. The 323 sq.ft. (30 m2) soundproofed and air-conditioned rooms offer a warm welcome and relaxing atmosphere whether you are on your own or with your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Lastminute, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing