We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near brand new hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
Ranked #10 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Near brand new hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Pros
-Next to the central station, with access to trams (to airport) and subway
-Near a shopping centre (walk through the central station)
-Nice modern new interior
-Quiet
-Free wifi
-Friendly and helpful staff

Cons
-None

Room Tip: I would recommend the deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sea2skyaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cécile H, Responsable réception at Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Entire Mercure Lyon Part Dieu Team join to me to say thank you for your positive opinion.
I wish we will have the pleasure to welcome you soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    565
    68
    11
    5
See reviews for
217
534
117
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I stayed here for a night on a quick business trip. I last stayed here in September 2013 and wrote a review of my stay then which was raving about the hotel. To be honest, I'm not sure why I was thinking this is one of the best hotels I've stayed at. Don't get me wrong, this is still a great hotel and I can recommend.

This time, it must have been more fully booked since the room was much more expensive so value-wise, it wasn't as great this time. But the rooms are still big with a comfortable bed. However, the free wifi worked much better this time and was fast. I had the cesar salad for room service and it wasn't anything special. I usually skip the breakfast buffet at hotels since the value usually isn't worth the price and I'm happy to pick up a croissant at a local bakery.

The strangest thing this time was the reservation process. I had booked through the internet website but there was some what was for me unusual reservation processes like writing me a personal e-mail on a different e-mail address for confirmation (even though I already had the auto confirmation) as well as not having my loyalty card number on the booking. It was just things that were out of the usual order so I was wondering why this time was strange.

Overall though, I might seem like I'm being critical, but it was wasn't the wow experience I remember. It's just a hotel, a good one at that, so expect a comfortable stay and good wifi, which is what I usually look for in a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloJul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cécile H, Responsable réception at Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
I would like to say thank you taking time to shared your feelings about your recent stay with us.
With pleasure to welcome you soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed at the hotel last week

- room was ok and clean, very basic - no body lotion in the bathroom
- nice and polite staff but a bit lost when asked a question
- service at bar and restaurant was slow
- breakfast buffet offers close to nothing for people with gluten or lactose intolerances (scrambled eggs had a lot of cream, no soy milk, only a dry madeleine was offered), tomatoes had very stiff and painful herbs on them

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fläms e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cécile H, Responsable réception at Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.

Did you ask something at the restaurant about your intolerances because Mercure offer especilly some products for the gluten and lactose intolerences.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treviso, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel is located very close to the airport express tram stop, metro station, train station, bus stop, restaurants, shopping center, etc... Excellent location !
Coming from the airport you don' t have to change the transportation. The hotel is right front of the airport express tram stop. Going to the Lyon center is just to get a metro. Quick and easy.

All staff in this hotel are very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a lot of different Mercure hotels in the world but this hotel is one of the best Mercure hotel, I could say.

Our room was very spacious and clean. The room has a safty box, a mini fridge, a big flat screen TV, a kettle and coffee & tea set.
Our room was face to the train station (platform) but there was no noise at all.
I think this hotel has a quite good sound proofsysytem. We slept very well.

We would definitely go back to this hotel in our next Lyon trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMB95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cécile H, Responsable réception at Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Travellers,


I would like to say thank you taking time to shared your feelings about your recent stay with us.
I am overjoyed that you have a pleasant moment.
With pleasure to welcome you soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Good clean large room next to station. Easy access to everything in Lyon including large supermarket and the metro. Although next to the station no noise. Would stay again if I returned to Lyon and would recommend.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cécile H, Responsable réception at Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Entire Mercure Lyon Part Dieu Team join to me to say thank you for your positive opinion.
I wish we will have the pleasure to welcome you soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
508 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

If you have stayed in Mercure's in the UK then this place will be a surprise. It's a a really nice clean hotel, almost next door to Part Dieu railway station and close to the main business district of Lyon. The rooms are large and comfortable and the wi-fi is free. Surprisingly for a hotel the restaurant is really good with an excellent choice of food and wine.
The staff really make the place, they cannot do enough for you. I actually look forwards to going back.

Room Tip: Doesn't seem to matter - they have worked out the art of double glazing - quiet on both sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheScubaDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cécile H, Responsable réception at Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Travellers,
I would like to say thank you to stayed in own hotel and to take time to share your advice on TripAdvisor. It is a great pleasure for entire Mercure Lyon Part Dieu Team to read your gratification !
I am glad to note that you enjoyed all our services.

We wish we will have the pleasure to welcome you during your futur stay in Lyon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Love this place. Modern design, clean, about 80 steps from Part Dieu main entrance. Good beds, would like the stylish shower at my house! Wi-Fi worked well. Awesome breakfast layout, several styles of eggs, bacon, cereals, fresh fruit & juices, of course fruhstucks fare too. ( about 17 euro per person, not cheap, but really good ), Saw most guests store their packs/ luggage for the day , no charge, which we did too while out exploring Lyon. Booked 3 months ahead online with Accor, the parent company, for a 1/2 rate. Staff is very gracious, and wear a small pin indicating if they speak English, or another language besides French. Our reception person searched and printed out inside CDG airport navigation instructions for us at a sister property, Novotel. Most helpful as CDG can be a maze. In Lyon the street tram and metro are the way to get around, just walk through the train station and the tram is right there. We love Lyon, the Roman museum is worth a visit just for the building alone, what a use of space and light, let alone a 700 B.C. pre Roman chariot, believed to be the world's only surviving one.FYI- the real Buchons, have a big nosed cartoon image of a man in their window.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ron m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cécile H, Responsable réception at Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Travellers,
I would like to say thank you to stayed in own hotel and to take time to share your advice on TripAdvisor. It is a great pleasure for entire Mercure Lyon Part Dieu Team to read your gratification !
I am glad to note that you enjoyed all our services.

We wish we will have the pleasure to welcome you during your futur stay in Lyon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotelo
Hotelo
#3 of 194 in Lyon
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu

Property: Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
Address: 50 rue de la Villette, 69003, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the train station, The Mercure Lyon La Part-Dieu is located in the center of Lyon's business district, just a few steps from the historic heart of the city. Its location has direct access to both the airport and major road networks, making it ideal for business and leisure trips. Food served in the wine bar. The 323 sq.ft. (30 m2) soundproofed and air-conditioned rooms offer a warm welcome and relaxing atmosphere whether you are on your own or with your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing