We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ibis Budget Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
Nearby Hotels
US$264
US$231
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$157
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$219
US$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$77
US$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
US$130
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$401
US$314
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$233
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$81
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$126
US$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (830)
Filter reviews
830 results
Traveller rating
231
461
117
17
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
461
117
17
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspart dieutrain stationpublic transportationsmain business districtshower cabindirect connectionlocal transportfootball stadiumrhone express tramrooms are basicshopping centreroom was cleancontinental breakfastrental carwould stay againcroissantsconvenient location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 830 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2013

staff are friendly, system of going up with lift a bit strange, if tere more than two different guests of different room, one of them couldn't go up because the lift only accepts one entrance card.

The floor was a bit dusty like it hasn't been cleaned. The top bunk bed wassn't not made and we had to do it ourselves.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanf88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 October 2012

This hotel is well located near the train station so it is perfect for arriving, departing and setting out on day trips. A large shopping centre is also close by. The room was minimal but clean and modern. When we travel we spend little time in our room or using the hotel facilities, so we look for a room that is "no frills" and inexpensive but will be comfortable for a few nights sleep. This hotel was perfect for that. It was located next to the train station so the view from our room wasn't great (but again we don't spend much time looking out the window) but the double windows buffered out the noise. Breakfast was also a reasonable spread for the cheap price. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emszy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

All I wanted was a hotel in close proximity to the train station, the buses so I can get around the city, and it has to be clean, safe, with (preferably free) internet access. This hotel fulfilled all my wishes. The Rhone express from the airport stopped right outside. The part dieu shopping mall (with a carrefour supermarket) was in close proximity in case I needed to get some last minute shopping done. It is relatively new so the walls and the doors and the corridors were not at all dated and very well kept. The shower door does open directly into the room - no issues for single travellers. If sharing the room, then it'd better be with someone you are quite close with...or you can kick them to hang out in the toilet (which was in a separate closet with a door within your room), I s'pose. There is no closet to hang your clothes, no glasses for water, no kettle or coffee maker. Instead there were a few hangers and a small rack, and a couple of shelves and a small desk. It was enough for me as the bed was firm but comfortable and it was very quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lemonloaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Decided to spend a weekend in Lyon on a whim with my cousin, we took the 11.29 am train from Geneva and arrived in Lyon around 13.30.

Our weekend trip was a spur of the moment thing, so we decided to book a hotel that was close to the main train station downtown, and of course, cost was also a big consideration. I've stayed In Novotel hotels before so we tried out Novotel's budget hotel, Etap. As mentioned Etap belongs to the Novotel family of hotels, if I'm not mistaken, I think Etap is the cheapest chain, followed by Ibis, then Mercure, then the priciest which is Novotel.

We got a double room that had a bunk bed for 65 Euros (with tax, it came to about 70 Euros). We felt it was good deal because of the location and it's cleanliness. Since it's a budget hotel, there are some amenities that are not available (e.g. gym, swimming pool, room phone, big storage cabinets), but for the most part, you can place a request with the reception desk and they'll get you what you need - we found out that we could borrow a hair dryer and ironing board.

We found it very convenient that it was just a few metres away from the train station. To get to Etap, you have to get out of the main train station, just go towards the direction of the boulangerie "Paul" turn right at the exit and less than 50 metres away you'll find Etap. Mercure is just right beside it.

Breakfast is paid for separately and the hotel lobby, including all the rooms have wifi connection.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wasabi1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews