We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Budget Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ibis Budget Lyon Part-Dieu
Ranked #27 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Budget Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed on a Sunday and the promotional rate is incredibly low.

The breakfast had all the basic, but the baquettes was better than a lot of 4 or 5 star hotels I've stayed.

The room was very clean and compact, except for 2 cigarette burns on the floor. Smokers out there, can't you be more careful!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Wilmo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    405
    99
    11
    3
See reviews for
128
180
102
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I had to pay double because nowhere in Lyon you can find rooms for single people. So that is why I chose a budget hotel. It gets too expensive.

I was pleasantly surprised at the high tech rooms with flt screen TV and nice lights. Clean shower, clean towels every day. I also liked that they used single use plastic cups instead of glass cups. There is no safe in the room, and there is little space near the sink for makeup and other toiletries. There is a mirror at the sink and a tall one too. So it is budget, but it is spotless and very comfortable. The breakfast was a self serve cafeteria style with croissants, breads, butter and jam, cheeses, yogurt, fruit salad, coffee, milk and cereals, and I may be missing something... But it was inexpensive, which was nice. I didn't have to leave every morning in starvation mode looking for a breakfast place.

The location was so-so. It's in a newer part of the city and it looks a little like a North American neighborhood with a giant shopping mall that I got lost into once.The hotel is in a building situated on the quieter side of the train station. Most of the beggars and other nuisances were on the other exit near the subway station. I liked less that I had to go through the train station everyday to take the subway. Groups of girls or boys would sometimes try sell you stuff or try to ask you to sign some sort of petitions; nuisances. I was a solo female traveler and I usually am afraid to walk alone at night in train stations, but I didn't feel unsafe at all there. Quite the opposite.

The daytime receptionist was really kind and helpful. They have 24 hour reception and your room key is also the key for the elevator for added protection.

In conclusion, I really liked the hotel. I would return and I would strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: Nu room safe, so if you freak out over stuff being stolen from your room, come prepared with Pacsafe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lia_Edmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Was giving a free night here when my train was late so I missed my connection. The guy who checked us in around midnight was super friendly, normally the serve breakfast at 6, but put it out at 5.30 as we were getting on an extremely early bus. Decent rooms, great hot shower.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Very basic, but ideal Standard for such a short Trip. Easy CheckIn and the Staff there did speak english. Room was very basic, butin the usual Standard this Hotels have mostly and we could sleep well there. There was a small choice of Breakfast, but we did not make use of it, due it had to be paid extra. We can recommend this, for short Stay. For longer Stay, maybe it will be too basic and boring.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluesunbeach36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed here twice in a 1-week span - once before departing France for a quick visit to Barcelona; then upon returning before a train ride to Tours the next morning. Both times the hotel delivered perfectly on its purpose.

The first visit was me and my nearly 18-year-old son. The tiny room was exactly what we expected, so it seemed perfectly adequate (i.e., people accustomed to and expecting a larger, American-sized room might feel cramped). The unusual bunkbed arrangement was comfortable, and we could not hear even the tiniest sound from anywhere, so we slept great.

We had a mid-morning flight the next day, and the hotel's location at the train station where the Rhone Express train to the airport is located was very convenient.

The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Each staff member wears a nametag indicating which languages they speak, so if you are not comfortable speaking French, they can help you. Since we spoke some French (and enjoy trying to communicate in a country's native language), they helped us using French, but spoke especially clearly just for us.

When we returned a week later upon returning from Barcelona, we also had my wife with us. She was amused by the tiny room, but expressed the same satisfaction with the hotel.

We did eat the breakfast offered by the hotel. It was very good and very reasonably priced compared to most hotels.

The only downside of our visit (which has nothing to do with the hotel) was our inability to find a restaurant for dinner with decent food and reasonable prices. We should have asked the front desk staff for advice, as I'm certain they would have steered us to a good choice.

This is a perfect hotel for someone connecting to travel through the train station and/or airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BowlderMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Part Dieu - Bir Hakeim
Premiere Classe Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Lyon Part-Dieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Lyon Part-Dieu

Property: Ibis Budget Lyon Part-Dieu
Address: 52 rue de la Villette, 69003, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Lyon Part-Dieu 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Budget Lyon Part-Dieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing