We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, cheap and handy to railstation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ibis Budget Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
Ranked #29 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Clean, cheap and handy to railstation”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A couple mins from Lyon Part Dieu station, very handy for anyone on a stopover on the way through to the south of France.

No frills , but clean tidy and fresh. Perfect when you don't plan on spending the whole time in your room and don't want to pay the big bucks.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seahawk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    423
    105
    12
    4
See reviews for
133
193
106
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I came with my parents and we shared a triple room. 2 minutes from the train station with easy access to the metro, perfect to move in the city.
The room was simple, clean, spacious with a TV, desk & chair spacious bathroom and full length mirror. Don't expect a fridge since it's budget but the value for money is worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arashicchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, Holland
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is without any doubt one of the best Ibis Budget hotels we have ever seen.
It is fresh, clean, safe and comfortable. Yes, it is minimalistic, but it is trendy and stylish at the same time.
Fast and efficient check-in, very friendly service and sufficient knowledge of the English language. The hotel is not 100% sound proof, but we didn't mind some of the -damped- sounds coming from the train station.
The hotel is slightly more expensive than some other Ibis Budget's, but it is worth every euro.

For transportation to the new or old ('vieux') city center, it is necessary to take the subway -located near the train station.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jb-tb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Can't beat it for the location. Right at Part Dieu train station station. Rental car return is adjacent to the back. Rhone Express (to St Exupery Airport) is right at the front entrance. Lyon Subway is just through the train station. Huge mall with Carrefour, Decathlon, Galleries Lafayette just through the train station (<5 minutes walk).

Ibis Budget is sandwiched between Mercure and Ibis Styles, in one building.
We stayed for $50/night and added $10 for a late check out (4pm). Don't forget to get your parking validated (50% of, I think) at the front desk.

Seemed newly remodeled - in any case, very clean and bright. The bunk beds were a hit with the kids.

Overall: great value for money.

Room Tip: It's a budget hotel. You don't get much view of anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank slipaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre Q, Assistant d'exploitation at Ibis Budget Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to reply to our questionnaire following your stay at ibis budget Lyon la Part-Dieu.

ibis budget establishments are dedicated to offering you the best possible service for your stays, and your opinion is very important to us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon at one of our hotels.

Sincerely,

Your ibis budget Lyon la Part-Dieu hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

ibis Budget Lyon la Part-Dieu is an above-average budget chain hotel with excellent access to public transportations. The rooms follow the standard ibis Budget minimalist protocol but are cleaner than other ibis Budget properties we have been to. It is particularly suitable for short-term stays involving flights or train rides.

This ibis Budget lies on the same block as Gare de la Part-Dieu (main train station). It faces Rue de la Villette, on which is the tram stop for T3 and T4 lines as well as the Rhônexpress to the Lyon–Saint Exupéry Airport (LYS). On the other side of the train station are Gare Part-Dieu - Vivier Merle metro line B station, tram stop for T1 line, a bunch of bus stops, and Centre Commercial Lyon Part-Dieu, reputedly the largest downtown shopping mall in Europe. The location probably is as convenient as it can get with respect to public transportation access. The proximity to the Part-Dieu mall can be a huge plus, since the mall contains eateries, cafés, a Monoprix (similar to Target or K-Mart), and a Carrefour (supermarket) that stay open until late night. Unlike many major cities around the world where the main train station area can be unpleasant after dark, the Part-Dieu is clean and quite safe. As a general purpose base camp, we would actually prefer Part-Dieu to Presqu'île or Vieux Lyon area, especially for short-term trips.

The hotel itself is a typical ibis Budget. Notables include presence of two elevators, an interesting mural on the lounge wall, and free left-luggage service for the guests (some ibis Budgets actually charge for the service). Staffs were in general friendly, though some spoke limited English and tried not to make eye contact with non-French speakers.

Our room had the ibis Budget signature “cocoon”-style furnishing; a bunk bed, a small desk, and a chair, mostly in lime green and all integrated together with the lighting system. The lower bunk sleeps two, and the upper bunk sleeps one. There is no closet, but a small open garment rack. There is no separate bathroom; a tiny washbasin is built right in the room, and a shower booth is accessed directly from the room. Although the shower booth has a door, there is no door knob but rather a hole from which water can escape. A puddle was guaranteed every time we use either the washbasin or the shower. There is no hairdryer but an electrical power outlet very close to the faucet. We were rather apprehensive about possible shock. This minimalist approach can be an acceptable tradeoff for its competitive price, though apparently people new to ibis Budget are surprised.

In summary, ibis Budget Lyon la Part-Dieu meets the standards of the brand, and can be a satisfactory lodging for budget-conscious travelers who know what to expect from the chain. It may not be a “very good” hotel, but still can be a viable candidate of good value in a practical location. We believe this hotel deserves 3.5 points or so in TripAdvisor scale.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dessertmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre Q, Assistant d'exploitation at Ibis Budget Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to reply to our questionnaire following your stay at ibis budget Lyon la Part-Dieu.

ibis budget establishments are dedicated to offering you the best possible service for your stays, and your opinion is very important to us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon at one of our hotels.

Sincerely,

Your ibis budget Lyon la Part-Dieu hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel was not centrally located, however next to Gare Part Dieu meant that you had multiple options for transit. Hotel is clean, staff very friendly who do speak English. (Radka was very friendly and greated me by name). Very personal service

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexS076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre Q, Assistant d'exploitation at Ibis Budget Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to reply to our questionnaire following your stay at ibis budget Lyon la Part-Dieu.

ibis budget establishments are dedicated to offering you the best possible service for your stays, and your opinion is very important to us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon at one of our hotels.

Sincerely,

Your ibis budget Lyon la Part-Dieu hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Got the weekend offer and paid 35EUR for a double room. Very good value! Clean bathroom and nice room with TV. Right outside the Part Dieu station, very convenient for those who come to Lyon by train!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank timothyl718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre Q, assistant d'exploitation at Ibis Budget Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Google Translation
Madame, Monsieur,

Nous tenons à vous remercier de votre visite au sein de notre hôtel Ibis Budget Lyon Part Dieu et de votre commentaire sur le site tripadvisor.
Nous sommes très heureux de voir que vous avez passé un excellent séjour au sein de notre établissement.

Au plaisir de vous recevoir de nouveau prochainement au sein de notre hôtel.

Cordialement,

Quilleré Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Part Dieu - Bir Hakeim
Premiere Classe Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu

Property: Ibis Budget Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
Address: 52 rue de la Villette, 69003, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Budget Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing